2015 BRC Sprint Nominations Feature Neo

May 4, 2015

2015 BRC Sprint Nominations Feature Neo

Stuart Kendrick’s last start Prime Minister’s Cup winner Neo is one of the top nominations taken for the BRC Sprint 2015 at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday in Brisbane.


Prime Minister’s Cup winner Neo is nominated to back-up at Doomben this Saturday in the 2015 BRC Sprint. Photo: Daniel Costello.

The One Cool Cat five-year-old is an early entry for the $125,000 Group 3 Darley BRC Sprint (1350m) on Doomben Cup Day, the handicap clash attracting 16 nominations this winter carnival.

One of the sure-to-be favourites in the markets at Ladbrokes.com.au if accepted, Neo scored his sixth career win when at the Gold Coast on Anzac Day he beat home a smart field by a minimum one length margin in the Listed Prime Minister’s Cup (1400m).

Now he heads to Doomben for a third run at the track, his first since finishing a close second when a half-length off subsequent Prime Minister’s Cup third placegetter Gundy Spirit over the 1350m on April 11.

Tony Gollan’s in-form Jet Spur four-year-old Gundy Spirit is also nominated to back-up in the BRC Sprint this Saturday, the galloper boasting an ace record of three wins and two seconds from six previous runs over the same track and distance.

Gollan has also nominated for his Refuse To Bend gelding Alma’s Fury, the Group 1 performed seven-year-old looking to improve on a second last when ninth to Srikandi in the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) at the Gold Coast on Hollindale Stakes Day.

Adding another level of interest to this weekend’s possible BRC Sprint line-up is the nomination of New Zealand raider Allez Eagle, Tony Pike’s Guillotine four-year-old yet to race down under.

A winner of seven of his 14 starts for a 50% strike rate to date, the galloper was last seen running fourth to Pondarosa Miss in the Group 3 Easter Handicap (1600m) back home over the mile on a Heavy (8) track.

His record over Saturday’s distance is very good, three wins from five starts, and so the drop back to the 1350m should suit.

Also worth a look-in should he make the field is the Peter & Paul Snowden-trained Myboycharlie four-year-old Charlie Boy, the galloper coming off a brave fifth to Saturday’s 2015 BTC Cup favourite Our Boy Malachi first-up in the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes (1200m) at Randwick.

Hall Mark Stakes fourth placed gelding Fast ‘N’ Rocking is also in the mix this weekend, David Hayes & Tom Dabernig’s son of Fastnet Rock coming off a string of good Group 1 runs.

Third to Shamal Wind in the Oakleigh Plate back in late February, he ran fourth in The Galaxy before a sixth behind superstar sprint Chautauqua in the TJ Smith over 1200m at Randwick before his nice effort in the Hall Mark.

Another Sydney-trained hope with good lead-up form is Gerald Ryan’s Snitzel mare Estonian Princess, fifth in the Group 1 Myer Classic last November over the Flemington mile.

She has had just the one run this time in when racing first-up at the Gold Coast in the Listed Silk Stocking (1200m), the four-year-old running a length away second behind I’ve Got The Looks ahead of her possible Doomben debut.

The BRC Sprint produced last year’s $2 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap winner River Lad who completed the double.

Best over the line behind River Lad in last year’s BRC Sprint result nominated for another run in 2015 is the Kevin Kemp-trained Typhoon Red, four and a half lengths away sixth last year as a 21-1 shot on the back of a Listed Weetwood Handicap (1200m) win at Toowoomba the start before.

Other notable BRC Sprint entries include Lloyd Kennewell’s Adelaide visitor Baligari coming off a third in the City Of Adelaide Stakes over 1400m, the Joe Pride-trained Group 2 Shannon Stakes winner from last September Rock Sturdy and last year’s Toorak Handicap runner-up Speediness.

See below for the full BRC Sprint 2015 nominations, the final field out on Wednesday and published right here at Races.com.au.

Before then enjoy up to $250 in bonus bets by signing-up with Ladbrokes.com.au, making your first deposit and quoting the limited-time-only code BETBONUS!

2015 BRC Sprint Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 09/05/2015

# Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ALLEZ EAGLE (NZ) G 4 Tony Pike
2 ALMA’S FURY G 7 Tony Gollan 104
3 BALIGARI G 4 Lloyd Kennewell
4 BYMONASHEE G 7 Brian Smith 85
5 CHARLIE BOY G 4 Peter & Paul Snowden
7 FAST ’N’ ROCKING G 4 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
8 FINAL CRESCENDO G 5 David Kelly 92
9 GUNDY SPIRIT G 4 Tony Gollan 91
10 JOPA G 7 Robert Heathcote 89.5
11 NEO (NZ) G 5 Stuart Kendrick 96
12 NITE ROCKER G 4 Lloyd Kennewell
13 ROCK STURDY H 4 Joseph Pride
14 SPEEDINESS G 7 Colin Scott 106
15 TOKAMAK G 7 Barry Lockwood 95
16 TYPHOON RED G 6 Kevin Kemp 92

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field