2015 All Victorian Sprint Series Nominations

This Saturday at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne it is ‘Finals Day’, one of the meeting’s headline events being the All Victorian Sprint Series 2015.

Desert Jeuney

Desert Jeuney is the top-rated 2015 All Victorian Sprint Series Final nominee for Flemington on Saturday. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Worth $150,000 in prize money the Listed 1200m sprint has attracted 15 nominees, the top-rated of which is the Nigel Blackiston-trained local hope Desert Jeuney.

It has been a long time between drinks for the Desert King five-year-old who hasn’t won a race since September of 2013 over 2000m, the multiple Group 1 performer and 2014 Toorak Handicap third placegetter second-up for the season.

After a failed run when dead last (15th) in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes (1600m) at Flemington last November, Desert Jeuney returned off a spell at Flemington on June 27.

A solid first-up fourth over 1100m crossing under a length off the winner Lonrockstar while carrying 60kg as a 30/1 shot was an excellent start to a new campaign that continues on Saturday.

There are three last start winners among the nominees including the horse who beat Desert Jeuney home in that race, the John Sadler-trained Lonrockstar.

A five-year-old Lonhro gelding, Lonrockstar is yet to win over 1200m but the short distance specialist was strong in the Takeover Target Tribute Handicap last time out.

Also coming off a win are the Darren Weir-trained Red Corner who saluted at the track and distance on June 10 and the in-form Smackdown who has won his past two on the trot at Geelong and Sandown.

Further up the ratings are the likes of Ricky Maund’s veteran seven-year-old General Truce and Hard Romp.

Prepared by the flying Ciaron Maher, who enjoyed the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap – Tattersall’s Tiara double in Queensland recently with ace mare Srikandi, Hard Spun gelding Hard Romp has run top three in his past four starts including two wins the latest of which was over 1100m at Flemington on June 13.

After that good three-quarter length win over Nadeem Lass he returned to run third to Lonrockstar in a race that could prove the formline to follow in the All Victorian Sprint Series Final.

Other notable nominees for the handicap clash include Robbie Griffiths’ consistent stakes winning mare Nadeem Lass who ran second to Lonrockstar last start with a light weight and rising eight-year-old Solsay who ran third first-up over 1200m at Moonee Valley behind Sea Lord on June 20.

Flemington final acceptances for all nine races on the Saturday program including the All Victorian Sprint Series Final close on Wednesday morning and will be published right here at Races.com.au so stay tuned.

In the meantime gear up for your next winter wager by signing up with Ladbrokes.com.au who will match your initial investment 100% up to $500 when you quote the limited time only promo code BETBONUS!

2015 All Victorian Sprint Series Final Nominations

Flemington Racecourse – 11/07/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 2109x108x5 ABOUT SQUARE (NZ) G 5 Michael Moroney 87
2 18225×9902 DECIRCLES G 6 Danny O’Brien 92
3 8x563330x4 DESERT JEUNEY G 5 Nigel Blackiston 99
4 x826626748 FIRST PRINT M 7 Peter Smith 65
5 x567x06029 GENERAL TRUCE G 7 Ricky Maund 94
6 22216×1313 HARD ROMP G 5 Ciaron Maher 94
7 1x6365x435 KLISHINA M 5 David Bourne 82
8 728×285351 LONROCKSTAR G 5 John Sadler 89
9 x563313322 NADEEM LASS M 5 Robbie Griffiths 89
10 x5796x0542 NEAREST TO PIN G 5 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 90
11 x177464165 PLAY MASTER G 6 Peter Smith 88
12 9510×40901 RED CORNER G 5 Darren Weir 80
13 0x35054x11 SMACKDOWN (NZ) G 6 Trent Pennuto 89
14 41527265×3 SOLSAY G 7 Michael Kent 91
15 5x1x244037 WRITTEN UP G 4 George Osborne 84


Have your say, post a comment.