2015 Sir John Monash Stakes Nominations Feature Lord Of The Sky

The final Group race of the season takes place at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse on Saturday with Lord Of The Sky nominated to defend his title in the Sir John Monash Stakes 2015.

Lord Of The Sky

Multiple Group 1 runner-up Lord Of The Sky is back to defend his title in the 2015 Sir John Monash Stakes at Caulfield this weekend. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Robbie Laing-trained stallion won the race as a three-year-old last season, the now four-year-old son of Danerich after another weight-for-age winter win in this year’s $150,000 Group 3 Sir John Monash Stakes (1100m).

A winner of over $900,000 in prize money from 18 career starts, Lord Of The Sky has been in flying form against much tougher company this campaign.

In Early April he was nudged out by a nose when runner-up behind Chautauqua in Randwick’s Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) before returning in mid-May when second behind Flamberge in the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) in Adelaide.

Down in class from elite level to face off in a Group 3, Lord Of The Sky is sure to be one of the dominant favourites in the Sir John Monash Stakes betting markets at Ladbrokes.com.au if accepted.

Laing has also nominated for another son of Danerich, outside hope Audino who hasn’t raced since running a well beaten 10th to Self Sense in the Listed Kilmore Cup (1600m) back in February.

Outside of Lord Of The Sky the next highest rated Monash Stakes nominee is the Ken Sweeney-trained Riziz.

A six-year-old son of Zariz, the Adelaide-based gelding ran second in three straight races during the autumn including in the Group 3 RN Iriwin Stakes (1100m) before a disappointing 16th of 17 runners in The Goodwood last time out.

Coming off better lead-up runs are the likes of the Stephen Brown-trained Sea Lord and Mark Kavanagh’s young filly Wild Rain who is the only three-year-old among the 16 Sir John Monash Stakes nominees.

Last time out Street Cry seven-year-old Sea Lord won over 1200m at Moonee Valley by two lengths, Saturday to be his eighth shot at winning his first race at Caulfield.

Wild Rain is also a last start winner, the Manhattan Rain filly having saluted for the fourth time at start number 10 over 1000m in a fillies-and-mares’ BenchMark 90 on June 20 at the Valley.

The third last start winner who will be shooting for back-to-back victories if they line-up in the Sir John Monash Stakes field on the weekend is then another raider from Morphettville, the Lloyd Kennewell-trained Heart Of A Lion.

The Lion Heart five-year-old saluted at Morphettville Parks over 1000m last time out for his fourth win from five starts since early April, Saturday to be his first interstate run.

Yet another visitor from South Australia that could be part of the Monash Stakes make-up this year is Richard Jolly’s Hussonet six-year-old Karacatis.

The gelding comes off back-to-back seconds from Adelaide in June including behind Heart Of A Lion last time out from a wide barrier 10 of 10 draw.

Other notable Sir John Monash Stakes nominees include Peter Moody’s Group 1 The Galaxy runner-up from last year Anatina, the Lee & Anthony Freedman-trained Commands mare Minaj and veteran seven-year-old Pago Rock who hasn’t won a race since April last year.

Check out the full Sir John Monash Stakes 2015 nominations below, the field and barriers out on Wednesday.

Before then make sure you’re signed-up with Ladbrokes.com.au for access to all the weekend’s hottest winter racing odds plus up to $500 in bonus bets when you deposit and quote the code BETBONUS!

2015 Sir John Monash Stakes Nominations

Caulfield Racecourse – 04/07/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp Rating
1 71x12x27x8 ANATINA M 4 Robert Smerdon 95
2 11x2317x26 ANGELS BEACH M 5 Peter G Moody 99
3 6254664694 ATUNNAH COURAGE G 4 Libby Haworth 54
4 311189680x AUDINO G 6 Robbie Laing 79
5 5×46711131 HEART OF A LION G 5 Lloyd Kennewell 90
6 5130×54922 KARACATIS G 6 Richard Jolly 92
7 11x6365x43 KLISHINA M 5 David Bourne 82
8 4×42270422 LORD OF THE SKY H 4 Robbie Laing 106
9 70D0x42354 MINAJ (NZ) M 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman 86
10 x4377x1228 MISS PROMISCUITY M 4 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 87
11 122115x17x O’MALLEY G 4 Enver Jusufovic 82
12 410956×616 OUR NKWAZI G 8 Shawn Mathrick 90
13 05808×0254 PAGO ROCK G 7 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 93
14 1275×12220 RIZIZ G 6 Ken Sweeney 103
15 9500310×01 SEA LORD G 7 Stephen Brown 94
16 57113×6151 WILD RAIN F 3 Mark Kavanagh 78


Have your say, post a comment.