2015 South Australian Derby Form Guide & Preview

May 7, 2015

2015 South Australian Derby Form Guide & Preview

The action of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival kicks up a notch on Saturday with the South Australian Derby 2015 for three-year-olds, a detailed form guide and betting preview for which can be found below.

October Date

October Date is one of only three single figure hopes to win the 2015 SA Derby at Morphettville this weekend in Adelaide. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Set to run as Morphettville Race 7 at 3:53pm (SA time), this year’s $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) field is at capacity and the red hot favourite at a firming price in from $4.80 to $3.20 through Ladbrokes.com.au is Delicacy.

The smart Perth-trained filly is on fire having won her past five on the trot including the WA Oaks – WATC Derby double back home over 2400m before her form-confirming victory in the Group 1 Schweppes Oaks (2000m) in Adelaide last Saturday.

The bookies are unfazed by the seven day turnaround and the wide barrier (14), tipping Delicacy to complete her second Oaks – Derby double of the season.

Just two of her rivals are under $10 to score an upset SA Derby result this weekend with last start winners October Date for Nick Smart and the Nigel Blackiston-trained Manapine at $6.50 each as the co-second elects.

With so few considered a winning chance on the weekend’s major in Adelaide below we’ve got the must know South Australian Derby facts so you can sort out who to back and who to sack in the Morphettville Group 1 before placing your bets online at Ladbrokes.com.au!

2015 South Australian Derby Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s SA Derby winner was the Richard Jolly-trained Kushadasi who came off a fourth in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes at the track and jumped from barrier three (of 16) with Steven Arnold aboard.
  • Jolly is without a runner in 2015 but trainers with a previous SA Derby win represented this year are: Mark Kavanagh (4-1-0-0) with #3 Magicool, Peter Moody (5-1-1-1) with #4 Boom Time and #9 Triple Gold, Robbie Laing (7-1-0-0) with #12 Cuban Fighter, and Leon Macdonald (6-2-0-0) who prepares the last emergency #20 Grumpy Guru in partnership with son-in-law Andrew Gluyas
  • Last year’s winning hoop Steven Arnold (10-1-2-0) is back this year riding roughie shot #15 Time Walker ($71); the other former SA Derby winning jockeys with a ride this weekend are: Damien Oliver (5-1-0-2) on #3 Magicool, Joe Bowditch (6-1-1-0) on #12 Cuban Fighter, and Clare Lindop (7-1-0-1) on standby for #20e Grumpy Guru
  • Last year’s winning barrier (3) this year belongs to #9 Triple Gold ($21) and has produced just the one winner since 1984
  • The most successful SA Derby barrier in that time is five with five winners; this year barrier 5 was drawn by #14 Maysoor ($18) but will belong to #5 Manapine ($6.50) if the emergencies come out
  • There are six last start winners in the SA Derby line-up this year with: #1 Werther (Group 2 Championship Stakes, 2100m, Ellerslie, NZ, 18/04/2015), #2 October Date (Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes, 2020m, Morphettville, 25/04/2015), #5 Manapine (Listed Galilee Series Final, 2500m, Flemington, 11/04/2015), #6 Allergic (Benchmark 70, 2060m, Cranbourne, 24/04/2015), #11 Crimson Cape (MDN-SW, 1720m, Geelong, 08/04/2015) and #16 Delicacy (Group 1 Schweppes Oaks, 2000m, Morphettville, 02/05/2015)
  • The Chairman’s Stakes has produced three SA Derby winners since 2009 and along with the winner October Date the other Derby hopes coming out of the race this year are Maysoor (2nd), Chu Chu Charlie (3rd), Time Walker (4th), Saturday’s third emergency Thermogenic (5th), Turbo Street (6th), fourth emergency on the weekend Grumpy Guru (7th), Magicool (8th) and Lucques (11th)
  • #16 Delicacy (69%) easily boasts the highest Win Rate of the field followed by #2 October Date (50%) and #11 Crimson Cape (40%)
  • The best Place Rate meanwhile belongs to #7 Chu Chu Charlie (100%) who is yet to finish out of the money followed by #16 Delicacy (92%), #1 Werther (70%), #8 All I Survey (71%), #2 October Date (67%) and #18e Light Motion (67%)
  • At the track horses with the best form are: #2 October Date (4-3-1-0), #16 Delicacy (1-1-0-0) and #13 Turbo Street (5-0-2-1)
  • #5 Manapine (1-1-0-0) is the only previous winner at the distance

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for our insider SA Derby 2015 tips to be published shortly.

Already have your favourites picked out and want to back them at the hottest odds?

Visit Ladbrokes.com.au today and open a new account with the country’s best bookie for top odds and up to $250 in bonus bets!

2015 SA Derby Form Guide

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field