Dissident Leads 2015 CF Orr Stakes Nominations

Group One racing returns to Melbourne on Saturday in the form of the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m), which is one of eight Group races running at Caulfield.

Dissident is one of 19 classy horses nominated for the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield this Saturday.

Dissident is one of 19 classy horses nominated for the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield this Saturday. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

19 sprint-mile runners were nominated for the $400,000 feature race on Monday morning, with Peter Moody’s Dissident leading the charge.

Already a three-time Group One winner, Dissident will look to earn his fourth on Saturday. The four-year-old horses returned three weeks earlier than the majority of the autumn top dogs, contesting the Group 2 Australia Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley on January 24.

The tricky circuit proved too much for the horse, just plugging home for third in a rather disappointing run. He’ll be set to run better in the CF Orr Stakes, since it’s over his more preferred distance of 1400 metres and at a track he’s found success at before.

Dissident won the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield first up during the spring by an impressive two and a half lengths before just edging out Fawkner in the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) at Flemington. The horse returned to Caulfield two weeks later to finish a short half-head off Trust In A Gust in the Group 2 Sir Rupert Clarke Charity Cup (1400m).

Peter GelagotisMourinho was the star of the Australia Stakes, winning over 1400 metres for the first time at a starting price of $31 at Ladbrokes.com.au, and is set to remain at sprint-mile distance for a the foreseeable future after the seven-year-old was nominated for the 2015 CF Orr Stakes.

Plenty of top horses from the spring are set to resume in Saturday’s race including the likes of Foreteller, Happy Trails, He’s Your Man, and Spillway to name a few.

Chris Waller’s Foreteller won the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) last spring but failed to place in any of his three subsequent races, finishing second last in the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) at the end of the season.

Happy Trials just missed out on the Underwood Stakes victory to Forteller and also finished outside the placings in his three following starts but managed to nab a late victory in the Mackinnon Stakes from He’s Your Man, who managed to place in all five of his starts that campaign.

As you can see, many of the highly rated CF Orr Stakes nominations had fierce rivalries during the spring that are set to begin nice and early this autumn.

Waller could saddle up to four horses in Saturday’s race with Bagman and Beaten Up sitting alongside Forteller and He’s Your Man in the nominations.

Eight-year-old gelding Bagman resumed in the Group 2 Expressway Stakes (1200m) at the end of January, finishing just two and a quarter lengths behind winner Weary, while Beaten Up was one place behind his stable mate in the same race.

Gerald Ryan’s Red Excitement will one to watch after the gelding beat He’s Your Man home in a trial last Tuesday by an astounding 13 lengths.

Other star nominations for the CF Orr Stakes include luckless but determined Smokin’ Joey, Group 2 Sandown Guineas (1600m) winner Petrology, Team HawkesEntirely Platinum and Toydini.

Check out the full list of nominations below before the final field is released on Wednesday.

Betting markets will open at Ladbrokes.com.au shortly thereafter so make sure your account is open and ready to go.

New customers will receive a bonus match worth $250 on their first bet when they quote code: BETBONUS, which is sure to help them bet better this autumn.

2015 CF Orr Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AERONAUTICAL Lionel Cohen 98
2 BAGMAN Chris Waller 104
3 BEATEN UP (GB) Chris Waller 110
4 DISSIDENT Peter G Moody 114
5 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 104
6 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller 113
7 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara 113
8 HE’S YOUR MAN (FR) Chris Waller 110
9 JAVA Lee & Anthony Freedman 84
10 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis 107
11 MOURO (USA) Tony McEvoy 105
12 PETROLOGY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 92
13 REAL LOVE Adam Durrant 99
14 RED EXCITEMENT Gerald Ryan 103
15 SMOKIN’ JOEY Wez Hunter 106
16 SONNTAG Henry Dwyer 102
17 SPILLWAY (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 103
18 STAR ROLLING Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 103
19 TOYDINI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 109


Have your say, post a comment.