2015 Sunshine Coast Cup Nominations Released

Nominations for the Listed Sunshine Coast Cup (1400m) on Australia Day next Monday were taken this morning with 21 sprint-mile runners declaring for the race.

Riva De Lago is one of 21 horses nominated for the Sunshine Coast Cup on Saturday.

Riva De Lago is one of 21 horses nominated for the Sunshine Coast Cup on Saturday. Photo by Steve Hart.

Leading the charge is Robert Heathcote’s Riva De Lago, one of two potential horses to be saddled by the trainer.

The 2013 Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes (1400m) winner has finished outside the placings in all ten of his past starts so will be looking to recapture form of old on Saturday.

Riva De Lago travelled to Brisbane for the first time during the summer in search of a win but finished midfield in both the Group 3 George Moore Stakes (1200m) and Listed Lough Neagh Stakes (1350m).

The seven-year-old gelding was last seen in the Listed Goldmarket Handicap (1300m) at the Gold Coast on January 3 where he finished eighth of ten runners.

Heathcote has also nominated Saluter for the 2015 Sunshine Coast Cup. The five-year-old gelding has finished in the first two in five of his past six starts but broke his streak after running seventh of 14 in the Magic Millions Cup (1400m) at the Gold Coast on January 10.

Deagon-based trainer Pat Duff has also nominated two horses for the sprint-mile race – Steel Zip and Abu Ben Adam.

Steel Zip hasn’t had a win in his past 13 starts, which include midfield finishes in both the Listed Recognition Stakes (1630m) and Listed Brisbane Handicap (1600m) at Doomben Racecourse earlier in the summer.

Abu Ben Adam also ran in both races but fared worse than his stable mate, finishing end of the field. Like Saluter, the four-year-old gelding ran in the Magic Millions Cup on January 10 but finished at the end of the field in 11th place.

Other notable horses nominated for the Sunshine Coast Cup include Liam Birchley’s Time To Plunder, who won the Listed Keith Noud Quality (1200m) at Doomben in November before finishing third in the Listed Bernborough Handicap (1625m), Listed Just Now Quality (1350m) winner Tarloshan, Jason McLachlan’s Phelan Ready, and Magic Millions Fillies & Mares Handicap runner-up Anna Lizzie.

Check out the full list of 2015 Sunshine Coast Cup nominations below.

Make sure to place your bets at Ladbrokes.com.au to receive up to $250 in a bonus match on your first bet. Just quote code: BETBONUS.

2015 Sunshine Coast Cup Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ABU BEN ADAM Pat Duff 77.5
2 ANNA LIZZIE Danny J Bougoure 87
3 BLACK CASH Kelly Doughty 89.5
4 DAPH ’N’ ALF Greg Wehlow 90
5 FERMENT John Pointon 88
6 FINISHING CARD Shane Edmonds 91
7 HARADA BAY John, Dan & Chris Meagher 89
8 HLUDOWIG Andrew Williamson 76
9 HORA SEXTA Paul Robbins 75
10 INTO THE RED Kelso Wood 85
11 LUCKY SOUND Tony Crane 85
13 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan 96
14 RIVA DE LAGO Robert Heathcote 97
15 SALUTER Robert Heathcote 92
16 SOROS Kelly Schweida 86
17 STATE OF WEALTH Graham Pollock 80
18 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff 89
19 TARLOSHAN (NZ) Graeme Boyd 93
20 TIME TO PLUNDER Liam Birchley 94
21 VANDALISED Jamie McConachy 89


Have your say, post a comment.