2015 The Darley Crown Winner is Solicit Charging Late

May 9, 2015

2015 The Darley Crown Winner is Solicit Charging Late

After getting washed out at Hawkesbury last weekend the rescheduled The Darley Crown 2015 ran at Rosehill Gardens this Saturday and the winner in the open field was the always-honest Solicit who charged through late to beat home another Gerald Ryan-trained mare.

Solicit (inside), Peace Force (outside)

Solicit (inside) and Peace Force (outside) run the 2015 Darley Crown quinella at Rosehill for trainer Gerald Ryan. Photo: Steve Hart.

Ryan ran the quinella in the $150,000 Group 3 The 2015 Darley Crown (1300m) after the 59kg top weight in the set weights plus penalties clash for the female gallopers Solicit beat home her returning stablemate Peace Force by a head.

It was the Chris Waller-trained Calming Influence leading them round in the Darley Crown today after she surged through to take up the lead from her stablemate Mamwaazel.

Ryan’s Street Cry mare Solicit, racing for the first time since finishing dead last when 11th behind Adorabeel in the Group 3 Aspiration Quality (1600m) at Randwick on March 7, meanwhile settled fourth in the run with jockey Tim Clark doing a good job to get her to find a nice rhythm.

The race favourite Peron was just off her but had to cover a bit of ground to get into position early racing wide throughout before moving up into third with 500m left to run.

At the top of the straight Ryan’s Bernardini five-year-old Peace Force, returning after a Group 3 Belle Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) second to Mamwaazel at Gosford back on January 9, started to track up with cover.

At the 300m Peron started to give chase to the front runner Calming Influence but Peter Moody’s Husson mare was getting deep, and the leader gave her plenty to chase.

Peace Force ($7.50) kept digging in down the outside charging through but the well-priced Solicit ($12) came from nowhere and she got to the line first to knock off her stablemate, Calming Influence ($10) holding on to finish third in a photo.

Winner of the previous two editions of the Darley Crown, the John O’Shea-trained Aerobatics backed-up 12 months ago off her win in this to contest the $200,000 Group 3 Dark Jewel Classic (1400m) at Scone.

This year’s Dark Jewel runs on May 16 and could be considered for Solicit who broke a notable drought with her Darley Crown win not having been in the winners’ stall since her Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1400m) victory at Flemington in March of 2014.

She has now won five of her 21 career starts for over $758,000 in prize money.

Check out all the hottest autumn and winter racing markets online now at Ladbrokes.com.au and enjoy up to $250 in bonus bets when you quote the code BETBONUS when making your first deposit with the bookie that does it better!

2015 The Darley Crown Results & Finishing Order

Rosehill Race 7 – 09/05/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 SOLICIT Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 2 59kg $11
2 6 PEACE FORCE Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 0.2L 6 56kg $6.50
3 5 CALMING INFLUENCE Chris Waller Jason Collett 1.2L 3 56kg $9
4 4 PERON Peter G Moody Jim Cassidy 1.3L 5 57kg $3.20F
5 9 VERGARA Anthony Cummings Jeff Penza 1.5L 1 56kg $10
6 3 MAMWAAZEL Chris Waller Joshua Parr 1.9L 9 58kg $20
7 10 COPY John O’Shea Brodie Loy (a) 2.2L 7 56kg $21
8 7 BELLE DE COEUR Chris Waller Danny Beasley 2.4L 8 56kg $6
9 2 MY SABEEL (NZ) Kevin Moses Sam Clipperton 3.6L 4 58kg $5.50
11 NAJOOM Gai Waterhouse Christian Reith 0
8 DUBLIN LASS Peter & Paul Snowden 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field