2014 George Moore Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

The Group 3 George Moore Stakes (1200m) is the sole feature race running at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday.

Rocket To Glory has scored the inside run after drawing barrier one in the George Moore Stakes.

Rocket To Glory has scored the inside run after drawing barrier one in the George Moore Stakes. Photo by Daniel Costello.

Just one of the 13 nominated horses failed to declare for the final field on Wednesday, Flying Riddle, leaving a final field of 12 sprinters.

The Desleigh Forster-trained Adebisi continues to headline the field after gaining a start from barrier seven with Antony Allen in the saddle.

Adebisi won the 2011 George Moore Stakes and has returned three years later to reclaim his title. The seven-year-old gelding has proven less than successful at the highest level of racing over the years but is in good form following a win at Doomben in September in an open sprint race over 1100m before finishing runner-up to Rocky King in the XXXX Handicap (1000m) on November 14.

The gelding will carry the top weight of 59kg in the George Moore Stakes, which is up to five kilograms more than his rivals.

Adebisi will have the chance to enact his revenge on Rocky King on Saturday since the five-year-old gelding also features in the George Moore Stakes field. He has drawn two gates wider than Adebisi in barrier nine with Michael Cahill in the saddle.

Both Tony Gollan and Robert Heathcote are set to deliver dual-pronged attacks on the race, saddling two runners each.

Gollan has luck on his side after Rocket To Glory scored the inside run from barrier one and Someday will start from barrier three.

Six-year-old gelding Rocket To Glory finished third in the Listed Keith Noud Quality (1200m) last time out and will be partnered by Tegan Harrison once again while Listed Brisbane Handicap (1600m) winner Someday, who finished a neck behind his stable mate in fourth place, will be ridden by Timothy Bell.

Robert Heathcote’s Excellantes will have to overcome a wide start from barrier 12 with Ryan Wiggins in the saddle while Riva De Lago will jump from barrier eight with Jeff Lloyd.

Keith Noud Quality winner Time To Plunder has also accepted for the race and will get a great start to his run from barrier two with Larry Cassidy to ride.

The Group 3 Fred Best Classic (1350m) runner-up Into The Red will carry the minimum weight of 54kg as he jumps from barrier five. The Kelso Wood-trained horse will be ridden by Jim Byrne for the second time in a row.

Check out the full 2014 George Moore Stakes final field and barrier draw below.

The race’s betting market is due to open at Ladbrokes.com.au shortly so make sure your account is up and running.

2014 George Moore Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x2001241x2 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster Anthony Allen 7 59kg 103
2 42103712×8 EXCELLANTES Robert Heathcote Ryan Wiggins 12 58.5kg 102
3 x3821x1051 ROCKY KING Tom Bourke Michael Cahill 9 58.5kg 102
4 1x12x7112x CAPE KIDNAPPERS Kelly Schweida Damian Browne 10 58kg 101
5 2x11211x49 BIG MONEY Rodney Northam Robert Thompson 4 57.5kg 100
6 39x709x686 RIVA DE LAGO Robert Heathcote Jeff Lloyd 8 57.5kg 100
7 130×421153 ROCKET TO GLORY Tony Gollan Tegan Harrison 1 57.5kg 100
8 936910x4x4 SOMEDAY Tony Gollan Timothy Bell 3 56.5kg 98
9 81×6996221 TIME TO PLUNDER Liam Birchley Larry Cassidy 2 55kg 95
10 31539x64x2 FINISHING CARD Shane Edmonds Terry Treichel 11 54kg 93
11 4521042×43 ARCHITECT David Lawlor Luke Tarrant (a) 6 54kg 85
12 120x5200x6 INTO THE RED Kelso Wood Jim Byrne 5 54kg 84


Have your say, post a comment.