Ondina Leads 2015 Auraria Stakes Field

April 15, 2015

Ondina Leads 2015 Auraria Stakes Field

Gai Waterhouse’s last start Morphettville winner Ondina returns to Adelaide’s premier track on RN Irwin Stakes Day this Saturday leading a quality field for this year’s Auraria Schweppervescene Stakes 2015.

Ondina (inside)

Ondina (inside) is the headline filly in Saturday’s 2015 Auraria Stakes in Adelaide. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Due to jump as Morphettville Race 7 at 4:23pm (SA time) this year’s $115,000 Group 3 Schweppervescence Stakes (1800m), registered as the Auraria Stakes, features a capacity field of 18 starters plus four other three-year-old fillies sweating on a scratching to make the line-up.

News earlier this week confirmed the Robert Smerdon-trained Australasian Oaks-bound Fontein Ruby would miss the Auraria Stakes on Saturday in favour of a run at home at Caulfield, leaving Waterhouse’s daughter of Manhattan Rain Ondina as the headline interstate raider.

Ondina raced at the track on March 28 and scored a neck win in the Listed Laeila Stakes (1600m), an effort she’s out to repeat on Saturday when stepped out over more distance.

She sees the 1800m for the first time and Blake Spriggs retains the mount, Ondina drawn in barrier eight with a possible gate six start beckoning if the emergencies fail to gain a run by jump time.

The two fillies that finished second and third respectively behind the Laeila Stakes winner in the lead-up to Saturday’s clash, Into The Mist and Cathy’s Mark are both also accepted to take Ondina on again in the Auraria Stakes.

The Tony McEvoy-trained Redoute’s Choice filly Into The Mist has come up trumps with gate two for the rematch with Jason Holder retaining the ride on the lightly raced runner lining up for just her fourth career run.

Cathy’s Mark is draw much, much wider with barrier 19 (into 15) to overcome but the distance to do so out over the 1800m.

The Nigel Blackiston-trained Melbourne visitor has run third in both her autumn runs to date and is out over further than a mile for the first time also.

Along with Ondina there are two other last start winners confirmed a run in the Auraria Stakes on Saturday with Luke Oliver’s flying Kansas Sunflower and the Greg Eurell-trained Redasun.

Kansas Sunflower is a Brad Rawiller mount and has drawn the rails on the weekend for her maiden Adelaide run, the grey-brown daughter of Mastercraftsman coming off a mile win at Flemington from just last Saturday.

Redasun meanwhile is drawn out in 17 (into 12) and shoots for her third win on the trot after back-to-back victories over 1600m at Sandown-Lakeside in Melbourne this time in.

Another headliner coming off ace lead-up form is the Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained Maastricht drawn well in barrier five for jockey Joe Bowditch.

The grey filly comes off two good Group 3 thirds during the autumn interstate carnivals having crossed just one and a half lengths off Chill Party in Moonee Valley’s Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) last month before her brave effort to Candelara in the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes (2000m) in the wet at Randwick on April 6.

See below for the bumper Schweppervescence Auraria Stakes 2015 field along with the full barrier draw and jockeys.

Then for all the weekend’s hottest racing markets plus a $250 free bet bonus upon sign-up head to Ladbrokes.com.au and quote the code BETBONUS when opening your account with the country’s premier bookmaker!

2015 Auraria Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 (4:23pm) – 18/04/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 013181 ONDINA Gai Waterhouse Blake Spriggs 8 55.5kg 76
2 5x2453x131 KANSAS SUNFLOWER (NZ) Luke Oliver Brad Rawiller 1 55.5kg 70
3 6x1106x08 SEBRELLA Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra TBA 18 55.5kg 66
4 x122x45333 MAASTRICHT (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Joe Bowditch 5 54kg 77
5 4×54811 REDASUN Greg Eurell Clare Lindop 17 54kg 69
6 6x1921x915 TRY YOUR BEST (NZ) Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 11 54kg 69
7 4336484×35 HIPSTER GIRL Jason Warren Paul Gatt 15 54kg 67
8 x360x61168 CHOIX DE MAIA (NZ) Pat Carey Harry Coffey (a) 13 54kg 67
9 8x1270x33 CATHY’S MARK Nigel Blackiston James Winks 19 54kg 66
10 x23274x477 FITOCRACY Jon O’Connor Todd Pannell 16 54kg 65
11 23446×122 DEANNA JEAN Shane Oxlade Justin Potter 22 54kg 65
12 06x123x396 COACHELLA (NZ) Phillip Stokes Matthew Neilson 20 54kg 65
13 162 INTO THE MIST Tony McEvoy Jason Holder 2 54kg 64
14 14×683 FINDA FITTER FILLY John & Chris Ledger Simon Price 21 54kg 63
15 148 CASHLA BAY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Cory Parish 9 54kg 63
16 9442×32215 KEEP THE KLASS (NZ) Darren Weir Ms Michelle Payne 10 54kg 62
17 2×162208 EXALTED HONEY Karen Byrnes Krystal Bishop (a) 7 54kg 62
18 7712×034 OKAHU BAY Phillip Stokes Ronnie Stewart 4 54kg 61
19e 7×2273 MONOPOLE Tony McEvoy TBA 14 54kg 61
20e 5x0071x58 ALBORBROWN John Hyam Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 3 54kg 61
21e 55x3915x63 DE LAGO HERIZ Lloyd Kennewell TBA 12 54kg 60
22e 341 UNFURL (NZ) Darren Weir TBA 6 54kg 60

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field