SA Derby Hopes Nominated for 2015 Chairman’s Stakes

April 21, 2015

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

SA Derby Hopes Nominated for 2015 Chairman’s Stakes

A host of South Australian Derby hopes are nominated for a lead-up run at Morphettville Racecourse in the Chairman’s Stakes 2015 on Saturday this Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

Jim's Journey

Port Adelaide Guineas winner Jim’s Journey is nominated to back up in the 2015 Chairman’s Stakes at Morphettville this weekend. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

The headline race at the Morphettville main track on the weekend, this year’s $115,000 Group 3 Quayclean Chairman’s Stakes (2020m) attracted a bumper 24 nominations that will be cut to a capacity 16-starter, four-emergency field at final acceptance stage on Wednesday.

The set weights race for three-year-olds is the traditional lead-up race for the lucrative $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) back at the track on May 9, a double last completed by Rebel Raider (2009).

Last autumn’s SA Derby winner Kushadasi was also a Chairman’s Stakes graduate having run fourth in his lead-up run.

Winner of the Chairman’s Stakes 12 months ago meanwhile was Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas-trained Gamblin’ Guru who went on to run fourth in the SA Derby.

He completed a three-year-old Adelaide autumn double with the Chairman’s win having come off a victory in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) a fortnight earlier.

This year’s Port Adelaide Guineas winner was the Peter Blanch-trained Good Journey gelding Jim’s Journey out for the same double Gamblin’ Guru achieved 12 months ago.

The Port Adelaide Guineas was the youngster’s maiden black type assignment at start number nine and he was impressive when winning by nearly a length in his first look at further than a mile.

Also coming out of the Port Adelaide Guineas are the likes of the Tony McEvoy-trained runner-up Turbo Street who has winning form up to 1700m and Phillip Stokes’ fifth placed Northern Meteor colt Thermogenic.

Top local trainer Stokes has also nominated for Time Walker and Husson’s Shout who ran 12th and 14th respectively in the Port Adelaide Guineas.

A number of the local Adelaide-based three-year-old Chairman’s Stakes nominees have interstate form this season including the Nick Smart-trained October Date coming off a brave fourth to Chill Part in the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) at Moonee Valley on March 20.

Of the interstate raiders nominated for the Chairman’s Stakes some of the more notable include the Mark Kavanagh-trained Group 1 Victoria Derby fifth placed Magicool coming off a 2000m Caulfield win, Lee & Shannon Hope’s New Zealand expat Prima and the Pat Carey-trained All I Survey who ran third in a Flemington stakes race over 2500m on April 11.

Last year’s Chairman’s Stakes winning training team Macdonald & Gluyas meanwhile are back with two entries this season with in-form Al Maher gelding Grumpy Guru and Frank Heavens.

See below for the full Chairman’s Stakes 2015 nominations and ballot.

Want access to the autumn’s best horse racing markets in SA? Then visit now and open your account with the online bookie rewarding first time depositing players with a $250 bonus bet!

2015 Chairman’s Stakes Nominations

Morphettville – 25/04/2015

# Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh 1 57.5kg 79
2 JIM’S JOURNEY Peter F Blanch 2 57.5kg 74
3 PRIMA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope 3 57.5kg 70
4 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart 4 57.5kg 69
5 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel 5 57.5kg 68
6 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 6 57.5kg 67
7 SPUR ON GOLD Pat Carey 7 57.5kg 67
8 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy 8 57.5kg 65
9 ALL I SURVEY Pat Carey 9 57.5kg 65
10 BEAU’S MY BOY Jon O’Connor 10 57.5kg 64
11 DECONSTRUCTED Mark Kavanagh 11 57.5kg 64
12 VALDEZ Graeme McCulloch & David Keating 12 57.5kg 62
13 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes 13 57.5kg 62
14 MASTER OF MONEY Daniel Clarken 14 57.5kg 62
15 MALDONADO (NZ) Robbie Laing 15 57.5kg 62
16 THE NARCISSIST Darren Weir 16 57.5kg 62
17 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 17 57.5kg 62
18 MAKO MAGIC Craig Curtis 18 57.5kg 61
19 SILVER EAGLE Peter G Moody 19 57.5kg 61
20 SUPERHEIST John A O’Connor 20 57.5kg 61
21 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes 21 57.5kg 60
22 HUSSON’S SHOUT Phillip Stokes 22 57.5kg 59
23 MAYSOOR Mick Price 23 57.5kg 59
24 FRANK HEAVENS Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 24 57.5kg 54

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field