Geegees Blackflash Wins 2nd Hobart Cup – 2015 Results

February 10, 2015

Geegees Blackflash Wins 2nd Hobart Cup – 2015 Results

Sentimental favourite Geegees Blackflash became a dual Hobart Cup winner on Monday, the veteran galloper winning the race for a second time at his fifth attempt in the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival classic.

John Luttrell’s Clangalang eight-year-old won the handicap clash in 2012 at his second run before minor placings the following two years including a second 12 months ago.

This summer he showed age was no barrier to racetrack success coming into $225,000 Group 3 Hobart Cup (2400m) in flying form including his last start Summer Cup victory over 2200m at Hobart from January 25.

Jumping at odds of $8.70 with apprentice hoop Sigrid Carr, who one race earlier won the Strutt Stakes aboard promising filly Geegees Goldengirl, Geegees Blackflash was well supported despite carrying the 59kg top weight.

He handled his 11 rivals and the weight in an unbelievable run working his way from last to first to first following a three-wide run throughout becoming the first horse since Brallos (1976-77) to win multiple Hobart Cups.

On the line the popular warhorse had a neck to spare over Bill Ryan’s in-form Ladoni four-year-old Genuine Lad ($6.70) to replicate the Summer Cup quinella.

Finishing off the Hobart Cup trifecta in a distant third over three and a half lengths off the winner was then the Scott Brunton-trained Banca Mo ($4.60) who put in an enormous run.

The champion’s owner-breeder Paul Geard said the 2015 Hobart Cup result was his proudest moment of racing, while Luttrell was just over the moon with the guts of the great galloper.

“What he did today was unbelievable, to come from last and beat those horse,” Luttrell told the media post-win.

“He’s all guts. He just needed a bit of luck and he just kept coming.

“What a horse. He’s a champion, isn’t he.”

Geegees Blackflash has now won 22 of his 63 career starts for an incredible $1.16 million in prize money.

He is the only horse in history to earn $1 million exclusively from Tasmanian races.

Disappointment of the Hobart Cup meanwhile was the $3.60 favourite Garud from the Melbourne stables of Michael Moroney, Craig Williams’ mount finishing a distant eight beaten nearly 16 lengths.

Seven Mile Beach trainer Brunton, who also won the Thomas Lyons Stakes on Hobart Cup Day in an upset with Streetwise Savoire who defeated odds-on favourite Admiral, was thrilled with the run of third placed Banca Mo in the Cup.

The Tough Speed seven-year-old will now go to Launceston on February 25 to finish off his summer in the $225,000 Group 3 Launceston Cup (2400m).

See below for the full Hobart Cup results, then for the hottest 2015 Launceston Cup odds later this month open an account online with who will match your first deposit up to $250 when you quote the code word BETBONUS this season!

2015 Hobart Cup Results & Finishing Order

Hobart Race 8 – 09/02/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 3 59kg $8.70
2 7 GENUINE LAD Bill Ryan Anthony Darmanin 0.2L 11 54kg $6.70
3 3 BANCA MO Scott Brunton David Pires 3.7L 2 56.5kg $4.60
4 8 OLLIE’S GOLD Gary White Dean Yendall 8.2L 1 54kg $12.20
5 2 PELICANO Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 9L 5 58kg $4.90
6 11 FALAMONTE (NZ) Robbie Laing Jake Bayliss (a) 11.5L 4 54kg $33.60
7 4 IGGIMACOOL Bill Ryan Brendon McCoull 12.5L 12 54.5kg (cd 55kg) $19.50
8 5 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 15.8L 10 54kg $3.60F
9 6 JAKCORIJIM Glenn Stevenson Jamie R Bayliss 22.6L 6 54kg $50
10 13 HOLD TRUE John Luttrell Troy Baker 29.9L 7 54kg $100.50
11 10 PLAYER ONE Max Cowen Jordan Childs (a) 34.2L 8 54kg $66.10
12 9 ANOTHER LAD AL Rodney Seymour Bulent Muhcu (a) 35.5L 9 54kg $79.70
12 PERPLEXING Scott Brunton Dwayne Dunn 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field