Dylanson Leads 2015 RA Lee Stakes Nominations

May 11, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Dylanson Leads 2015 RA Lee Stakes Nominations

Phillip Stokes’ last start City of Adelaide Handicap winner Dylanson is one of the headline nominees for the RA Lee Stakes 2015 at Morphettville Racecourse in South Australia this weekend.


City Of Adelaide Handicap winner Dylanson is nominated to back up in the 2015 RA Lee Stakes at Morphettville this weekend. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

A bumper program of black-type features is set to run for The Goodwood Day on Saturday including the $150,000 Group 3 Hughes Chauffeured Limousines RA Lee Stakes (1600m) for the milers.

Nineteen early entries were taken by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) on Monday morning, with RA Lee Stakes nominations extended until 10am (SA time) on Tuesday.

A winner of two of his last three starts, both in Adelaide in Listed company, Dylanson’s last run was on April 25 at Morphettville Parks for the City of Adelaide Handicap success over stablemate Defiant Angel.

The other last start winners nominated for the RA Lee on Saturday are the Richard Jolly-trained Strada gelding Hioctdane, Magic Boy for Jon O’Connor and Robert Smerdon’s ultra-consistent The Bowler who hasn’t finished out of the money in his past seven runs

Three-year-old Magic Albert gelding Magic Boy is set to take on the older rivals this weekend after a half-length win over Distant Rock from a wide barrier 15 of 16 draw in the Listed Adelaide Guineas (1600m) only last Saturday.

The Bowler meanwhile is a four-year-old Testa Rossa gelding from Melbourne who was last seen saluting on a Heavy (8) Flemington track in a 1700m handicap on Anzac Day.

Another Caulfield-based raider of note in the mix is John Sadler’s Choisir filly Japhils who won the Listed Nitschke Stakes (1400m) at the Park two back before her fifth when only one and a half lengths off the winner Atlantis Dream in the Group 2 Queen of the South Stakes (1600m) on May 2.

The only other three-year-old in the mix along with Magic Boy and Japhils is the Saab Hasan-trained Al Maher gelding Avroson.

Also coming out of the Queen of the South Stakes is Leon & Troy Corstens’ Darci Brahma mare Marianne who ran a nice third, beaten just a half-length.

Before that the in-form four-year-old was second to Nobel Protector in the Group 3 Matron Stakes (1600m) at Flemington, third to the same imported mare in Moonee Valley’s Group 2 Sunline Stakes (1600m) and third to Amorino in the Listed Anniversary Vase (1400m) at Caulfield.

Other notable RA Lee Stakes nominees include Peter Moody’s City of Adelaide Handicap fourth placed daughter of Dylan Thomas Metaphorical, stablemate Pyrrolic coming off a Caulfield win over the mile and the Lee & Anthony Freedman-trained Our Ivanhowe.

Dual Group 1 winning German import Our Ivanhowe is a chance to debut down under this weekend in the race according to co-trainer Lee Freedman who believes the conditions of the race to be perfect.

“It’s a set weights and penalties race where he gets 60kg, which for a dual Group 1 winner is a pretty good weight,” he told Racing Victoria.

See below for the current RA Lee Stakes 2015 nominations, the final field set for release on Wednesday.

In the meantime get ready for your next sports or racing wager by opening an online betting account with Ladbrokes.com.au – home of the $250 free bonus bet offer for first time depositing players.

2015 RA Lee Stakes Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 16/05/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 83×5610 AVROSON G 3 Saab Hasan 61
2 x517323131 DYLANSON G 5 Phillip Stokes 98
3 34141×5634 EXCITES ZELADY G 4 Chris Bieg 86
4 2133141619 FLOW METER G 5 John Hickmott 84
5 28x6710x08 GRIS CARO (GB) H 6 Jake Stephens 101
6 x802349x01 HIOCTDANE G 5 Richard Jolly 82
7 38x11x0787 HOSTING G 5 Greg Eurell 95
8 1×508215 JAPHILS F 3 John Sadler 75
9 582213×171 MAGIC BOY G 3 Jon O’Connor 79
10 10×3872333 MARIANNE (NZ) M 4 Leon & Troy Corstens 94
11 x0492123x4 METAPHORICAL M 4 Peter G Moody 93
12 8x16x1016x OUR IVANHOWE (GER) G 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman 110
13 442356×461 PYRROLIC H 4 Peter G Moody 87
14 28x5211x87 QADIR G 5 David Jolly 80
15 5220156253 RIVER’S LANE G 8 Ryan Balfour 86
16 x69915x269 SAINT OR SINNER (NZ) G 5 Michael Moroney 93
17 2121x766x0 TEXT’N HURLEY M 5 Marilyn Smith 91
18 7×52131131 THE BOWLER G 4 Robert Smerdon 93
19 1220417×74 TRISTRAM’S SUN (NZ) G 6 Robbie Laing 91

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field