2015 South Australian Derby Field: No Authoritarian

May 5, 2015

2015 South Australian Derby Field: No Authoritarian

The most notable omission from the official South Australian Derby 2015 field for this weekend’s Group 1 Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival feature is the VRC St Leger winner Authoritarian.


Last weekend’s Australasian Oaks winner Delicacy is set to back up in the 2015 South Australian Derby on Saturday at Morphettville. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Lee & Anthony Freedman’s gelding was not one of the final acceptances taken by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) on Tuesday morning for the $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m), which runs as Morphettville Race 7 at 3:53pm (AEST) on Saturday.

A capacity field of 16 confirmed starters plus four emergencies is in the mix, but the pre-post favourite in the early South Australian Derby odds at Ladbrokes.com.au Authoritarian is not one of them.

The new favourite in updated South Australian Derby betting is now likely to be the Grant Williams-trained Delicacy, the Perth-based youngster out to become the first filly to beat home the boys in the race since Zarita (2008).

Williams’ daughter of Al Maher has won nine of her 13 career starts to date, including her past five on the trot including the WA Oaks – WATC Derby double over the mile and a half back in Perth earlier this autumn.

Last time out she had her interstate debut in the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) at Morphettville only last Saturday, which she won as a 6/1 chance beating Fenway by one and a quarter lengths.

She goes on the short seven day turnaround into the Derby on Saturday and will need to be at her best after drawing barrier 14, which will become 11 if all the emergencies come out.

Two other last start winners the bookies are set to favour for the SA Derby victory this autumn are the Nigel Blackiston-trained Manapine and Nick Smart’s October Date, both drawn well in barriers six and two respectively.

Dwayne Dunn has the ride on Manhattan Rain gelding Manapine, the Australian Guineas failure (10th) last seen winning the Listed Galilee Final (2500m) at Flemington on April 11.

October Date has Shayne Cahill retaining the ride this weekend after the pair combined on Anzac Day at Morphettville to win the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2020m) by a nose, the race which produced last year’s SA Derby winner Kushadasi.

Also coming off a top three Chairman’s Stakes run are the second placed Maysoor for Melbourne’s Mick Price and third placed Chu Chu Charlie from the Port Fairy stables of Ron Daniel.

Another one of the early top fancies, Magicool, is set to drift in the markets meanwhile after the Mark Kavanagh-trained Fastnet Rock gelding drew the outside alley.

A winner over 2000m at Caulfield two back, Magicool ran a below par eighth in the Chairman’s Stakes and is out to become the first SA Derby winner from barrier 16 of 16 since the Peter Snowden-trained Kidnapped (2010) five years ago.

Wearing the number one saddlecloth in Saturday’s feature and also drawn awkwardly in barrier 18 (into 14) is the Andrew Campbell-trained Werther.

Noel Callow rides the consistent Tavistock gelding, the New Zealand raider set to make his debut down under on Saturday on the back of a Group 2 win over 2100m at Ellerslie on April 18.

Other notable South Australian Derby final acceptors for this weekend include the Peter Moody-trained Flying Spur colt Boom Time coming off a third to Delicacy in the Group 2 WATC Derby, the flying John O’Shea-trained Allergic after his third win on the trot after back-to-back Cranbourne victories, VRC St Leger runner-up Cuban Fighter and Pat Carey’s improving Domesday gelding All I Survey.

See below for the full South Australian Derby 2015 field, barriers and jockeys – the updated odds set for release online at Ladbrokes.com.au shortly!

2015 South Australian Derby Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 (3:53pm) – 09/05/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 x386x19121 WERTHER (NZ) Andrew R Campbell Noel Callow 18 56.5kg 84
2 19×2141 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 2 56.5kg 80
3 2155×84618 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh Damien Oliver 20 56.5kg 78
4 292×834313 BOOM TIME Peter G Moody Vlad Duric 9 56.5kg 74
5 2×10061 MANAPINE Nigel Blackiston Dwayne Dunn 6 56.5kg 71
6 34×6312811 ALLERGIC John O’Shea Patrick Moloney (a) 1 56.5kg 71
7 23221×123 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel Dean Yendall 10 56.5kg 70
8 35×63132 ALL I SURVEY Pat Carey Rhys McLeod 7 56.5kg 67
9 52x82x1025 TRIPLE GOLD Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 3 56.5kg 66
10 6×51230910 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra TBA 17 56.5kg 66
11 5×6011 CRIMSON CAPE (NZ) Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 8 56.5kg 66
12 4279×60012 CUBAN FIGHTER Robbie Laing Joe Bowditch 16 56.5kg 65
13 7160×20226 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 19 56.5kg 65
14 7x5x6242 MAYSOOR Mick Price Dom Tourneur 5 56.5kg 64
15 6×3104 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes Steven Arnold 12 56.5kg 62
16 15×2311111 DELICACY Grant Williams Peter Hall 14 54.5kg 100
17e 38812013 GIFTED LAD (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Michael Walker 4 56.5kg 65
18e 821×722 LIGHT MOTION Robert Smerdon TBA 13 56.5kg 64
19e 0145×3255 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes TBA 15 56.5kg 62
20e 70×7137 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 11 56.5kg 62

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field