Buffering Tops 2016 Magic Millions Sprint Nominations

January 4, 2016

Buffering Tops 2016 Magic Millions Sprint Nominations

Robert Heathcote’s six-time Group 1 winner Buffering is the top rated nominee for this Saturday’s Magic Millions Sprint 2016 at the Gold Coast Racecourse, but is an unlikely final acceptor in the feature.


Buffering tops the 2016 Magic Millions Sprint nominations but will accept for a different Gold Coast race this Saturday. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Twenty-four sprinters make up the nominations for this summer’s $1 million Magic Millions Sprint (1100m), one of nine restricted races on the $10 million Gold Coast Magic Millions Day race card this weekend in Queensland.

Mossman eight-year-old Buffering is a 50-start veteran, but is showing no signs of slowing down having won in elite level company for the sixth time last start when beating home the locals in Perth’s Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) on November 21.

A winner of over $5.8 million in prize money, Buffering is surprisingly yet to be tested at the Gold Coast but gets his chance this weekend as a dual nominee on the card.

Heathcote has indicated however that Buffering won’t accept for the MM Sprint, instead targeting the $1 million Magic Millions QTIS Open Plate (1300m) under set weights.

With Buffering out the Magic Millions Sprint becomes a far more open affair.

Brisbane’s head trainer of the season, Tony Gollan, has three of the entries led by his in-form seven-year-old Didntcostalot.

A winner of four of his past six starts, the Danerich gelding was last seen winning the Group 3 George Moore Stakes (1200m) at Doomben in late November by three and a half lengths.

Gollan’s other Magic Millions Sprint hopes are Group 1 winning nine-year-old Temple Of Boom and The Storeman who is a three-time placegetter at the Gold Coast.

Along with Didntcostalot, the other Magic Millions Sprint nominee shooting for three wins on the trot is the David Pfieffer-trained mare Cradle Me from Sydney.

The Easy Rocking seven-year-old took out the Listed Razor Sharp Handicap (1200m) from the outside barrier (16) as a 31/1 shot at Randwick on December 12 before winning again in black-type company at the track in Boxing Day’s Listed Canterbury Classic (1200m).

Another last start winning mare in the mix is Mark Kavanagh’s Melbourne-trained Manhattan Rain four-year-old Wild Rain.

She has run top two in her past six starts dating back to June last year including two stakes wins and comes off a one and three quarter length victory over Office Bearer at Sandown-Hillside in the Listed Doveton Stakes (1000m) from December 5.

Other in-form hopes coming off nice lead-up runs including Peter Moody’s Listed Lough Neagh Stakes third placegetter Weinholt, runner-up at the track on Boxing Day Eloping who is now prepared by former hoop Peter Robl and the Brendan McCarthy-trained Murt The Flirt.

Prepared at Caulfield, Murtajill four-year-old Murt The Flirt was last seen running third to Flippant in the Wyong Magic Millions 3YO & 4YO Stakes over 1200m on December 17 and is undefeated over Saturday’s distance with two wins from as many 1100m starts.

The 2016 Magic Millions Sprint final field is released on Wednesday at 9am (AEST) so stay tuned.

In the meantime why not treat yourself to $150 in bonuses simply by depositing just $50 through Ladbrokes.com.au and quoting the exclusive promo code BONUS150 this summer!

2016 Magic Millions Sprint Nominations

Gold Coast Racecourse – 09/01/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 241x280x69 ADEBISI G 8 Desleigh Forster 95
2 x1746x1541 BUFFERING G 8 Robert Heathcote 116
3 5x0545x511 CRADLE ME M 7 David Pfieffer 103
4 x50x211311 DIDNTCOSTALOT G 7 Tony Gollan 102
5 x471202x40 ECHO GAL M 4 Gai Waterhouse 92
6 x770x40692 ELOPING M 4 Peter Robl 94
7 x114x37x13 GUN CASE G 5 Liam Birchley 74.5
8 57x1418x53 HUSSON EAGLE G 4 Patrick Payne 80
9 212×4 KING’S TROOP C 3 Gerald Ryan 78
10 13x1145x43 LE CORDON BLEU G 5 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 78
11 78x2231x12 LIBERATION H 4 Barry Lockwood 76
12 x13x1116x7 LORD LEOFRIC H 5 David Pfieffer 78
13 5x12293x13 MURT THE FLIRT G 4 Brendan McCarthy 84
14 114x43919x POWERLINE G 4 Kris Lees 75
15 2x116617x6 PRIVATE SECRETARY M 6 Gregory Hickman 88
16 213414×503 ROCKY KING G 6 Tom Bourke 97
17 60x40725x4 STRATURBO G 6 Gary Portelli 90
18 6704x30x77 TEMPLE OF BOOM G 9 Tony Gollan 104
19 06322314×8 THE STOREMAN G 6 Tony Gollan 92
20 910444220x THREE BEERS PLEASE G 5 Liam Birchley 68
21 238x6138x1 TIBROGARGAN MISS F 3 Darryl Hansen 75
22 0x87x71413 WEINHOLT G 5 Peter G Moody 91
23 6x201x388x WICKED INTENT C 3 Chris Munce 80
24 615121×221 WILD RAIN M 4 Mark Kavanagh 95

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Le Romain gets top weight for ...

Youngstar and Another Dollar r...

Youngstar and Another Dollar run quinella again in 2018 Queensland Oaks

The Chris Waller trained stablemates Youngstar and Another Dollar repeated...

Impending adds value to stud c...

Impending adds value to stud career with 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup win

The James Cummings trained Impending added value to his future stud career by...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betting Update

Betting for the 2018 Group 1 $700,000 Altus Traffic Kingsford-Smith Cup...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field