2014 Winterbottom Stakes Form Guide & Preview

November 21, 2014

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2014 Winterbottom Stakes Form Guide & Preview

The 2014 Perth Summer Racing Carnival kicks off this Saturday at Ascot Racecourse. The Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) is one of three black-type races on the program, offering some of the best sprinters the chance at winning their share of the $750,000 total prize money.

Bel Sprinter will jump from barrier eight in the Winterbottom Stakes, which is the same gate Buffering won from last year.

Bel Sprinter will jump from barrier eight in the Winterbottom Stakes, which is the same gate Buffering won from last year. Photo by Steve Hart.

13 sprinters aged three-years-old and up are due to run the 2014 Winterbottom Stakes at 4:00pm (local time). Five of those horses have made the journey to Perth from the eastern states, including the Robbie Griffiths-trained Angelic Light.

The five-year-old mare is favourite in the Winterbottom Stakes betting market, offering odds of $3 at Ladbrokes.com.au.

Angelic Light is in great form following a successful spring campaign in Melbourne which included a win in the Group 2 McEwen Stakes (1000m) and a fast finishing second placing in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m). She’ll get an ideal start from barrier five with champion hoop Damien Oliver in the saddle.

She is followed in the Winterbottom Stakes betting by Moment Of Change ($4.20), Sidestep ($7), and Magnifisio ($8.50).

That’s how the bookies see the 2014 Winterbottom Stakes panning out but does the race’s history, form guide, and betting statistics offer any further insight into the winner? Read on to get all the crucial information so you can make the most informed bet possible.

2014 Winterbottom Stakes Form Fact & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s winner of the Winterbottom Stakes was the Robert Heathcote-trained Buffering who jumped from barrier eight with Damien Brown in the saddle
  • 12 months ago Buffering came via back-to-back wins in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) and Group 1 VRC (Darley) Classic (1200m)
  • #1 Moment Of Change ($4.20) is has followed her preparation but failed to place in either race
  • #2 Sidestep ($7) finished eighth in the Darley Classic while #13 Angelic Light ($3) finished runner-up in the Manikato
  • #3 Bel Sprinter ($12) will jump from last year’s winning barrier (8) which has brought home a total of four winners along with barrier 2 (Sidestep) and 5 (Angelic Light)
  • Barrier one is the most successful in the race’s past 30 years with five winners starting from the inside gate
  • #7 Tiger Pete ($101) will enjoy the inside run this year
  • Jason Brown is the most successful Winterbottom Stakes jockey since 1983 with seven placings from 17 starts who is this year aboard #12 Magnifisio ($8.50)
  • #6 Shining Knight (Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes, 1100m, Ascot, 04/11/14), #8 Éclair Bang Bang (Emirates Airline Handicap, 1400m, Flemington, 08/11/14), #11 Ysmael (BM72, 1200m, Ascot, 15/11/14), and #12 Magnifisio (Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes, 1400m, Ascot, 08/11/14) are the last start winners
  • #5 Testamezzo (58%) and #12 Magnifisio (52%) have the best Win Rates
  • Testamezzo also has the best Place Rate (92%) followed by Magnifisio (81%) and Shining Knight (80%)
  • Since half of the field in every Winterbottom Stakes makes the trek over to Perth for the first time, the eastern trained horses do not have any experience over the track
  • Those with the best track records are then: Watermans Bay (19:4-7-2), Testamezzo (7:4-2-0), Shining Knight (12:3-4-2), and Magnifisio (11:5-3-1)
  • However the tourists more than make up for it in experience over the 1200 distance
  • Those with the best records over the distance are then: Moment Of Change (14:2-4-2), Watermans Bay (16:4-3-1), Magnifisio (12:6-3-1), and Angelic Light (8:3-3-1)

The Races.com.au staff will be posting their 2014 Winterbottom Stakes betting tips shortly so stay tuned.

If you think the above information has helped you pinpoint the winner, place your bets at Ladbrokes.com.au now.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field