Lankan Rupee Tops 2015 TJ Smith Stakes Field

March 31, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Lankan Rupee Tops 2015 TJ Smith Stakes Field

Five-time Group 1 winning sprinter Lankan Rupee wears the number one saddlecloth in a star-studded field of 11 for the TJ Smith Stakes 2015 at Royal Randwick on Saturday.

Lankan Rupee

Defending champ Lankan Rupee is after back-to-back TJ Smith Stakes win this weekend at Randwick Racecourse. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

One of four Group 1 showdowns headlining the action of Day One of The Championships this weekend, the $2.5 million Group 1 Darley TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) is due to jump as Race 8 at 4:30pm (AEDT) and is shaping up as the event of the day.

Mick Price saddles up one of the dominant three in the markets at, Redoute’s Choice gelding Lankan Rupee after his incredible sixth Group 1 trophy this weekend where his winnings will surpass the $4 million mark.

He defends his title in the TJ Smith Stakes having won it 12 months ago on the back of a Group 1 sprint double in Melbourne taking out both the Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Handicap.

Lankan Rupee jumped from barrier one and carried 58.5kg for his win last Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival as the short-priced favourite, the third favourite in four years to win the short-distance feature.

On Saturday he is drawn in barrier four, which last produced a winner in 2012 with Master Of Design, with jockey Craig Newitt also looking for back-to-back TJ Smith Stakes victories.

A first-up winner of the Group 1 Lightning Stakes (1000m) down the Flemington straight, Lankan Rupee comes via the Newmarket Handicap again this year but needs to improve on his disappointing sixth in that lead-up won by superstar colt Brazen Beau.

The best Newmarket Handicap performer backing up along with Lankan Rupee in the TJ Smith Stakes in Sydney meanwhile is the Team Hawkes-trained runner-up Chautauqua who has been leading the markets for Saturday.

Jockey Tommy Berry shoots for his maiden TJ Smith Stakes win aboard the smart Encosta De Lago four-year-old, a recent winner of the Group 2 Rubiton Stakes (1100m) at Caulfield, who races in Sydney for the first time in 12 months.

Chautauqua jumps from a wide barrier nine draw however, the last TJ Smith Stakes winner to jump from further out than barrier 7 being Spinning Hill (barrier 11, 2003).

The world’s equal highest-rated sprinter along with Lankan Rupee, Terravista is the other big name acceptor in the TJ Smith Stakes on Saturday.

The Joe Pride-trained Captain Rio five-year-old however will need every ounce of his class after drawing barrier 10 of 11.

Winner of the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) during the Melbourne Cup Carnival last November defeating both Chautauqua (2nd) and Lankan Rupee (3rd), Terravista comes off a first-up third in the Newmarket and boasts a gun second-up record of three wins from four starts.

Pride also saddles-up Tiger Tees in barrier two with in-form Sydney hoop James McDonald booked for the ride on the Dubawi seven-year-old out to atone for a dead last behind 2015 Doncaster Mile hope Cosmic Endeavour in the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m) from March 7.

Gai Waterhouse meanwhile saddles-up the only other genuine hope according to the bookies, Sydney’s leading lady of racing after her fourth TJ Smith Stakes victory this year with Sweet Idea.

The ultra-consistent Snitzel mare ran second in the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) over the Flemington mile during the spring before returning on March 21 at Rosehill with a commanding win in the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m).

She’s after back-to-back Sydney Group 1 sprint wins then on the weekend and jumps from a midfield barrier five draw with Brazilian hoop Joao Moreira in the saddle.

Check out the full TJ Smith Stakes 2015 field, barriers and jockeys for the weight-for-age showdown below then head over to our preferred online betting agency to get behind your Saturday race selections at the guaranteed best odds!

2015 TJ Smith Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Randwick Race 8 (4:30pm) – 04/04/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 11x2213x16 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 4 58.5kg 118
2 110x1151x3 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Hugh Bowman 10 58.5kg 112
3 715x112x12 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 9 58.5kg 111
4 1437x112x8 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride James McDonald 2 58.5kg 111
5 90x3136x59 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Tim Clark 1 58.5kg 109
6 x9214x02x0 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings Zac Purton 8 58.5kg 107
7 x14131x334 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 11 58.5kg 102
8 6x090x3x74 RAIN AFFAIR Joseph Pride Craig Williams 6 58.5kg 102
9 144×422704 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 7 58.5kg 98
10 29x12412x1 SWEET IDEA Gai Waterhouse Joao Moreira 5 56.5kg 114
11 x416744x01 PRESS REPORT Lee Curtis Jason Collett 3 54.5kg 80

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field