2015 Winterbottom Stakes Form Guide & Preview

November 20, 2015

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2015 Winterbottom Stakes Form Guide & Preview

This Saturday in Perth two Group 1 races highlight the Ascot race card including the Winterbottom Stakes 2015, a detailed form guide and betting analysis for which is detailed below.


2013 winner Buffering is back for another shot at Winterbottom Stakes success in Perth this weekend. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Due to run as Ascot Race 7 at 3:50pm (WA time) on the Railway Stakes Day program, this year’s $1 million Group 1 Crown Perth Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) attracted a capacity field of sprinters.

Leading the Winterbottom Stakes odds at Ladbrokes.com.au is Robert Heathcote’s $5.2 million earner Buffering who comes off a close fourth to Delectation in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) in Melbourne from November 7.

He ran and won the 2013 Winterbottom Stakes in his only previous Ascot run and is looking to repeat the feat of Ortensia who won non-successive editions of the classic in 2009 and 2011.

The next best in Winterbottom Stakes betting are the David Hayes & Tom Dabernig-trained Fast ‘N’ Rocking ($5.50) from Melbourne and the best of the local hopes Watermans Bay ($7.50) coming off a first-up second to Rock Magic in the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m) from the start of the month.

Also at single figures for the win are market mover Magnifisio ($8) shooting for back-to-back wins in the Winterbottom and Lucky Street ($8) who is undefeated at the track and distance.

That’s the story the bookies are telling but what about the Winterbottom Stakes form guide, betting history and statistics?

2015 Winterbottom Stakes Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s Winterbottom Stakes winner was the Jim Taylor-trained Magnifisio ($7.50) who came off a Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes win and jumped from barrier 10 (of 12) with Jason Brown aboard
  • This year Magnifisio is back looking to secure successive wins in the race for the first time since Hardrada (2002-03)
  • He is now prepared by Vaughn Sigley and comes off a second in this year’s Lee Steere Stakes
  • Sigley saddles up his first Winterbottom Stakes runner in the defending champion
  • The previous Winterbottom Stakes winning trainers with a runner this year are: Robert Heathcote (1-1-0-0) with #1 Buffering, and David Hayes (5-2-1-0) who trains #2 Fast ‘N’ Rocking in partnership with his nephew Tom Dabernig
  • The previous Winterbottom Stakes winning jockeys with a ride this year are: Damian Browne (1-1-0-0) on #1 Buffering, William Pike (8-2-0-1) on #4 Shining Knight, Peter Knuckey (15-1-1-0) on #9 Liberty’s Gem, Craig Williams (2-2-0-0) on #12 Sujet, Damien Oliver (5-1-0-1) on #17e Silverstream and Jason Brown (18-3-2-3) who shoots for his fourth win aboard #13 Magnifisio
  • Magnifisio ($8) is also drawn the outside alley this year (17 into 16) and no horse has won from wider than 14 in over 30 years
  • Last year’s winning barrier 10 has produced two winners (since 1983) and was drawn by #1 Buffering (10) but with the scratching of Sheidel (4) belongs to #3 Watermans Bay (11)
  • The most successful barrier with five winners in that time is one drawn this year by roughie shot #14 Cool Trade ($61)
  • Favourites have a gun record in the past 10 years with six wins most recently Buffering (2013)
  • This year #1 Buffering ($4) is the favourite again looking to continue the good record of top fancies in the race
  • The highest Win Rate of the field belongs to #16 Lucky Street (63%) and #17 Silverstream (63%) followed by #11 Madassa (54%)
  • The best Place Rate belongs to #10 Checkpoint (88%) followed by #11 Madassa (85%)

Stay tuned for our insider Winterbottom Stakes 2015 tips to be published shortly.

In the meantime gear up for the Perth Summer Racing Carnival action by signing up with Ladbrokes.com.au who will match your first deposit dollar for dollar up to $500 when you quote the code BETBONUS!

2015 Winterbottom Stakes Form Guide

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field