2015 Hobart Cup Nominations Released

January 27, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2015 Hobart Cup Nominations Released

Nominations are now out for next month’s Hobart Cup 2015 including two entries for top Victorian trainer Darren Weir who shoots for his fifth win in the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival classic over the past decade.


Akzar is one of two 2015 Hobart Cup nominations for four-time winning trainer Darren Weir. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

A total of 28 horses make up the early entries for this year’s $225,000 Group 3 Hobart Cup (2400m) that is set to run at Hobart Racecourse on February 9.

Weir boasts an impressive four previous Hobart Cup victories having prepared True Courser (2006), Offenbranch (2008), Gotta Keep Cool (2009) and most recently Hurdy Gurdy Man (2013) for their wins over the past 10 years.

This year he’s back with two chances in Akzar and his most likely contender Tooleybuc Kid.

Selkrik eight-year-old Akzar won the Warrnambool Cup last May before a fourth in the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) behind Streama.

He was last seen finishing second over 1600m at Flemington on January 10 behind Jacquinot Bay and is yet to race in Tasmanian.

Tooleybuc Kid meanwhile ran fifth at Flemington over 2000m last time out on January 17 and hasn’t won a race since saluting at Caulfield over that distance back in May last year.

Other notable interstate nominations for the Hobart Cup this summer include Robert Smerdon’s Roy Higgins Quality winner Cooldini, the Peter Moody-trained Crime Fighter who won in Adelaide over the weekend, last start Flemington winner Phantom Brew for Colin Little and 2013 Werribee Cup winner Pelicano.

Tony McEvoy’s Hawkesbury-based Pelicano ran fourth to I’m Imposing in the Group 3 Summer Cup (2000m) at Randwick on Boxing Day and was last seen finishing sixth when only one and a half lengths off the winner Midsummer Sun in the Listed Gosford Cup (2100m) on January 9.

Also of note is Mornington-trained Escado for Matt Laurie, the Casino Prince gelding having run sixth in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes (1600m0 last November before a fifth to Zabisco in the Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m) at Sandown last start.

As for the local Tasmanian hopes some of the best include seven-year-old Banca Mo, his last start conqueror at Launceston over the mile on New Year’s Eve Iggimacool and Geegees Blackflash.

John Luttrell’s Brighton-based Clangalang eight-year-old showed he still had plenty left in his old legs with a close win over 2200m at Hobart under weight-for-age conditions on Sunday.

He beat home fellow Hobart Cup hopefuls Genuine Lad for Longford’s Bill Ryan who ran second in the Devonport Cup the start before and Max Cowen’s last start winner over the mile Player One.

This year will be Geegees Blackflash’s fifth appearance in a Hobart Cup.

He won back in 2012 before placing in the past two editions of the race – second to Epingle last year and third to Hurdy Gurdy Man in 2013 – atoning for his 11th in his maiden start in the Hobart Cup back in 2011.

See below for the full Hobart Cup 2015 nominations, the final field due for release the week before race.

Before then make sure you have access to all the summer – autumn racing carnival’s hottest odds by opening an account with Ladbrokes.com.au – home of the $250 bonus sign-up bet for new depositing players that quote the code BETBONUS!

2015 Hobart Cup Nominations

Monday February 9, 2015

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir 105
2 ANOTHER LAD AL Rodney Seymour 77
3 BANCA MO Scott Brunton 100
4 COOLDINI Robert Smerdon 97
6 DESERT ROAD Robbie Laing 65
7 ESCADO Matt Laurie 97
8 FALAMONTE (NZ) Robbie Laing 68
9 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney 92
10 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell 105
11 GENUINE LAD Bill Ryan 82
12 GOLD MEDALS (NZ) Symon Wilde
13 HOLD TRUE John Luttrell 66
14 IGGIMACOOL Bill Ryan 100
15 JAKCORIJIM Glenn Stevenson 87
16 KEUKENHOF Troy Blacker 75
18 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 85
19 OERTER Robert Smerdon 77
20 OLLIE’S GOLD Gary White 75
22 PELICANO Tony McEvoy 103
23 PERPLEXING Scott Brunton 67
24 PHANTOM BREW (NZ) Colin Little 90
25 PLAYER ONE Max Cowen 69
26 SCELTO (NZ) Robbie Laing
27 THE GHANMAN Robbie Laing 58
28 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir 90

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field