2015 Newmarket Handicap Nominations Released

January 27, 2015

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2015 Newmarket Handicap Nominations Released

Nominations for three of autumn’s feature races running at Flemington closed on Tuesday afternoon, including the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) on March 14.

Terravista (centre), Chautauqua (outside), and Lankan Rupee (inside) will re-establish their rivalry in the Newmarket Handicap.

Terravista (centre), Chautauqua (outside), and Lankan Rupee (inside) will re-establish their rivalry in the Newmarket Handicap. Photo by Sarah Ebbett.

57 total entries were taken for the $1 million sprint race, down from 60 in 2014.

Terravista, Lankan Rupee, and Chautuaqua are all set to renew their rivalry in the 2015 Newmarket Handicap on Super Saturday.

Not only did the three horses score the trifecta in last year’s Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m), they are also the world’s three highest rated sprinters.

Chautauqua is just one of five horses nominated by Team Hawkes. Their formidable team includes the likes of Deep Field and Mossfun.

Four-year-old Deep Field has won all five of his career starts, including the Group 2 Tab.com.au Stakes (1200m) last time out.

Mossfun has not been seen since winning the $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) last April, in which the filly found the line well to win by three quarters of a length. She missed out on a spring campaign after being struck down by a virus in August but has been thriving in the paddock.

Team Hawkes other nomination for the Newmarket Handicap is Group 2 Roman Consul (1200m) runner-up Nostradamus.

David Hayes & Tom Dabernig have nominated eight sprinters from their Lindsay Park stable including Group 1 Hong Kong Cup (2000m) third placer Criterion.

The hard working horse was winless during the spring despite coming close in the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m). He hasn’t run over 1200 metres since the Group 3 Run To The Rose in 2013 but connections are clearly switching things up to see if he can return to the winner’s circle.

The seven other horses nominated by Hayes & Dabernig are: Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude (1400m) winner Afleet Esprit, Fast ‘n’ Rocking, five-year-old mare Girl Guide, Black Caviar close relation Sistonic, Tawteen, and Wawail.

“Australia’s position as the sprinting capital of the world was franked with last week’s release of the 2014 Longines World’s Best Racehorse Rankings and we are excited at the prospect of the world’s best three sprinters, Terravista, Lankan Rupee and Chatauqua, again doing battle up the Flemington straight,” Racing Victoria Executive General Manager – Racing, Greg Carpenter, said in a press release.

“When you add in horses like Deep Field, Brazen Beau, Magnifisio, Mossfun, Rich Enuff, Sacred Falls and Sacred Star to the list of those nominated, the Newmarket Handicap may be the highlight of the autumn.”

19 of the 57 nominated horses for the Newmarket Handicap are three-year-olds including Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) winner Brazen Beau and Ken KeysRich Enuff, who was a quarter of a length off the win in the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) back in October.

Check out the complete list of 2015 Newmarket Handicap nominations below. First acceptances for the race will be taken on February 24 so except to see some of these 57 culled by then.

Open your Ladbrokes.com.au online betting account today to receive up to $250 in a bonus match on your first bet. Just quote code: BETBONUS.

2015 Newmarket Handicap Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 A TIME FOR JULIA Peter G Moody 101
2 AERONAUTICAL Lionel Cohen 98
3 AFLEET ESPRIT David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 92
4 ARMADA Peter G Moody 71
5 ATMOSPHERICAL David Pfieffer
6 AUDINO Robbie Laing 80
7 BOBAN Chris Waller
8 BRAZEN BEAU Chris Waller 108
9 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
10 CRITERION (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
11 DECIRCLES Danny O’Brien 97
12 DEEP FIELD Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 105
13 DELECTATION Chris Waller 88
14 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse
15 EARTHQUAKE John O’Shea 103
16 ECHO GAL Gai Waterhouse
17 ELOPING Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 92
18 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 100
19 FLAMBERGE Peter G Moody 101
20 GIRL GUIDE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 95
21 ICONIC Tony McEvoy 97
22 I’M ALL THE TALK Gary Portelli 96
23 JIMANDO Tony McEvoy 90
24 KNOYDART John O’Shea
25 KUMAON John O’Shea 90
26 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price 116
27 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing 99
28 MAGNIFISIO Jim P Taylor
30 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 110
31 MOSSFUN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 105
32 MR CHARD Tony McEvoy
33 NOSTRADAMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
34 PLAY MASTER Peter Smith 85
35 RAIN AFFAIR Joseph Pride 104
36 REPARATIONS Lee & Anthony Freedman 104
37 RICH ENUFF Ken Keys 103
38 RIFLEMAN Tony McEvoy 85
39 ROYAL SNITZEL Mick Price 78
40 SACRED FALLS (NZ) Chris Waller 115
41 SACRED STAR Tony Pike
42 SARAJEVO John O’Shea 70
43 SHAF David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 68
44 SINGLE DAYS Jason Warren 67
45 SISTINE DEMON Andrew Noblet 98
46 SISTONIC David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 64
47 TAWTEEN David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 82
48 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride 112
49 THE QUARTERBACK Robbie Griffiths 94
50 THIAMANDI Lloyd Kennewell
51 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride 112
52 VA PENSIERO Jason Coyle
53 VAIN QUEEN John Sadler 104
54 VEZALAY Leon & Troy Corstens 63
55 WATERMANS BAY Daniel Morton
56 WAWAIL David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 76
57 ZELETTO Luke Oliver 70

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Super Cash Chases Robert Sangs...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Sing...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Singing Firming Favourite

Newcastle horseman Kris Lees saddles-up two stayers in Thursday’s feature race...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second-Up for Merchant Navy

Coolmore Stud Stakes winning colt Merchant Navy will take on the older...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes F...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes First-Up for Mighty Boss

Mick Price’s shock Caulfield Guineas winner Mighty Boss will chase the 2018...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Qu...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Bound Winx

The world’s best mare Winx will be “on the plane” to England for a Royal Ascot...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field