Riva De Lago Scores Upset 2015 Glasshouse Handicap Result

Brisbane horseman Robert Heathcote had his veteran galloper Riva De Lago back on song in top form first-up on Caloundra Cup Day winning the Glasshouse Handicap 2015 in a massive boilover.

Not having won a race since the 2013 Theo Marks Stakes in Sydney nearly two years ago, the now seven-year-old Encosta De Lago gelding was last seen running ninth in the Sunshine Coast Cup (1400m) back in January.

He returned to Caloundra for his opening winter run and jumped at big 41-1 odds for the win in the $175,000 Listed HMR Projects Pty Ltd Glasshouse Handicap (1300m).

Ridden from barrier one in the big field by top jockey Luke Nolen, Riva De Lago was settled into fourth spot getting a lovely run as the Stuart Kendrick-trained race favourite Time For War, coming off a first-up second in the Gold Coast Guineas from April 25, led them around.

After a brilliant jump from the gates the Jim Byrne-ridden Time For War quickly got across from barrier 14 to sit up front ahead of the Tony Pike-trained Kiwi Allez Eagle and Grayson Square ridden by apprentice jockey Cassandra Schmidt.

Getting onto the straight the young Snitzel colt Time For War got away from his rivals briefly as Guillotine four-year-old Allez Eagle, last seen running fourth in the Group 1 Easter Cup (1600m) at Ellerslie back in NZ on April 18, was called upon to challenge.

Dances On Stars was also finishing strong but it was roughie shot Riva De Lago ($41) who went up on the inside of the leader to beat home the market mover Time For War ($3.30) in second and Tony Sears’s Weetwood Handicap runner-up last time out Pillar Of Creation ($26) in third for a juicy paying trifecta in the Glasshouse.

The long straight at the Sunshine Coast collected another victim with the Glasshouse Handicap result, Riva De Lago looking back in form and ready for some more winter black type this carnival in something like the $100,000 Listed Spear Chief Handicap (1600m) at Doomben on May 30 or the $100,000 Listed Tattersall’s Racing Club Open Mile (1600m) at the Gold Coast on June 20.

Whatever horse you’re backing in whatever race this winter make sure you get the best prices all day every day online through Ladbrokes.com.au – home of the $500 bonus welcome bet offer!

2015 Glasshouse Handicap Results & Finishing Order

Sunshine Coast Race 7 – 16/05/2015

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 2 RIVA DE LAGO Robert Heathcote Luke Nolen 1 55.5kg $26
2 7 TIME FOR WAR Stuart Kendrick Jim Byrne 1.3L 14 54kg $3.20F
3 11 PILLAR OF CREATION Tony Sears Luke Tarrant (a) 2.6L 2 54kg $14
4 4 MOUNT NEBO Allan Denham Michael Cahill 2.8L 7 54.5kg $14
5 1 DANCES ON STARS (NZ) Gerald Ryan Damian Browne 3.6L 16 58kg $8.50
6 6 KEMPELLY Kevin Kemp Robbie Fradd 3.7L 12 54kg $21
7 10 CHOICE BRO Tony Sears Paul Hammersley 3.8L 13 54kg $20
8 13 GRAYSON SQUARE (NZ) Brian Wakefield Cassandra Schmidt (a) 4L 11 54kg $31
9 14 BLACK CASH Kelly Doughty Ric McMahon 5.5L 10 54kg $31
10 9 ALLEZ EAGLE (NZ) Tony Pike Timothy Bell 5.7L 8 54kg $5.50
11 5 ENQUARE Jason McLachlan Daniel Griffin 6L 3 54kg $9
12 15 YOU DID WHAT John Zielke Justin P Stanley 6.1L 5 54kg $12
13 17 NOT TOO SURE Natalie Mccall Jason Taylor 6.4L 4 54kg $101
14 12 BLACK JET Liam Birchley Jeff Lloyd 6.7L 6 54kg $21
15 8 TYPHOON RED Kevin Kemp Geoffrey Goold (a) 7.7L 9 54kg $31
16 3 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan Larry Cassidy 7.9L 15 55kg $21
SB 16 ABU BEN ADAM Pat Duff Tegan Harrison 0 54kg $51


Have your say, post a comment.