Geegees Blackflash Leads 2014 Tasmanian Stakes Field

John Luttrell’s veteran galloper Geegees Blackflash heads a quality field of milers set to face off in the last black-type race of the calendar year in Tasmania on Wednesday night, the Tasmanian Stakes 2014 running at Launceston Racecourse.

Due to jump at 9:20pm (local time) as Race 7 on the New Year’s Eve meeting, this year’s $100,000 Listed Kevin Sharkie Tasmanian Stakes (1600m) features a field of eight weight-for-age hopefuls.

Luttrell lines up his Clangalang eight-year-old Geegees Blackflash from barrier seven with apprentice hoop Sigrid Carr retaining the ride having ridden him for his past three starts.

The most recent of those produced a win at the track over 1400m in the $30,000 Launceston Mitsubishi Conquering WFA on December 17 where there warhorse beat home Pitt Street by a long neck.

Winner of the 2013 Launceston Cup, Geegees Blackflash ran a close second behind Black ‘N’ Tough in last year’s Tasmanian Stakes and will be out to go one better this Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

Runner-up behind him in the lead-up WFA race earlier this month, the Charlie Goggin & Luella Meaburn-trained Street Cry seven-year-old Pitt Street also backs up this Wednesday evening.

Winner of the Muswellbrook Gold Cup back on November 4, Pitt Street improved on a disappointing 10th behind Hellova Street in the Listed Newmarket Handicap (1200m) at Launceston on December 3 to come a close second behind Geegees Blackflash last start and gets the chance to turn the tables this week.

Third in that same race Banca Mo is another seven-year-old gelding looking to go better in the Tasmanian Stakes, the Scott Brunton-trained son of Tough Speed third-up for the season having kicked off with a Newmarket Handicap fourth beaten under two lengths in that black-type.

Other notable hopes in this year’s Tasmanian Stakes field include Newmarket Handicap runner-up Royal Rapture also prepared by Brunton at Seven Mile Beach, Group 1 performer in Sydney from the spring Lucky Chappy and Tasmanian Oaks winner back in February Iggimacool.

Billy Ryan’s now four-year-old Savoire Vivre mare ran fifth in the Newmarket lead-up when resuming this summer and was also far from disgraced when fourth in the WFA behind Geegess Blackflash in a run she can improve on here third-up.

See below for the full Tasmanian Stakes 2014 field, barriers, jockeys and weights.

Then for the best odds on all the Tasmanian features this summer make sure you’ve got an account open online with who are matching the first deposits of new customers up to $250 with use of the code word BETBONUS this season!

2014 Tasmanian Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Launceston Race 7 (9:20pm) – 31/12/2014

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 123311×351 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 7 59kg 107
2 11x5378x43 BANCA MO Scott Brunton David Pires 1 59kg 100
3 x0x6440936 LUCKY CHAPPY (IRE) Julie Richards Andrew Mallyon 4 59kg 94
4 512×332102 PITT STREET Charlie Goggin & Luella Meaburn Bulent Muhcu (a) 3 59kg 94
5 13121211×8 PAYTEEVEE Scott Brunton Anthony Darmanin 8 59kg 93
6 6114223×05 JAKCORIJIM Glenn Stevenson Cory Parish 6 59kg 89
7 23x2148x26 ROYAL RAPTURE Scott Brunton Lincoln Coffey 2 59kg 85
8 41213x2x54 IGGIMACOOL Bill Ryan Brendon McCoull 5 57kg 85


Have your say, post a comment.