Mouro Leads 2014 Brisbane Handicap Nominations

December 9, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Mouro Leads 2014 Brisbane Handicap Nominations

The Listed Brisbane Handicap (1600m) is one of five black-type races running at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday, with 18 horses nominated for the mile race on Monday.

Mouro is set to return to Doomben on Saturday for the Brisbane Handicap after failing to impress in the Festival Stakes in Sydney.

Mouro is set to return to Doomben on Saturday for the Brisbane Handicap after failing to impress in the Festival Stakes in Sydney. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

Headlining the nominations is the Tony McEvoy pair – Mouro and Pelicano.

Mouro chose to run in the Listed Festival Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill Gardens on November 29 instead of the Listed Recognition Stakes (1600m) at Doomben. Even with the lower weight allocation and good barrier draw the choice was a bad one after the six-year-old horse finished 10th of 13 runners, over six lengths off winner I’m Imposing.

Mouro will now get his chance to tackle the mile at Doomben but he has been allocated the top weight of 61kg; hopefully he can draw well on Wednesday.

Six-year-old Pelicano has spent over one year off the track after winning the Listed Werribee Cup (2600m) on December 15 after placing second in the Listed Ballarat Cup (2200m) the month earlier.

He returned to barrier trials last month, winning his second one on December 1.

Nine of the 13 horses who ended up running the Recognition Stakes are due to run against each other again in the 2014 Brisbane Handicap, including the winner Rudy and minor placer Darci Be Good.

The Helen Page-trained Rudy is also nominated for the Group 2 Villiers Stakes (1600m) down at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Saturday with the Brisbane Handicap his back-up race. The four-year-old gelding out shined his rivals last Saturday, winning the Recognition Stakes one and a half lengths clear of runner-up Grayson Square.

Darci Be Good ran third in the race, which means the six-year-old has finished in the first three in his last six straight runs.

Robert Heathcote’s Hopfgarten also features among the nominations, looking to atone for his last place in the Recognition Stakes after winning the Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas (1600m) back in June.

The Bowlo Evans Head Cup (1516m) quinella Perfect Punch and War Ends also both feature in the nominations.

Check out the complete list of 2014 Brisbane Handicap nominations below before the final field of 16 plus five emergencies are announced on Wednesday.

Open your online betting account today to get up to $100 in a bonus match on your first bet.

2014 Brisbane Handicap Nominations

# Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 MOURO (USA) Tony McEvoy 1 61kg 106
2 PELICANO Tony McEvoy 2 59.5kg 103
3 BRAVE ALI (NZ) Tony Gollan 3= 56.5kg 97
4 DARCI BE GOOD (NZ) Andrew Williamson 3= 56.5kg 97
5 HOPFGARTEN Robert Heathcote 5= 56kg 96
6 RUDY Helen Page 5= 56kg 96
7 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff 7 54kg 92
8 DOUBLE IMPACT Jackie Crompton 8= 54kg 90
9 NOISY OCEAN Bryan Guy 8= 54kg 90
10 ALDINI David Kelly 10 54kg 89.5
11 GOLDSLICK Liam Birchley 11= 54kg 86
12 KURTLEY Leon Davies 11= 54kg 86
13 PERFECT PUNCH Maryann Brosnan 13 54kg 85
14 WAR ENDS Maryann Brosnan 14 54kg 84
15 TINTS Ben Currie 15 54kg 80
16 KISS ME DEADLY Matt Kropp 16 54kg 79
17 BAQABA Steve Tregea 17 54kg 78
18 ABU BEN ADAM Pat Duff 18 54kg 77.5

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field