Dissident Leads 2015 Futurity Stakes Nominations

February 23, 2015

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Dissident Leads 2015 Futurity Stakes Nominations

Peter Moody’s last star CF Orr Stakes winner Dissident is after another Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival Group 1 this weekend having been nominated for the Futurity Stakes 2015 at Caulfield Racecourse.


CF Orr Stakes winner Dissident is after another Group 1 win over 1400m at Caulfield in this Saturday’s 2015 Futurity Stakes. Photo: Adrienne Bicknell.

One of three elite level features on the Blue Diamond Stakes Day card, this year’s $400,000 Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) has attracted only eight early entries with nominations now extended until 10am (AEDT) on Tuesday.

Of those already entered the top-rated and sure to be favourite in the Ladbrokes.com.au markets if accepted is Sebring stallion Dissident.

The flying four-year-old enjoyed his fourth Group 1 victory on February 14 at the same track and distance as Saturday’s race having taken out the CF Orr Stakes second-up.

Last year Moody took out the CF Orr Stakes – Futurity Stakes double with Moment Of Change, and 12 months on he’s out to do it again with promising young Dissident who boasts an outstanding record over the track and distance with two wins and a second from three attempts.

Of Dissident’s seven possible rivals, one of the biggest dangers looks to be the Gai Waterhouse-trained Driefontein.

Winner of the Group 1 Robert Sangster Classic (1200m) in Adelaide last April, Fastnet Rock mare Driefontein has been in good form again this summer in Sydney.

She ran second by the bob of the head to Weary in the Group 2 Expressway Stakes (1200m) at Rosehill two back and then was runner-up again this time to Heart Testa on February 14 in the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes (1200m).

Saturday will be her first run in Melbourne since the Melbourne Cup Carnival when 10th to Terravista in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington, and first Caulfield run since a sixth to Bel Sprinter in the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint (1100m) in October.

Despite the small number of nominees, the Futurity Stakes entries are not short on Group 1 winners.

Along with Dissident and Driefontein, Smokin’ Joey and Bonaria have also won at the highest level.

Wez Hunter’s Encosta De Lago seven-year-old Smokin’ Joey won last year’s Group 1 The Goodwood in Adelaide as a 41-1 outsider and broke a lengthy winning drought with his first victory since last time out in the Group 3 Carlyon Cup (1600m) at Caulfield on Valentine’s Day.

Pat Hyland’s Redoute’s Choice mare Bonaria meanwhile took out the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) on Derby Day before her first-up second to Tycoon Tara in the Group 3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes (1200m) this autumn.

She, along with Nigel Blackiston’s multiple Group winning Thorn Park mare Suavito also headline the nominations for $150,000 Group 3 Mannerism Stakes (1400m) on the program.

Suavito is first-up here after a lovely spring that ended with wins in the Group 3 Tesio Stakes (1600m) at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate Day and the Group 2 Momentum Energy Stakes (2000m) at Flemington on November 8.

Rounding out the original Futurity Stakes 2015 nominations are then the Team Hawkes-trained CF Orr Stakes runner-up Entirely Platinum, English import Guest Of Honour prepared by David Hayes & Tom Dabernig, and Sydney Cup third placegetter Sertorius.

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for all the latest on the Futurity Stakes and other Group 1 races this weekend then, for the hottest autumn odds, head over to Ladbrokes.com.au and open an account with the online bookie rewarding new depositing players with up to $250 in bonus bets!

2015 Futurity Stakes Nominations

Caulfield Racecourse – 28/02/2015

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 BONARIA Pat Hyland 103
2 DISSIDENT Peter G Moody 115
3 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse 107
4 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 106
5 GUEST OF HONOUR (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 107
6 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards & Bruce Elkington
7 SMOKIN’ JOEY Wez Hunter 107
8 SUAVITO (NZ) Nigel Blackiston 100

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field