2015 SA Derby Next for Chairman’s Stakes Winner October Date

April 25, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2015 SA Derby Next for Chairman’s Stakes Winner October Date

A come-from-behind win from the Nick Smart-trained October Date has confirmed a Group 1 SA Derby target this Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival for the improving three-year-old.

The course proper at Morphettville hosted the traditional Derby lead-up on Anzac Day with a field of young hopefuls facing off in the $115,000 Group 3 South Australian Chairman’s Stakes (2020m).

Eventual last-past-the-post in the set weights clash, the Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas-trained Frank Heavens was up on the speed early from his barrier three draw leading them around in the Chairman’s.

Lee & Shannon Hope’s lightly-framed Sir Percy gelding Prima debuted down under, his seven previous runs all being back in New Zealand, and he was handy from the start getting up to sit second on the outside of the frontrunner.

In third was Lucques while the red hot favourite Magicool, fifth in the Group 1 Victorian Derby (2500m) in Melbourne last November and coming off a Caulfield win, went right back to last by the time they were on the back straight.

Making up ground after settling to move from fifth to third was Beau’s My Boy for John O’Connor who had apprentice jockey Sigrid Carr aboard in the important Group 3 autumn clash.

Second favourite in the markets, October Date meanwhile was sitting third last as they worked their way into the turn for home ridden by Shayne Cahill.

At the top of the straight it was the former Kiwi Prima leading them towards the line, Magicool still fourth last and never working his way into the scene for the punters.

October Date ($4.20) charged down the outside over the closing stages coming after the likes of Beau’s My Boy and the Phillip Stokes-trained Time Walker who were making their way into the clear.

The Chairman’s quickly turned into a two horse war over the final few hundred metres with October Date and Mick Price’s Fastnet Rock colt from Melbourne Maysoor ($61), coming off a distant fourth behind Jim’s Journey in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) from April 11.

The two went at it stride for stride, the long-priced roughie Maysoor looking to come back in a desperately tight finish before a photo revealed October Date as the Chairman’s Stakes winner by a nose.

Third was Ron Daniel’s Chu Chu Charlie ($26), ridden by Jake Toeroek, who finished top three for the ninth time to keep his perfect 100% Place Rate in check.

October Date is now right on track for an elite level test in the $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville on May 9, a race last year’s winner Kushadasi won on the back of a Chairman’s Stakes fourth.

The Chairman’s Stakes has produced three of the past six SA Derby winners, with the last to complete the double being Rebel Raider (2009).

To get behind October Date at the best price in the South Australian Derby betting markets visit our preferred online sportsbook Ladbrokes.com.au today and open your account with the bookie rewarding new depositing players with up to $250 in bonus bets!

2015 Chairman’s Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Morphettville Race 7 – 25/04/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 3 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 8 57.5kg $4.20
2 17e MAYSOOR Mick Price Troy Baker 0.1L 12 57.5kg $71
3 4 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel Jake Toeroek (a) 4.2L 5 57.5kg $31
4 15 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes Paul Gatt 4.2L 7 57.5kg $21
5 9 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 4.4L 11 57.5kg $8
6 6 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 4.5L 13 57.5kg $8.50
7 12 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Todd Pannell 5L 15 57.5kg $31
8 1 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh Joe Bowditch 6.8L 2 57.5kg $3.20F
9 11 THE NARCISSIST Darren Weir John Allen 7.5L 1 57.5kg $15
10 8 VALDEZ Graeme McCulloch & David Keating Simon Price 8.1L 14 57.5kg $61
11 5 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Noel Callow 8.6L 6 57.5kg $11
12 14 SUPERHEIST John A O’Connor Harry Coffey (a) 9.7L 4 57.5kg $81
13 7 BEAU’S MY BOY Jon O’Connor Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 9.8L 9 57.5kg $31
14 13 MAKO MAGIC Craig Curtis Jeffrey Maund 10L 10 57.5kg $61
15 2 PRIMA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Dean Yendall 10.6L 16 57.5kg $6
16 18e FRANK HEAVENS Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Ronnie Stewart 20.2L 3 57.5kg $201
16 HUSSON’S SHOUT Phillip Stokes Todd Pannell 0
10 MALDONADO (NZ) Robbie Laing 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field