2015 Emirates Stakes Nominations Feature Amralah

November 2, 2015

2015 Emirates Stakes Nominations Feature Amralah

Hard luck story of this year’s Melbourne Cup, the Robert Hickmott-trained Amralah is one of the headline nominations taken for Saturday’s Emirates Stakes 2015 on the last day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.


After missing the Melbourne Cup Herbert Power winner Amralah is nominated for Saturday’s Emirates Stakes 2015 at Flemington. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

One of two elite levels held at Flemington on November 7, this year’s $1 million Group 1 Emirates Stakes (1600m) attracted 26 nominations including two Robert Hickmott-trained, Team Williams-owned hopefuls.

Makybe Diva Stakes winner first-up back in September Fawkner has his shot at a sixth win from 10 starts over the mile at a track and distance the Reset eight-year-old has a gun record over (5-2-3-0).

Stablemate Amralah meanwhile goes into the Emirates Stakes field as ‘Plan B’ after the Teofilo stallion was forced out of calculations for Tuesday’s $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) over the two miles.

The imported six-year-old looked on track for his run in the ‘race that stops a nation’ after defeating subsequent Lexus Stakes winner Excess Knowledge by three lengths in Caulfield’s Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m) on October 10.

After what connections called “negligent” veterinary treatment, owner Lloyd Williams was robbed of a second runner in the Melbourne Cup field to join his Moonee Valley Gold Cup winner The United States who is a $20 chance through Ladbrokes.com.au.

A host of other last start winners feature in the Emirates Stakes nominations this year including Coronation Shallan who took out Moonee Valley’s Group 3 Tesio Stakes (1600m) on Cox Plate Day, Murray Baker’s in-form New Zealand visitor Turn Me Loose, flying mare Politeness and Disposition.

Iffraaj four-year-old Turn Me Loose won the Seymour Cup before his Group 2 Crystal Mile (1600m) win by a half-length on October 24 before his Group 1 bid.

If successful for the Cambridge-based Baker it will be a nice consolation prize after his Caulfield Cup winner Mongolian Khan was ruled out of the Melbourne Cup due to a bout of colic.

Politeness is one of just four mares nominated for the Emirates this year, the last to win and beat home the boys being Divine Madonna (2006) nine years ago for Melbourne Cup winning trainer Mark Kavanagh.

She is undefeated this campaign, Robert Smerdon’s daughter of Street Sense winning all three of her spring starts including her upset as a $17 hope on Victoria Derby Day in the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m).

Disposition meanwhile is set to sit at the top of the Emirates Stakes odds at Ladbrokes.com.au, home of the biggest ever Melbourne Cup Giveaway with over $70,000 in prize up for grabs on Tuesday, after the former WA galloper’s top lead-up.

Second in both the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) and the Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m) at Caulfield, the now Lee & Anthony Freedman-trained Reset four-year-old was last seen winning the Group 3 Chatham Stakes (1400m) at Flemington just last Saturday.

Adelaide’s Phillip Stokes will shoot for back-to-back Emirates Stakes wins should he accept with his in-form visitor Defiant Angel who hasn’t raced in Melbourne since July last year after the trainer’s success with Hucklebuck (2014) last year.

Other notable Emirates Stakes entries include Crystal Mile runner-up Bow Creek, Gai Waterhouse’s Epsom Handicap second to Winx in Sydney over the mile Eucador and Darren Weir’s Toorak Handicap winner Lucky Hussler last seen finishing third in the Crystal Mile.

The 2015 Emirates Stakes field and barriers are out on Wednesday so stay tuned.

In the meantime head to Ladbrokes.com.au and deposit just $50 quoting the code BONUS150 to enjoy an extra $150 in bonuses for your Spring Carnival punting!

2015 Emirates Stakes Nominations

Flemington Racecourse – 07/11/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 7x55311x17 AMOVATIO G 5 Chris Waller 104
2 211x0x0171 AMRALAH (IRE) H 6 Robert Hickmott 107
3 15x23112x0 AROD (IRE) H 5 Peter Chapple-Hyam 113
4 2311x6x6x2 BOW CREEK (IRE) H 5 John O’Shea 108
5 662313×431 CORONATION SHALLAN M 6 Brett Scott 95
6 2x21142x81 DEFIANT ANGEL G 6 Phillip Stokes 89
7 30×4850441 DESERT JEUNEY G 6 Nigel Blackiston 100
8 22x24x1221 DISPOSITION G 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 107
9 x2614x2426 ECUADOR (NZ) G 6 Gai Waterhouse 105
10 x2120x1266 FAWKNER G 8 Robert Hickmott 116
11 111x8x5241 HE OR SHE G 5 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 94
12 x12358x006 HOPFGARTEN G 5 Robert Heathcote 100
13 12789×2727 JACQUINOT BAY G 8 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 100
14 2x167x4613 LUCKY HUSSLER G 6 Darren Weir 114
15 424x1255x4 MAGIC ARTIST (IRE) H 5 Andreas Wohler 106
16 348x0x4324 MAY’S DREAM M 5 Darren Weir 101
17 299×538348 MESSENE G 7 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 105
18 80429×0074 MORIARTY (IRE) G 8 Chris Waller 105
19 7202×36460 NINTH LEGION G 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 102
20 x16000x111 POLITENESS M 5 Robert Smerdon 108
21 1x827x5752 ROCK STURDY H 5 Joseph Pride 102
22 8840×33200 RUDY G 5 Helen Page 103
23 1347×10849 SETINUM G 4 Shane Fliedner 93
24 840x120x28 SOLICIT M 5 Gerald Ryan 102
25 412311×238 SONS OF JOHN G 5 Jason Attard 103
26 x2131x6211 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) H 4 Murray Baker 110

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field