2015 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide & Preview

April 1, 2015

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2015 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide & Preview

A quartet of Group 1 races are batting for the punters’ attention in Sydney on Easter Saturday and while the Doncaster Mile is the meeting’s marquee event, the TJ Smith Stakes 2015 threatens to steal the show.


Terravista boasts three wins from as many starts over the track and distance ahead of Saturday’s 2015 TJ Smith Stakes in Sydney. Photo: Steve Hart.

The superstar sprinters are down to face off in Randwick Race 8 at 4:30pm (AEDT), the $2.5 million Group 1 Darley TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) drawing a final field of 11 this autumn.

Day 1 of The Championships is a beauty and the class in the TJ Smith Stakes reflects that including the current $2.90 favourite Chautauqua who is full of potential chasing his maiden Group 1 win.

The Team Hawkes-trained four-year-old won a Group 2 in Melbourne first-up before a Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) second, making him a dual Flemington Group 1 runner-up thanks also to his Darley Classic finish back in November.

He’s just been off them and won’t be far behind this weekend, especially with Chris Waller’s Newmarket Handicap winner Brazen Beau out of the mix.

So who does he have to beat this weekend?

The TJ Smith Stakes betting markets at Ladbrokes.com.au say his main threats are Darley Classic winner Terravista ($3.10) for Joe Pride, last year’s winning Lankan Rupee ($5) and Gai Waterhouse’s class mare Sweet Idea ($6.50) who is the early market mover.

Does the TJ Smith Stakes form guide and betting history tell the same story?

2015 TJ Smith Stakes Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s TJ Smith Stakes winner was the Mick Price-trained Lankan Rupee who came off a Newmarket Handicap win, jumped from barrier one and had Craig Newitt in the saddle
  • This year #1 Lankan Rupee ($5) returns after back-to-back TJ Smith Stakes wins, success making him the first to do it in successive years
  • Black Caviar won dual editions of the race but on non-successive years (2011 and 2013)
  • Last year’s winning hoop Craig Newitt stays on after back-to-back wins in the classic also
  • Other previous TJ Smith Stakes winning jockeys with a ride this year are: Hugh Bowman (10-1-1-2) aboard #2 Terravista and Craig Williams (4-1-0-1) on #8 Rain Affair
  • Along with Price (2-1-0-0) and his defending champ the other former TJ Smith Stakes winning trainers with a runner this year are: Gai Waterhouse (10-3-1-2) with #10 Sweet Idea, Joe Pride (10-1-1-0) with #2 Terravista, #4 Tiger Tees and #6 Rain Affair, and John Hawkes (14-1-2-1) who saddles-up #3 Chautauqua with sons Wayne & Michael
  • Last year’s winning barrier (1) this year belongs to outsider #5 Famous Seamus ($41) and also produced Black Caviar for her second win in 2013
  • The most successful TJ Smith Stakes barrier in history meanwhile is five with five winners – #10 Sweet Idea ($6.50) has the coveted gate this year
  • This year horses coming out of the Newmarket Handicap are Chautauqua (2nd), Terravista (3rd), Lord Of The Sky (4th) and Lankan Rupee (6th)
  • Favourites have a gun TJ Smith Stakes record with four saluting in the past 10 years; this year’s favourite out to continue the trend and become the third straight to win is #3 Chautauqua ($2.90)
  • #2 Terravista (64%) boasts the highest Win Rate of the field followed by #1 Lankan Rupee (50%)
  • The highest Place Rate belongs to #10 Sweet Idea (84%) followed closely by #3 Chautauqua (83%), #2 Terravista (79%) and #1 Lankan Rupee (77%)
  • Horses with the best record at Randwick are: #2 Terravista (4-4-0-0), #10 Sweet Idea (4-3-0-0), #5 Famous Seamus (10-3-0-3), #8 Rain Affair (11-2-3-1), #4 Tiger Tees (9-2-1-1) and #1 Lankan Rupee (1-1-0-0)
  • Over the distance (1200m) those to beat are: #5 Famous Seamus (18-5-1-4), #1 Lankan Rupee (10-4-1-2), #2 Terravista (6-4-0-1), #4 Tiger Tees (11-4-0-1), #8 Rain Affair (11-4-2-0), #10 Sweet Idea (8-3-3-1), #6 Fontelina (10-3-1-0) and #3 Chautauqua (8-2-5-0)
  • Previous winners at the track & distance are then: #2 Terravista (3-3-0-0), #10 Sweet Idea (3-2-0-0), #8 Rain Affair (6-2-1-0), #1 Lankan Rupee (1-1-0-0), #4 Tiger Tees (3-1-0-0) and #5 Famous Seamus (4-1-0-1)

Stay tuned for the Races.com.au team’s insider TJ Smith Stakes 2015 betting tips up shortly.

In the meantime head along to Ladbrokes.com.au and open an account quoting the code BETBONUS with the country’s leading bookie to enjoy a $250 free bonus bet on the house!

2015 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field