Lightinthenite Scores 2015 Darwin Cup Win

August 4, 2015

Lightinthenite Scores 2015 Darwin Cup Win

Gary Clarke’s short-priced favourite Lightinthenite saluted for the punters in Monday’s Darwin Cup 2015 with an absolute romp home in the Top End classic in record time.


Race favourite Lightinthenite (pictured in Sydney) blitzed his rivals by a minimum nine lengths in the 2015 Darwin Cup on Monday afternoon. Photo: Steve Hart.

Ridden by ace interstate hoop Hugh Bowman who was aboard the veteran eight-year-old son of Galileo as a favour for connections, former Sydney-based Lightinthenight ($3) had an impressive nine lengths to spare over his closest rival on the line in this year’s $200,000 Carlton Mid Darwin Cup (2000m).

Carrying 60kg, a one kilo drop from the weight he had on his back when winning over the mile at Fannie Bay Racecourse the run before, Lightinthenite was unstoppable when flying home to easily account for the Neil Dyer-trained Royal Request ($6).

Adding value to the winning Darwin Cup trifecta a further half-length back for third was then the Kym Healy-trained defending champion Pretty Blonde ($21) who improved on a last start ninth at the track behind Whistle Stop.

Lightinthenite posted his Darwin Cup victory in 2:00.23, over a second faster than the previous track record, thanks to Bowman securing the box seat soon after settling.

The Darwin Cup field was led around by Clarke’s other runner Storm Approach and Kayno, the two emergency runners that gained an 11th hour start, while Bowman took his time aboard the eventual winner.

With 600m left to travel Bowman and Lightinthenite made their move, hitting the lead and racing away with the blistering victory to complete the Chief Minister’s Cup – Darwin Cup double for the locally based Clarke.

“It’s pretty tricky to get a horse ready first-up for a mile and then second-up to 2000 (metres),” Clarke told Sky Thoroughbred Central.

“You’re always nervous when you see them hit the front like that so far out but when you looked behind them and nothing else is chasing, he’s just got to maintain to win but he didn’t just maintain he hit the line full of running.”

Recently crowned Sydney Jockeys’ Premiership winner Bowman, who took out nine Group 1 wins last season, was also full of post-win praise for the Darwin Cup winner.

“I was on the superior horse, all credit to Garry Clarke for turning him out in such magnificent fashion,” he said.

“He was a class horse in Sydney, I rode him a little bit as a young horse for the John O’Shea stable.

“He’s always had a high cruising speed and it actually brought him undone a little bit on the grass but he’s a lovely dirt horse.

“I’m a country boy at heart, and to come up here really does top off a wonderful season for me.”

See below for the full Darwin Cup 2015 results then visit and open an account quoting the code BETBONUS to get your first deposit matched by the house 100% up to $500 to use up to four times this season!

2015 Darwin Cup Results & Finishing Order

Fannie Bay Race 9 – 04/08/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 3 LIGHTINTHENITE Gary Clarke Hugh Bowman 7 60kg $3F
2 10 ROYAL REQUEST Neil Dyer Raymond Vigar (a) 9L 9 54kg $6
3 7 PRETTY BLONDE Kym Healy Justin Potter 9.5L 10 54kg $21
4 4 BOLTON (NZ) Neil Dyer Wayne Kerford 11L 3 54.5kg $31
5 6 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold Carl Spry 13.5L 5 54.5kg $10
6 13e KAYNO Kerry Petrick Ms Felicia Bergstrand (a) 13.7L 6 54kg $31
7 2 TRAVOLTA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Paul Shiers 14.2L 2 60.5kg $11
8 11 PROVERB Neil Dyer Dean Holland 16L 4 54kg $21
9 14e STORM APPROACH Gary Clarke Brendon Davis 21L 1 54kg $13
10 9 POST D’FRANCE (NZ) Stephen Brown Stephen Baster 31L 8 54kg $6
11 5 PAYTEEVEE Richard Laming Paul Denton 32.3L 11 54.5kg $41
12 1 GRIS CARO (GB) Chris Nash Andrew Mallyon 35.3L 12 61.5kg $20
15e SATURDAY SORCERER Mark Webb Paul Denton 0
8 WHISTLE STOP Dick Leech Stephen Ridler 0
12 FLYING TORMENTA TROBIS Bonus Scheme John Peacock Ms Jan Cameron 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field