29 Nominations Taken for 2015 Chairman’s Stakes

There’s no risk of the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (1000m) being anything but a maximum capacity race after 29 nominations were accepted on Monday.

Prompt Return features among the nominations for the Chairman's Handicap at Sandown on Saturday.

Prompt Return features among the nominations for the Chairman’s Stakes at Sandown on Saturday. Photo by Sarah Ebbett.

This is the last chance for many of the two-year-olds to earn their place in the field for the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) on February 28. It is the ideal lead-up race to the $1 million feature race at Flemington three weeks later.

Running at Sandown Racecourse on Saturday, the 2015 Chairman’s Stakes has attracted some of the most promising two-year-olds.

Prompt Return will amp up his 2015 Blue Diamond quest on Saturday with trainer Danny O’Brien retracing the spring plan that proved so successful for the colt.

“We’re just doing the same thing with him that we did in the spring,” O’Brien told TVN.

“He started at Bendigo, then had a trial, then went to Flemington, where he won the Maribyrnong Plate.”

Prompt Return won his maiden in a 2YO Plate at Bendigo first up last October before impressively winning the Group 3 Maribyrnong Plate (1000m) by two lengths three weeks later, which is an identical timespan between the Chairman’s Stakes and Blue Diamond Stakes.

The colt has been spelled since he ran second to Carriages in the Magic Millions Clockwise Classic (1000m) at Ballarat back in November but benefitted from two jumpouts at Flemington last month.

David Hayes & Tom Dabernig could deliver a three-pronged attack on the Chairman’s Stakes after nominating Reemah, More Than Most, and Haybah.

Reemah was eighth in the Listed Debutant Stakes (1000m) last October but won a barrier trial at Sandown last month while More Than Most will make his debut if he makes the final field.

Haybah has had five career starts, winning her maiden at Ballarat on January 8th before finishing runner-up to Fontiton in the Group 3 Blue Diamond Preview (Fillies) (1000m) on January 26.

Peter Moody has nominated Chase The Horizon and Tan Tat Nova for Saturday’s race but without even a barrier trial to their name will likely not make Wednesday’s field.

Wez Hunter’s Parcel won her maiden at Bendigo back in December while Maribyrnong Plate fifth Bantam will get the chance to enact his revenge on Prompt Return. The colt won the Adapt Australia Handicap (1000m) back in November.

Check out the full list of 2015 Chairman’s Stakes nominations below before the final field is released on Wednesday.

Open your Ladbrokes.com.au online betting accounts to receive a boosted $250 bonus match on your first bet. Just quote code: BETBONUS.

2015 Chairman’s Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 ANTRIM BELLE Super Vobis Bonus Scheme John McArdle
2 ASSERTIVE STAR Byron Cozamanis
3 BAND ON THE RUN Shane Nichols
4 BANTAM Super Vobis Bonus Scheme John O’Shea
5 BROCKHOFF Ciaron Maher
6 BROOKLYN Gai Waterhouse
7 CALL ME ANYTHING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
9 CHASE THE HORIZON Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Peter G Moody
10 CLEVFILLY John McArdle
11 DEJA BLUE Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Robbie Griffiths
12 DYNASTY QUEEN Shane Nichols
13 HAYBAH David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
14 HEATHERLY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra
15 JUST AMAZED Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Tony Noonan
16 MORE THAN MOST David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
17 MR OPTIMISTIC Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Tony Noonan
18 PARCEL Wez Hunter
19 PROMPT RETURN Danny O’Brien
20 QUEEN OF WANDS Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Clarry Conners
21 REEMAH David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
22 RUSSIAN RUBY Dean Binaisse
23 SHADOW WINGS Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Mick Price
24 STRAGUN Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Shea Eden
25 SWEVEN Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Archie Alexander
26 TAN TAT NOVA Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Peter G Moody
27 THUNDER GUN Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Dean Binaisse
28 THURLOW Robert Smerdon
29 TRENCH FIGHTER Robbie Laing


Have your say, post a comment.