Big Tree Scores Big Upset in 2015 Ken Russell Memorial Classic

April 25, 2015

Big Tree Scores Big Upset in 2015 Ken Russell Memorial Classic

Former Brisbane trainer, the now Gold Coast-based Peter Balzen celebrated his second feature win at his local track with promising two-year-old Big Tree scoring an upset win in the Ken Russell Memorial Classic 2015 on A.D. Hollindale Stakes Day.

Big Tree

Big Tree Wins the 2015 Ken Russell Memorial Classic at huge odds on the Gold Coast for trainer Peter Balzen. PHoto: Daniel Costello.

Markets for this year’s $125,000 Group 3 Moreton Hire Ken Russel Memorial Classic (1200m) were firmly led by Gai Waterhouse’s filly Regatta Rebel through

She ran second on a mud Sydney track on debut behind Furnaces in the Group 3 Kindergarten Stakes, and was short odds from her nice barrier four draw to win second-up in the Ken Russell in Queensland.

Jockey Blake Shinn had the favourite first out of the gates pinging away well along with the locally-trained duo of Big Tree and Redsson who were also fast from the barriers.

It was 61-1 outsider Big Tree who took up the lead, the Michael Cahill-ridden Snitzel colt happy to set the strong pace ahead of Regatta Rebel who was tracking second on the outside.

With 400m to go at the top of the straight Big Tree was tackled by Regatta Rebel, but he simply wouldn’t let her past.

There were plenty of chances over the closing stages with some sweeping runs home, but failing to give up was the deserving winner Big Tree ($61) in front of the previously undefeated Liam Birchley-trained market mover Blueberry Hill ($7)

Regatta Rebel ($2.40) was also far from disgraced running third, despite looming up like she was going to do something on the home turn.

Cahill simply bounced to the lead early with Big Tree, held off the challengers and ran home very strongly in an all-the-way win that could see the Gold Coast galloper head up to Brisbane chasing more winter riches next.

“Five mintues of stardom!” Balzen said post-win.

“We bred the horse, it’s like one of your kids, so really excited.

“Michael said he really liked his trials, so that always makes your world.

“(He was in) the express lane!”

Balzen’s other notable Gold Coast winner was Tiger Hill mare Punch On who won the $1 million Magic Millions 3YO Guineas (1400m) as a filly here back in 2012.

Now he could have a genuine Group 1 contender in Big Tree, the Ken Russell Memorial Classic an early lead-up to the $600,000 Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m) at Doomben on Stradbroke Day, June 6, for those juveniles that prove themselves over more ground.

The last horse to complete the Ken Russell – JJ Atkins double was Sizzling, who also won the Group 2 Champagne Classic (1200m) and Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) on way back in 2012.

The 2015 Champagne Classic on Doomben Cup Day, May 9, and the BRC Sires’ this year on May 23 could also be on Big Tree’s winter agenda.

To get behind your favourites in the upcoming Brisbane feature races over the winter at the guaranteed best price, visit and don’t forget to quote the code BETBONUS when you make your first deposit to have it matched 100% up to $250!

2015 Ken Russell Memorial Classic Results & Finishing Order

Gold Coast Race 6 – 25/04/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 7 BIG TREE Peter Balzen Michael Cahill 2 57kg $61
2 10 BLUEBERRY HILL Liam Birchley Larry Cassidy 0.3L 8 55kg $7
3 12 REGATTA REBEL Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 0.5L 3 55kg $2.40F
4 11 LOOK TO THE STARS Clarry Conners Luke Tarrant (a) 0.7L 7 55kg $9
5 9 MADOTTI Matthew Dunn Glen Colless 1.1L 13 55kg $17
6 4 THE WILDMAN Mick Mair Tegan Harrison 2.1L 4 57kg $18
7 15 VALUCHY Clarry Conners Jim Byrne 2.6L 9 55kg $17
8 14 MILITARY MISS Gillian Heinrich Ric McMahon 3.6L 12 55kg $51
9 17e ONE MORE MAGIC Kim Craft Jason Taylor 3.9L 11 55kg $81
10 3 MONTANA STAR Stuart Kendrick Daniel Griffin 4.9L 5 57kg $31
11 13 DENPURR Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 5.4L 10 55kg $8
12 5 REDSSON Bruce W Hill Matthew McGuren (a) 5.6L 6 57kg $10
13 6 LIKE A RULER Danny J Bougoure Paul Hammersley 6.9L 1 57kg $61
16 TYPING Stuart Kendrick Glen Boss 0
1 WICKED INTENT Chris Munce Damian Browne 0
8 ARROGANT BOY Gillian Heinrich Damien Oliver 0
2 SAMPEAH John O’Shea Hugh Bowman 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field