Stradbroke-Bound Neo Wins 2015 Prime Minister’s Cup

April 25, 2015

Stradbroke-Bound Neo Wins 2015 Prime Minister’s Cup

Sunshine Coast trainer Stuart Kendrick is dreaming the 2015 Stradbroke Handicap dream with his smart sprinter Neo after the horse’s win in the Prime Minister’s Cup at the Gold Coast on Hollindale Stakes Day.


Prime Minister’s Cup winner Neo is in the mix for the 2015 Stradbroke Handicap on June 6 this winter. Photo: Daniel Costello.

In a race where, tragically, the favourite The Peak looked the likely winner traveling sweetly before breaking down, a gun ride from Jim Byrne got One Cool Cat five-year-old Neo to the line first in the $100,000 Listed Carlton Draught Prime Minister’s Cup (1400m).

The in-form Neo had been travelling towards a well-deserved win over the autumn with close runs around Queensland during March and his last start second behind Gundy Sun over the 1350m at Doomben on April 11.

He and Byrne were able to break a drought going back to a New Zealand win in the wet last April in the PM’s Cup though after getting a lovely run in third throughout.

“He’s done a great job,” Kendrick said.

“He’s had some bad gates, finally we got a good gate today.

“Up to the 1400m suits him.

“Jim gave him a great ride.”

The Bart & James Cummings-trained The Peak was one of the first to go from the gates, Brisbane hoop Damian Browne later doing an incredible job to pull the horse up when he broke his back hind leg 100m from the line and not cause interference to any of the other runners.

Roughie shot War Ends also began quickly and went up to lead together with the Glen Boss-ridden Final Crescendo.

The two highest-rated and weighted runners The Peak (57kg) and Ninth Legion (60.5kg) meanwhile were both caught deep off the pace.

Five hundred metres from home approaching the turn, Neo began to peel out from three deep beside The Peak who was still four deep at the top of the straight.

With 200m to go Neo ($7) went up, just before The Peak broke down, to race off and score just ahead of a very brave Ninth Legion ($4.20) whose performance with the big weight was unbelievable.

Tony Gollan’s last start Doomben winner Gundy Spirit ($9), ridden by Tegan Harrison, finished off the minor placings in third having run home strongly down the outside over the closing stages.

Impressed with the Prime Minister’s Cup result, Kendrick confirmed they were still looking at a June 6 run at Doomben Racecourse in Queensland’s richest race – the $2 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1350m), with Neo who could next start in the $125,000 Group 3 BRC Sprint (1350m) on Doomben Cup Day on May 9.

“He’s a tough horse, he’s thrived since his last run and he put it all together today,” Kendrick said.

“We’ve got him nominated for the Stradbroke so that’s not off the cards now.”

To get behind more Gold Coast and Brisbane winners at the right price this winter, make sure you’ve got an account open online at where first time depositing players are rewarded with up to $250 on bonus bets!

2015 Prime Minister’s Cup Results & Finishing Order

Gold Coast Race 5 – 25/04/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 7 NEO (NZ) Stuart Kendrick Jim Byrne 5 54kg $6
2 1 NINTH LEGION Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Blake Shinn 1L 11 60.5kg $4.20
3 6 GUNDY SPIRIT Tony Gollan Tegan Harrison 1.8L 13 54kg $7
4 12 BODEGA NEGRA Bruce W Hill Glen Colless 2L 14 54kg $31
5 3 EPIC Kelly Schweida Luke Tarrant (a) 2.1L 10 56kg $26
6 9 JOPA Robert Heathcote Paul Hammersley 4.4L 8 54kg $13
7 5 FINAL CRESCENDO David Kelly Glen Boss 5.2L 4 54kg $9
8 13 WAR ENDS Maryann Brosnan Michael Cahill 7.2L 6 54kg $41
9 8 GRAYSON SQUARE (NZ) Brian Wakefield Jason Taylor 7.4L 2 54kg $12
10 11 BILLY AUCASH Brian Smith Ryan Wiggins 8.4L 12 54kg $101
11 4 JETSET LAD (NZ) Brian Smith Anthony Allen 9.4L 3 56kg $21
12 10 PERFECT PUNCH Maryann Brosnan Ric McMahon 9.6L 1 54kg $51
13 14 KEREDARI (IRE) Marcus Wilson Jeff Lloyd 10.9L 9 54kg $101
FF 2 THE PEAK Bart & James Cummings Damian Browne 7 57kg $4F

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field