Fitocracy scores boilover win in 2015 Auraria Stakes

April 18, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Fitocracy scores boilover win in 2015 Auraria Stakes

The Jon O’Conner trained Fitrocracy scored a boilover win when she took the Group 3 $115,000 Schweppervescence Stakes (Registered as Auraria Stakes) (1800m) at Morphettville today.

Jockey Todd Pannell was able to lift the $31 outsider in the final few strides to down well fancied Kansas Sunflower ($6) by a nose with another roughie Choix De Maia ($15) back in third spot.

Both Fitocracy and Kansas Sunflower will now head to the Group 1 $400,000 Schweppes Oaks (2000m) at Morphettville on May 2 with high hopes of winning the fillies’ Group 1 Classic.

The Gai Waterhouse trained  set the pace with Blake Sprigs looking for another all the way win after the pair combined to win the Listed $80,000 Mitty;s Laelia Stakes (1600m) at Morphettville on March 28.

But the Manhattan Rain filly had enough shortly after entering the straight and faded to miss a place and finish in sixth spot.

Brad Rawiller looked like he had the race in his keeping on Kansas Sunflower after he cut the corner when most of the field went wide on the home turn and shot away in the straight before getting run down by the determined Fitocracy.

Race favourite, the Team Hawkes trained Maastricht ($2.80) was given the perfect ride by Joe Bowditch in third and fourth spot just behind the leaders.

But after challenging on the point of the turn failed to run on in the straight and wound up in ninth position, six and a quarter lengths from the winner.

Fitocray recorded her third win from thirteen starts and the Denman filly obviously appreciated the step up in distance today after being beaten four and quarter lengths when seventh to Ondina in the Laelia Stakes.

Kansas Sunflower has been a model of consistency for the Luke Oliver stable collecting her fifth prizemoney cheque from her last five starts which includes a maiden win at Yarra Valley on March 15 and a win at Flemington over 1600m against the fillies before heading to Morphettville.

2015 Auraria Stakes results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 10 FITOCRACY Jon O’Connor Todd Pannell 13 54kg $31
2 2 KANSAS SUNFLOWER (NZ) Luke Oliver Jake Noonan 0.1L 1 55.5kg $6
3 8 CHOIX DE MAIA (NZ) Pat Carey Harry Coffey (a) 2.5L 10 54kg $15
4 9 CATHY’S MARK Nigel Blackiston James Winks 4.6L 15 54kg $11
5 5 REDASUN Greg Eurell Clare Lindop 5.3L 14 54kg $8
6 1 ONDINA Gai Waterhouse Blake Spriggs 5.4L 6 55.5kg $13
7 12 COACHELLA (NZ) Phillip Stokes Jake Toeroek (a) 5.5L 16 54kg $16
8 18 OKAHU BAY Phillip Stokes Ronnie Stewart 5.6L 4 54kg $71
9 4 MAASTRICHT (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Joe Bowditch 6.2L 5 54kg $2.80F
10 6 TRY YOUR BEST (NZ) Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 6.9L 9 54kg $31
11 14 FINDA FITTER FILLY John & Chris Ledger Simon Price 7.5L 17 54kg $26
12 16 KEEP THE KLASS (NZ) Darren Weir Ms Michelle Payne 7.5L 8 54kg $21
12 11 DEANNA JEAN Shane Oxlade Justin Potter 7.5L 18 54kg $51
14 20e ALBORBROWN John Hyam Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 19.4L 3 54kg $81
15 19e MONOPOLE Tony McEvoy Ben Claridge 20.4L 11 54kg $41
16 7 HIPSTER GIRL Jason Warren Paul Gatt 20.9L 12 54kg $31
17 13 INTO THE MIST Tony McEvoy Jason Holder 21.2L 2 54kg $12
18 15 CASHLA BAY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Cory Parish 25.7L 7 54kg $61

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field