Chautauqua Leads 2015 McEwen Stakes Nominations

August 31, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Chautauqua Leads 2015 McEwen Stakes Nominations

The Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained TJ Smith Stakes winner Chautauqua is the headline nomination for the McEwen Stakes 2015 at Moonee Valley Racecourse this weekend.


Chautauqua is the headline 2015 McEwen Stakes nominee for the sprint clash at Moonee Valley this weekend. Photo: Adrienne Bicknell.

The key support race on the Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes Day program, this year’s $200,000 Group 2 Mitty’s McEwen Stakes (1000m) has attracted a bumper 22 nominations.

A weight-for-age sprint for short distance specialists tracking towards the better Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival 1200m classics like the $1 million Group 1 Darley Classic at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day, the McEwen Stakes features a class line-up this season.

Sitting top of the entries, five-year-old Encosta De Lago stallion Chautauqua won the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) in Sydney back in April during a magic run that ended with a third to Dissident in the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) a fortnight later.

Runner-up to Terravista in last year’s Darley Classic during the Melbourne Cup Carnival, Chautauqua also boasts an imposing first-up record of three wins and a second from four runs when resuming that he’ll look to add to this weekend in the McEwen.

Hawkes Racing have also nominated for young Headwater, one of only three three-year-olds in the mix.

Lightly raced with five runs for two wins on his record, the Exceed And Excel colt was fifth to Vancouver in the Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) during the autumn and is looking to improve on a first-up seventh to Japonisme in the Group 3 San Domenico Stakes (1100m) from mid-August.

The other three-year-olds nominated to take on the older sprinters in the McEwen are the John O’Shea-trained Furnaces who won the Group 3 Kindergarten Stakes (1100m) at Randwick last start and Wez Hunter’s Beneteau filly Parcel.

Along with Chautauqua other notable gallopers returning in the McEwen Stakes include Peter Moody’s Group 1 The Goodwood winning six-year-old Flamberge and Kuro who is now prepared in Melbourne by Lee & Anthony Freedman.

Under former trainer Joe Pride Denman stallion Kuro, now four, won six of his 13 starts and was last seen running a close third when beaten under half a length by stablemate Ball Of Muscle in the Group 2 QTC Cup (1200m) in Brisbane in late May.

Kuro is scheduled for a track gallop on Tuesday morning and his performance there will determine whether his Hall of Fame co-trainer Lee Freedman decides to kick him off in the McEwen Stakes this Saturday.

Other noteworthy McEwen Stakes entries include Michael Kent’s Sebring four-year-old Supido who has won two of his four starts so far, Robert Sangster Stakes fourth placed mare Miss Steele who is a three time winner at Moonee Valley and the Mick Price-trained Le Bonsir.

An eight-year-old son of Choisir, Le Bonsir ran third at Flemington two back when beaten just three quarters of a length by winner Shiraz in the Group 3 Aurie’s Star Handicap (1200m) before taking out the Listed Carlyon Stakes (1000m) at Moonee Valley on August 22.

See below for the full Mitty’s McEwen Stakes 2015 nominations then visit our No. 1 recommended bookie to sign-up and deposit quoting the exclusive code SPRINGBONUS that will see your investment matched up to $500!

2015 McEwen Stakes Nominations

Moonee Valley Racecourse – 05/09/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 x112x1213x CHAUTAUQUA H 5 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 114
2 7643x2301x FLAMBERGE G 6 Peter G Moody 109
3 1x2261x FURNACES C 3 John O’Shea 80
4 16x3x19x GOLD RORY G 6 Mark Riley 72
5 650x2326x7 GREGERS M 5 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 103
6 80x4132x99 GRIANTE M 5 David Brideoake 101
7 1135×7 HEADWATER C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 85
8 x5229x666x I’M ALL THE TALK H 5 Gary Portelli 95
9 671217490x IT IS WRITTEN G 7 Robbie Griffiths 101
10 365×435944 KLISHINA M 6 David Bourne 79
11 113x32813x KURO (NZ) H 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 101
12 276x520x31 LE BONSIR G 8 Mick Price 96
13 32212x167x LUCKY HUSSLER G 6 Darren Weir 109
14 x3845x344x MISS STEELE M 5 Michael Kent 88
15 140x PARCEL F 3 Wez Hunter 64
16 1140x SISTONIC M 4 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 70
17 26x1x1 SUPIDO H 4 Michael Kent 72
18 1113163×68 SWEET EMILY M 5 Phil Sweeney 82
19 x21631166x THE QUARTERBACK G 5 Robbie Griffiths 93
20 x12121145x TYCOON TARA M 5 Symon Wilde 98
21 63x221175x UNANIMOUSLY G 8 Matthew Dale 99
22 1277189×08 WRITTEN DASH M 4 Danny Curran 76

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field