2014 Darley Classic Form Guide & Preview

November 7, 2014

2014 Darley Classic Form Guide & Preview

The Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) is the key supporting race on Stakes Day at Flemington tomorrow, with 11 of the country’s top sprinters (and two internationals) set to battle it out for their final Group One spring race of the season.

Only two 4YOs have won the Darley Classic in the last 12 years which could mean the end for race favourite Chautauqua.

Only two 4YOs have won the Darley Classic in the last 12 years which could mean the end for race favourite Chautauqua. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Darley Classic attracts the best sprinters in training, which is evident by the fact that Black Caviar won the race back-to-back in 2010-11.

This year’s field is full of talented sprinters including the Irish Slade Power, who won back-to-back Group One races in Britain before making the journey down under to end his racing career against Australia’s best.

However it is Chautauqua who is favourite to win the 2014 Darley Classic, offering odds of $2.30 in the Ladbrokes.com.au betting market.

The Hawkes Racing-trained gelding wowed spectators at Moonee Valley on October 4, blitzing the competition in the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) and winning with ease by four lengths. This win was added to a 2½ length win in the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) back in September, making him a real contender for the best sprinter in Australia at the moment.

He will have to beat Australian Race Horse of the Year Lankan Rupee ($5.50) home, who won the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) last time out.

That’s how the bookies see the 2014 Darley Classic going, but what does the race’s history, form guide, and betting statistics have to say?

Check out all the information about the Darley Classic you’d need to know below in a bid to give you a more comprehensive idea of who to back at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2014 Darley Classic Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Robert Heathcote won the Darley Classic last year with Buffering, who jumped from gate 1 (of 13) with Damian Brown in the saddle
  • All three are set to take on the race for back-to-back wins, and funnily enough #1 Buffering ($14) will jump from barrier one once again
  • Three-year-olds have been unable to make an impression in the Darley Classic and only two four-year-olds have won in the last 12 years – Mental (2012) and Black Caviar (2010)
  • This strengthens the claim that the Darley Classic is predominately won by older, seasoned sprinters rather than young up-and-comers
  • #6 Sidestep (4YO), race favourite #10 Chautauqua (4YO), and #11 Cluster (4YO) will all struggle home by this guideline
  • Favourites don’t have the best record in the Classic, with just four winning in the last 10 years
  • Since 1983, the favourite has won just 8 times and placed 4 – the last of which was Black Caviar in 2011
  • Once again that’s a notch against Chautauqua ($2.30)
  • The Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m) and Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) are the two key lead-up races
  • Buffering won the Moir Stakes while Chautauqua won the Gilgai Stakes by four lengths
  • Another key lead-up race appears to be the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) with six runners backing up from the hectic race won by #2 Lankan Rupee ($5.50)
  • Peter Moody is the most successful trainer with 3 wins from 13 starts
  • This year he is represented by #4 Moment Of Change ($31)
  • Lankan Rupee (Group 1 Manikato Stakes, 1200m, Moonee Valley, 24/10/2014), Slade Power (Group 1 July Cup, 1200m, Newmarket, 12/07/2014), and Chautauqua (Group 2 Gilgai Stakes, 1200m, Flemington, 04/10/2014) are the three last start winners
  • The 1200m straight track at Flemington ensures all runners get an equal chance at winning
  • Though in saying that, barrier 7 and 11 have each brought home the most winners (4)
  • #8 Famous Seamus ($21) will start from 7 while Lankan Rupee will jump from 11
  • #5 Slade Power, #9 Terravista, and Cluster are all making their debut at Flemington
  • Those with the best record over the track are: Buffering (7:1-3-1), Lankan Rupee (5:2-1-0), Temple Of Boom (13:3-3-1), and Platelet (4:2-0-2)
  • Those with the best record over the distance are: Buffering (29:11-6-5), Lankan Rupee (8:4-1-1), Slade Power (16:9-2-2), and Chautauqua (6:2-3-0)
  • Terravista has the best Win Rate (67%)
  • Lankan Rupee, Slade Power, and Platelet all have the best Place Rate (79%)

The 2014 Darley Classic is set to be a cracking race, and the above form guide offers some great insight into the sprint race.

Back your winner at Ladbrokes.com.au for the best odds available.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field