Lumosty Leads 2015 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations

June 1, 2015

Lumosty Leads 2015 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations

Current favourite to win the Stradbroke Handicap at Doomben Racecourse on Saturday, the Robert Smerdon-trained filly Lumosty is also the headline nominee for the Dane Ripper Stakes 2015 as a plan B this weekend in Brisbane.


Robert Smerdon’s smart filly Lumosty will run in the 2015 Dane Ripper Stakes on Saturday if she is balloted out of the Stradbroke Handicap at the same meeting. Photo: Adrienne Bicknell.

The flying daughter of Fastnet Rock is entered for both the $2 million Group 1 AAMI Stradbroke Handicap (1350m) as well as the $200,000 Group 2 Best Security Dane Ripper Stakes (1350m) for the fillies and mares on Saturday.

She leads the pre-field Stradbroke Handicap betting markets at after an impressive effort in Flemington’s Listed The Straight Six (1200m) last time out, but is far from assured a run in the classic.

Lumosty currently sits 21st in the Stradbroke Handicap ballot order and so Smerdon has also thrown her in the entries for the Dane Ripper as a back-up option.

The traditional lead-up into the $500,000 Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m) also for fillies and mares only run this year at the Gold Coast on June 20, the Dane Ripper Stakes attracted 21 nominations this Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The most notable omission is Gai Waterhouse’s Fred Best Classic winner Najoom who is ruled out of another run this winter with injury and who is now in the paddock ahead of a spring return.

Lumosty then is the early favourite for not only the Stradbroke this Saturday but also the 2015 Tattersall’s Tiara later in the month.

Smerdon has also nominated for his Street Sense four-year-old Politeness who is looking to atone for her 15th of 17 runners when well beaten from a bad gate in Adelaide’s Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m).

The two other best fancied mares in the Tattersall’s Tiara this year are then the Chris Waller-trained Catkins and Ciaron Maher’s Srikandi who are both also nominated for the Dane Ripper.

Waller’s Dubawi five-year-old Catkins is long overdue for a Group 1 win after a string of frustrating places at the highest level including her latest when runner-up to Amanpour in the Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) at Randwick back on April 11 during The Championships.

She’s had two subsequent Sydney trials with Saturday to be her Brisbane debut over a distance she’s got a gun record over (9-3-4-1).

Srikandi meanwhile was third to River Lad in the Stradbroke Handicap last year and has had mixed results this winter off a lengthy spell.

The four-year-old who shares a sire with Catkins won the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) first-up at the Gold Coast but was well beaten in both the Group 1 BTC Cup (1200m) when eighth to upset winner Hot Snitzel and then sixth beaten four lengths by Boban in the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m) last time out.

Other notable Tattersall’s Tiara-bound female gallopers include the Peter Moody-trained stablemates Bring Me The Maid and Peron.

Sebring three-year-old Bring Me The Maid was third as a juvenile in the Golden Slipper last April and her form this season has been more hit than miss including her good fourth in the BTC Cup.

She needs to improve on her Doomben 10,000 run however when beaten over five lengths to cross ninth over the same track and distance she returns to this weekend if accepted.

Stablemate Peron also ran ninth last time out at Doomben but in the Group 3 Glenlogan Park Stakes (1350m) behind the Gerald Ryan-trained Peace Force who is also among the Dane Ripper nominees for this weekend.

See below for the full Dane Ripper Stakes 2015 nominations, the field due out on Wednesday morning.

Before then make sure you’re ready to back your favourites on Saturday at the right price by signing up with who will match your first deposit 100% up to $500 when you quote the promo code BETBONUS!

2015 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 06/06/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 196×025203 AIMEE F 3 Noel Doyle 84
2 4428x9x473 BOUND FOR EARTH M 4 Toby Edmonds
3 x18740x249 BRING ME THE MAID F 3 Peter G Moody 102
4 1233×11212 CATKINS M 5 Chris Waller 110
5 334×1 DANSOLEI F 3 Kelso Wood 66
6 x455009x47 DISCREET M 5 Kelly Schweida 88
7 70x6200x00 ENQUARE M 4 Jason McLachlan 91
8 51542×8537 FINE BUBBLES M 5 Kris Lees
9 x6050x1711 HAZARD M 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman
10 510x04x830 JAZZ SONG M 4 Mick Price 92
11 3x21816x11 LUMOSTY F 3 Robert Smerdon 102
12 10x3080x73 NAUTICAL M 5 Nikki Burke
13 1321112×21 PEACE FORCE M 5 Gerald Ryan 97
14 5040×20549 PERON M 5 Peter G Moody 97
15 4571x3x160 POLITENESS M 4 Robert Smerdon
16 45×0160104 REFER M 4 Heath Conners
17 62x32405x5 ROSE OF CHOICE M 5 Peter & Paul Snowden
18 4085241×54 SHE’S CLEAN M 6 Chris Waller 98
19 111113×186 SRIKANDI M 4 Ciaron Maher 107
20 12x912190x TARLOSHAN (NZ) M 5 Graeme Boyd 97
21 12×8239512 WRITE CHEEK M 5 Matthew Dunn 83

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field