2015 Darley Classic Barrier Suits Buffering

November 6, 2015

2015 Darley Classic Barrier Suits Buffering

Brisbane’s leading trainer Robert Heathcote believes his old veteran sprinter and crowd favourite Buffering is drawn to win out wider in the Darley Classic 2015 this weekend at Flemington Racecourse.


Five-time Group 1 winner Buffering will be out to lead-all-the-way and win his second Darley Classic in three years down the Flemington straight on Saturday. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The now eight-year-old son of Mossman won the $1 million Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) on Emirates Stakes Day two years ago from the inside alley in a 13-starter field.

He returned 12 months later and facing 12 rivals in the weight-for-age classic again ran fourth to the Joe Pride-trained Terravista, also in the mix on Saturday looking to become the first back-to-back Darley Classic winner since Black Caviar (2010-11).

A gun over the distance with 11 wins and 11 more minor placings over 1200m from his 32 previous runs during his smashing 48-start career that has seen Buffering rack up over $5 million in prize money, the gallant gelding’s latest elite level success was two back in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1000m) at Moonee Valley.

Last time out he jumped from barrier 7 of 10 when fifth to the Team Hawkes-trained Chautauqua in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m), which featured a very similar field to the one that lines-up in Flemington Race 6 at 3:40pm (AEST) on Saturday afternoon.

Manikato Stakes winner Chautauqua, runner-up in last year’s Darley Classic, is three-from-three this campaign and is at an easing odds-on price of $1.65 through Ladbrokes.com.au to extend his winning streak to four on the trot.

The favourite has barrier four on the weekend, while Buffering is out in seven again, which is actually “the place to be” according to Heathcote.

Buffering is famous for his on-pace style of racing up the front, but coming down the outside of the Flemington track suited two Crown Oaks Day sprint winners on Thursday with The Quarterback and Pittsburgh Flyer, giving Heathcote confidence in his horse’s draw a couple of days later.

“Probably [the barrier suits] now,” Heathcote told Racing Ahead on RSN on Friday.

“I watched the races yesterday from home. It did appear the stand side was slightly favoured.

“If that’s the case, then barrier seven is the place to be.”

Barrier seven last produced a Darley Classic winner in 2009 with All Silent saluting from the gate for the first time since Sudurka (2001).

A bigger hoodoo for Buffering to overcome this weekend however is his age, no eight-year-old taking out the sprint feature in over 30 years.

Heathcote though knows he has Buffering in as good a form as ever and he’ll be up there leading looking to go all-the-way and secure his sixth Group 1 trophy.

“I kind of thought that [an easy lead was on the cards] going into the Manikato too, but it wasn’t the case,” he said.

“We know the way Buffering races, and the other jockeys will be mindful of that as well.

“Their best form is stalking the lead and sitting off the back of the pace with cover, and coming hard late. It’ll be an interesting tactical battle, no doubt.”

Buffering is paying $15 in the latest Darley Classic odds with the other single figure hopes outside the short-priced favourite behind Ciaron Maher’s dual Group 1 winning mare Srikandi ($8) coming off a Manikato Stakes second first-up and the reigning champion Terravista ($8) drawn the rails with Cox Plate winning hoop Hugh Bowman in the saddle.

Back your Darley Classic selections on Saturday at Ladbrokes.com.au and lock in Best Tote or SP + 20% on every horse in every race across the Flemington card for Emirates Stakes Day!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field