The 2015 Darley Crown Nominations

A host of promising fillies and established mares are nominated for one of the three Group 3 races on the Hawkesbury Gold Cup Day program this weekend, The 2015 Darley Crown.

Peace Force (inside), Mamwaazel (outside)

Peace Force (inside) and Mamwaazel (outside) are both nominated for Saturday’s 2015 The Darley Crown at Hawkesbury. Photo: Steve Hart.

There are a bumper 29 hopefuls making up the early entries for Saturday’s $150,000 Group 3 The 2015 Darley Crown (1300m) including a quartet for Chris Waller.

Waller has nominated for All Cerise, Belle De Coeur, the returning Calming Influence and Group 3 Belle Of The Turf winner earlier this year Mamwaazel.

One of the sure-to-be favourites at if accepted into the final field is the Kris Lees-trained Fine Bubbles, the Casino Prince five-year-old set to line-up in her 31st start.

A winner of five of those, she has a good record over the distance (10-3-4-1) and comes off improving form including her last start third when two lengths off the winner Avoid Lightning in the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes (1200m) at Randwick on April 11.

Lees has also nominated for Choisir six-year-old Scorpio Queen, runner-up in the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap (1400m) two back before failing to make an impression when dead last (10th) to Catkins in the Group 2 Emancipation Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill on March 28.

Gai Waterhouse has two nominees with her in-form Northern Meteor filly Najoom and More Than Ready filly Nayeli who are also both nominated for the $150,000 Group 3 Hawkesbury Guineas (1400m) at the meeting.

Gerald Ryan is another top Sydney trainer represented in this year’s Darley Crown by an exciting mare with his Bernardini five-year-old Peace Force coming off three straight wins in the summer before her second in the Group 3 Belle Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) at Gosford on January 9.

His other hopeful is then Street Cry four-year-old Solicit, fourth to Bonaria in last year’s Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m), but out to atone for an 11th when failing to beat home any of her rivals in the Group 3 Aspiration Quality (1600m) from March 7 where she walked home over 47 lengths off the winner.

Other notable entries include the in-form Tony McEvoy-trained local Chastened, Peter & Paul Snowden’s last start Randwick winner Dublin Lass, her stablemate Rose Of Choice, seven-year-old My Sabeel and Group 1 performed Peron for Peter Moody.

The full 2015 Darley Crown nominations can be found below, the final field and barrier draw set for release on Wednesday so stay tuned.

Before then why not treat yourself to a bonus welcome bet by opening a new account at and quoting the code BETBONUS to enjoy up to $250!

2015 The Darley Crown Nominations

Hawkesbury Racecourse – 02/05/2015

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ALL CERISE Chris Waller 79
2 BELLE DE COEUR Chris Waller 87
3 BOUND FOR EARTH David Vandyke 92
4 BOUZY ROUGE Luke Griffith 88
6 CHASTENED Tony McEvoy 66
7 COPY John O’Shea 74
8 DUBLIN LASS Peter & Paul Snowden 86
9 FINE BUBBLES Kris Lees 93
10 JUST AS COSMIC Jason Coyle 74
11 MAMWAAZEL Chris Waller 87
12 MANDALONG KISS Gary Nickson 70
13 MISSVONN Joseph Pride 75
14 MY SABEEL (NZ) Kevin Moses 88
15 NAJOOM Gai Waterhouse 75
16 NAYELI Gai Waterhouse 83
17 PEACE FORCE Gerald Ryan 88
18 PERON Peter G Moody 95
19 PROPER MADAM Joseph Pride 73
20 RAHY STORM (USA) Joseph Pride 66
21 ROSE OF CHOICE Peter & Paul Snowden 92
22 SCORPIO QUEEN Kris Lees 91
23 SLOTS Grant Marshall 75
24 SOLICIT Gerald Ryan 101
25 TRANSFERS John O’Shea 75
26 VERGARA Anthony Cummings 79
27 VILLA SPLENDIDO Garry White 71
28 WINGS Graeme Spackman 73
29 YOU ARE GOLDEN (IRE) Tony McEvoy 63


Have your say, post a comment.