Magicool Leads 2015 Chairman’s Stakes Field

Mark Kavanagh’s last start Melbourne winner Magicool leads a full field of three-year-olds facing off in the Chairman’s Stakes 2015 at Morphettville in Adelaide this Saturday.


Magicool will carry the number one saddlecloth in Saturday’s 2015 Chairman’s Stakes in Adelaide. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

An early Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival lead-up for young guns heading towards the lucrative $500,000 Group 1 SA Derby (2500m) on May 3, this year’s $115,000 Group 3 Quayclean Chairman’s Stakes (2020m) features 16 starters plus two emergencies.

Joe Bowditch rides Kavanagh’s progressive Fastnet Rock gelding Magicool, fifth to Preferment in the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) at Flemington last November, from a nice barrier two draw replacing Patrick Moloney who was aboard for the Victorian raider’s 2000m win at Caulfield last time out on April 4.

Also coming off a last start win are the Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra-trained High Chaparral colt Lucques with winning form up to 1850m, Darren Weir’s Turffontein gelding The Narcissist and Superheist for Murray Bridge horseman John O’Connor who won over 2100m at Gawler earlier in the month.

Suffering an early blow with the outside Chairman’s Stakes barrier draw was the Lee & Shannon Hope-trained Prima with Dean Yendall booked to ride the Sir Percy gelding in his maiden run outside of New Zealand.

Also drawn wide in the Chairman’s this weekend are the likes of the Tony McEvoy-trained perennial placegetter Turbo Street (15) who ran second in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) on April 11, 13th in that traditional lead-up into the Chairman’s Valdez (16) and Grumpy Guru (17).

Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas’s Al Maher gelding Grumpy Guru raced over the mile at Balaklava on April 15 running third and is out over more distance this weekend with top local hoop Clare Lindop in the saddle.

Phillip Stokes meanwhile saddles up Time Walker and Husson’s Shout drawn in gates seven and 14 respectively, the local stablemates rounding out the confirmed starters, along with Thermogenic.

Thermogenic is a Dom Tourneur mount in barrier 12, the Northern Meteor colt coming off a fifth in the Port Adelaide Guineas with improvement tipped for this weekend.

Other notable chances include the Nick Smart-trained October Date coming off a fourth in the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) at Moonee Valley from March 20 and the consistent Ron Daniel-trained Chu Chu Charlie in barrier five with a jockey still to be confirmed for the Port Fairy-based gelding.

See below for the full SA Chairman’s Stakes 2015 field, barriers and jockeys.

Then for all the autumn’s hottest horse racing markets visit and quote the code BETBONUS when you make your first deposit to also have it matched up to $250 as a bonus bet!

2015 Chairman’s Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 (4:13pm) – 25/04/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 12155×8461 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh Joe Bowditch 2 57.5kg 79
2 043202 PRIMA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Dean Yendall 18 57.5kg 70
3 19×214 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 8 57.5kg 69
4 23221×12 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel TBA 5 57.5kg 68
5 6×5123091 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Noel Callow 6 57.5kg 67
6 57160×2022 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 15 57.5kg 65
7 242054×319 BEAU’S MY BOY Jon O’Connor Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 9 57.5kg 64
8 x471743230 VALDEZ Graeme McCulloch & David Keating Simon Price 16 57.5kg 62
9 0145×325 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 12 57.5kg 62
10 7816 MALDONADO (NZ) Robbie Laing TBA 11 57.5kg 62
11 5431 THE NARCISSIST Darren Weir John Allen 1 57.5kg 62
12 70×713 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 17 57.5kg 62
13 24x8x9619 MAKO MAGIC Craig Curtis Jeffrey Maund 10 57.5kg 61
14 8×05721 SUPERHEIST John A O’Connor Harry Coffey (a) 4 57.5kg 61
15 6×310 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes Paul Gatt 7 57.5kg 60
16 36×2140 HUSSON’S SHOUT Phillip Stokes Todd Pannell 14 57.5kg 59
17e 7x5x624 MAYSOOR Mick Price TBA 13 57.5kg 59
18e 69159×9707 FRANK HEAVENS Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Ronnie Stewart 3 57.5kg 54


Have your say, post a comment.