2015 City Of Marion Stakes Nominations Released

A bumper 24 sprinters make up the early nominations for the City Of Marion Stakes 2015 that headlines the Adelaide racing action at Morphettville Racecourse in South Australia this weekend.


Karacatis is one of the headline nominations taken for the 2015 City Of Marion Stakes in South Australia this weekend. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

With a field limit of 20 runners, the $100,000 Listed City Of Marion Stakes (1200m) could run at capacity this summer with a host of in-form gallopers entered for the handicap clash including the Richard Jolly-trained Karacatis.

The Hussonet seven-year-old comes off a nice 1000m win at the track in a Benchmark 90 from November 21 carrying 59kg, his first win since taking out the Listed WH Whylie Handicap (1100m) in September last year.

He was fourth to The Messina Nymph in the same race this season before his last start victory and if accepted on the weekend will be after his fifth win from 21 starts at Morphettville.

Jolly has also nominated for his returning Choisir five-year-old Kushadasi who has been out with injury since December last year.

It has been 12 months between runs for the gelding then who won the Group 1 SA Derby (2500m) last year and who boasts an outstanding Morphettville record of five wins, two seconds and a third from nine starts.

Along with Karacatis the other last start winners nominated for the City Of Marion Stakes are Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra’s visiting Flemington-trained Megalia D’Oro four-year-old Durendal who saluted at Ballarat on November 21, Hank’s Nephew who comes off back-to-back wins at Port Lincoln and Peter Moody’s Stratum gelding Weinholt who is yet to run at the track.

Coming off a second and third respectively behind Karacatis in the same lead-up race and nominated for Saturday’s rematch are the David Jolly-trained Alabama Missile and Lloyd Kennewell’s Baligari.

A six-year-old daughter of Blevic, Goolwa-trained Alabama Missile won first-up over 1000m at Morphettville Parks on October 31 before her last start second and is yet to win at Morphettville Racecourse.

Baligari is one from three at Adelaide’s premier track, his first-up third following credible form in Brisbane during the winter including a second to Faust in the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2020m) at Doomben in May.

Also coming off a Morphettville Parks third last time out is the Sue Nolan-trained Dubleo gelding Double Pockets from Murray Bridge who has strong form at Saturday’s track with two wins and three seconds from eight runs.

The oldest of the nominees and Andrew Dillon’s eight-year-old Dubawi Gold who ran third to Jimando in the Echuca Cup (1400m) back in early March and fellow eight-year-old Justify That who is the second entry for Moody.

Other notable hopes include CF Orr Stakes fourth placegetter Java who also holds an entry in the Listed Doveton Stakes at Sandown Hillside where he is undefeated this weekend, flying local mare Jennyfromtheblock, Alice Springs flyer Moss’N Time and Group 2 performed stakes winner in Melbourne Lord Aspen who was last seen running fourth in the Murray Bridge Gold Cup (1600m).

Stay tuned for the official 2015 City Of Marion Stakes field, barriers and jockeys out on Wednesday.

Before then treat yourself with up to $500 in bonus bets simply by signing-up with Ladbrokes.com.au and entering the limited time only code BETBONUS!

2015 City Of Marion Stakes Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 05/12/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 13x9329x12 ALABAMA MISSILE M 6 David Jolly 83
2 14x73420x3 BALIGARI G 5 Lloyd Kennewell 82
3 23229×2708 BRIMARVI PRINCE G 6 Paul Seater 84
4 247×212560 COUNTRYMAN G 5 Phillip Stokes 90
5 1204150323 DOUBLE POCKETS G 5 Sue Nolan 87
6 208452340x DUBAWI GOLD G 8 Andrew Dillon 88
7 39113×8151 DURENDAL G 4 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 86
8 x504x4177x ESSAY RAIDER G 6 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 96
9 135×826711 HANK’S NEPHEW G 6 Shylie Williams 87
10 3714×09075 HARD STRIDE G 5 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 95
11 111143×386 JAVA G 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 92
12 1347521214 JENNYFROMTHEBLOCK M 5 Lloyd Kennewell 86
13 9262275082 JUSTIFY THAT G 8 Peter Moody 92
14 54922964×1 KARACATIS G 7 Richard Jolly 94
15 911241x43x KUSHADASI G 5 Richard Jolly 96
16 1x1115x134 LORD ASPEN G 4 Mick Huxtable 85
17 1330×37540 MATILIJA M 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 80
18 31111111×9 MOSS’N TIME G 5 Lisa Lefoe 88
19 0x31131x05 NICOSCENE H 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 88
20 409×303243 NIMASAEL M 6 Scott Trenowden 65
21 11x36000x5 SILENT WHISPER G 4 Lloyd Kennewell 77
22 x371209x64 SWIFT SHADOW G 6 Gary Searle 83
23 10x87x7141 WEINHOLT G 5 Peter G Moody 90
24 4196×12057 WHITLAM G 7 Danielle Wilson 96


Have your say, post a comment.