2015 South Australian Derby Nominations: 40 Entries

There are 40 three-year-olds officially nominated for the South Australian Derby 2015 this Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival including recent Chairman’s Stakes winner October Date.

October Date (outside), Maysoor (inside)

The Chairman’s Stakes quinella of October Date (outside) and Maysoor (inside) are both nominated for the 2015 SA Derby. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Nominations for the $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m), to run at Morphettville Racecourse on May 9, were taken by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) on Tuesday with a host of talented young staying types entered for the set weights classic.

The most successful lead-up race into the Derby in recent years producing three of the past six winners is the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2020m), this year’s edition of that race run last Saturday.

Nick Smart won the Chairman’s with his progressive Barley A Moment gelding October Date who is now one of the headline SA Derby nominees, looking to complete a double last achieved by Rebel Raider (2009).

All of the major Chairman’s Stakes graduates feature in the SA Derby nominations including the Mick Price-trained runner-up Maysoor who was beaten only a nose.

Visiting Fastnet Rock colt Maysoor jumped at juicy odds of 71/1 in the Chairman’s despite having finished fourth at the track in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) the run before.

He came devastatingly close to scoring a major boil over in the Anzac Day race last weekend, and stays around in South Australia for his Group 1 debut in the Derby.

A distant third in the Chairman’s Stakes beaten over four lengths was then the Ron Daniel-trained Chu Chu Charlie followed closely by the Phillip Stokes-trained duo of Time Walker (4th) and Thermogenic (5th).

All three of those horses are Derby-bound also, stepping up in both class and distance.

Another last start black type winner among the nominees is Lee & Anthony Freedman’s Authorized gelding Authoritarian who won the Listed VRC St Leger (2800m) at Flemington on Anzac Day.

Relishing the distance he won by over three lengths beating the Robbie Laing-trained Cuban Fighter (2nd) and Group 1 performed Kiwi Gifted Lad (3rd), two other Derby hopefuls.

Team Freedman have also nominated for Al Maher gelding Berserk who ran fourth behind his stablemate in the VRC St Leger.

Peter Moody also could saddle-up a nice type in Flying Spur colt Boom Time who is yet to race outside of WA, the former Trevor Andrews-trained Flying Spur colt looking for just his second win at start number 15 next time out.

Two back he finally broke his maiden status in the Listed Melvista Stakes (2200m) and then raced competitively when third to ace WA filly Delicacy, tested against the eastern state fillies in the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2400m) in Adelaide this weekend, in the Group 2 WATC Derby (2400m).

Delicacy is also a South Australian Derby chance with a number of other Schweppes Oaks acceptors nominated to take on the boys including Cathy’s Mark and Kansas Sunflower.

Other notable SA Derby nominees include Galilee Series Final winner Manapine along with second and third in that 2500m race at Flemington from April 11 – Oncidium Ruler (2nd) and All I Survey (3rd).

See below for the full South Australian Derby 2015 nominations, the final field due for release on Wednesday May 6.

Futures betting is set to open shortly at our preferred online bookmaker Ladbrokes.com.au so open your account now and get ready with a $250 bonus sign-up bet for new depositing players!

2015 South Australian Derby Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 09/05/2015

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AAGAS Todd Balfour 58
2 ALL I SURVEY Pat Carey 65
3 ALLERGIC John O’Shea 71
4 AUTHORITARIAN Lee & Anthony Freedman 72
5 BERSERK Lee & Anthony Freedman 61
6 BOOM TIME Peter G Moody 74
7 BROUHAHA Robert Smerdon 67
8 CATHY’S MARK Nigel Blackiston 66
9 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel 70
10 CINNAMON CARTER Robbie Laing 62
11 CRIMSON CAPE (NZ) Robert Smerdon 66
12 CUBAN FIGHTER Robbie Laing 65
13 DELICACY Grant Williams 90
14 GIFTED LAD (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 65
15 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 62
16 HIPSTER GIRL Jason Warren 65
17 KANSAS SUNFLOWER (NZ) Luke Oliver 72
18 LIGHT MOTION Robert Smerdon 64
19 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 66
20 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh 78
21 MALDONADO (NZ) Robbie Laing 62
22 MANAPINE Nigel Blackiston 71
23 MASTER OF MONEY Daniel Clarken 62
24 MAYSOOR Mick Price 63
25 NIMBOSTRATUS (NZ) Symon Wilde 66
26 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart 80
27 ONCIDIUM RULER Michael Kent 67
28 PERCY HENRY (NZ) Leigh Childs 61
29 PRIMA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope 70
30 RACING WRITER Shane Fliedner 61
31 SECOND OPTION Peter G Moody 68
32 SPUR ON GOLD Pat Carey 67
33 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes 62
34 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes 62
35 TRIPLE GOLD Peter G Moody 66
36 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy 65
37 ULTIMATE DOOM Ricky Maund 60
38 VALDEZ Graeme McCulloch & David Keating 61
39 VON CLASSIC HERO Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 66
40 WERTHER (NZ) Andrew R Campbell 86


Have your say, post a comment.