Pride Duo Dominate 2015 TJ Smith Stakes Betting

January 15, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Pride Duo Dominate 2015 TJ Smith Stakes Betting

Joe Pride’s dynamite sprinting duo Terravista and Chautauqua are the dominant two in the futures markets for Sydney’s TJ Smith Stakes 2015 in the autumn, a race penciled in for their second-up runs.

Terravista (centre), Chautauqua (outside)

Joe Pride’s Darley Classic quinella of Terravista (centre) and Chautauqua (outside) lead futures 2015 TJ Smith Stakes betting for this autumn in Sydney. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

Held on Doncaster Mile Day at Randwick Racecourse on April 4 during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival’s The Championships, the $2.5 million Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) is shaping up as a rematch between Pride’s stablemates who ran the Darley Classic quinella in the spring.

Captain Rio gelding Terravista won the Melbourne Cup Carnival classic by a neck over this younger stablemate Chautauqua back in November and has subsequently been elevated to equal world’s highest-rated-sprinter along with Lankan Rupee.

Now Pride is looking at a returning run for both in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse on March 14 before a return to Sydney for the TJ Smith Stakes second-up.

Futures TJ Smith Stakes betting at have Terravista at $4.60 followed closely by Encosta De Lago four-year-old Chautauqua ($5), winner of the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes before his second in the Darley Classic.

Occupying the third and fourth lines of the futures TJ Smith Stakes odds are then undefeated Northern Meteor four-year-old Deep Field ($6) and superstar sprinter Lankan Rupee ($8).

The Team Hawkes-trained Deep Field has won all five of his starts to date including a Group 3 over 1200m at Flemington on Victoria Derby Day and is set to bring that ultra-consistent form with him into the autumn.

Lankan Rupee meanwhile needs no introduction, Mick Price’s son of Redoute’s Choice a four-time Group 1 winner, most recently in the Manikato Stakes at Monee Valley in the autumn before his Darley Classic third.

He was the best sprinter of the autumn last year undefeated in his four runs that campaign including the Oakleigh Plate – Newmarket Handicap double in Melbourne before his very impressive two length win over Rebel Dane in the TJ Smith Stakes – a title he’ll defend this April.

Outside of the four single figure hopes is then the Chris Waller-trained Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes winning colt Brazen Beau paying $11.

A winner of four of his eight starts to date the three-year-old son of I Am Invincible was runner-up in Brisbane’s JJ Atkins as a two-year-old before coming back in the spring to win Randwick’s Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes and then Flemington’s Coolmore at elite level down the straight on November 1.

He is followed by three $13 hopes with Irish raider Gordon Lord Byron who won the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes at Rosehill last March before a TJ Smith Stakes sixth in the wet, another Pride-trained hopeful in young Denman colt Kuro who ran third in the Coolmore Stud Stakes and Caulfield Guineas runner-up Rich Enuff.

The last of the hopes under $20 to become this year’s TJ Smith Stakes winner is then the James & Bart Cummings-trained Hallowed Crown at $17, the Golden Rose winner’s primary early target this season being the Randwick Guineas.

See below for the top 20 in the all-in TJ Smith Stakes 2015 betting odds, prices open online now at who are offering all the autumn’s best futures markets on the upcoming Group 1s!

2015 TJ Smith Stakes Betting

Randwick Racecourse – 04/04/2015

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field