Lankan Rupee Scores Controversial 2014 Manikato Stakes Victory

October 24, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Lankan Rupee Scores Controversial 2014 Manikato Stakes Victory

Lankan Rupee held off a swarm of late challengers and survived a lengthy protest to take out the 2014 Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley tonight.

Lankan Rupee (yellow silks) wins the 2014 Manikato Stakes

Lankan Rupee (yellow silks) wins the 2014 Manikato Stakes. Photo: Sarah Ebbett

Jockey Craig Newitt went into the race under a great deal of pressure after he was questioned for his ride on Lankan Rupee in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m) and he did everything possible to allow Lankan Rupee to take up the running in the early stages of the race.

Lankan Rupee was able to find the rail and kicked clear of the rest of the field at the 150 metre mark before the likes of Moment Of Change, Angelic Light, Famous Seamus, Temple Of Boom, Terravista and Rebel Dane all flashed home in the final stages of the race.

Lankan Rupee looked as though he was going to suffer a third straight defeat, but he was able to hang on for a brave victory, while there was less than half a length between the first eight horses home and just over one and a half lenghts between the entire Manikato Stakes field.

The drama did not end on the track and Damien Oliver on second placegetter Angelic Light and Tim Clark on third placegetter Famous Seamus lodged protests on behalf of connections and argued that Lankan Rupee caused interference when he pushed for the lead at the start of the race.

Replays showed that Angelic Light, Famous Seamus, Buffering, Temple Of Boom and Terravista had all received a share of interference, but Newitt and trainer Mick Price argued that Lankan Rupee was not directly responsible.

Racing Victoria stewards chose to question both Damian Browne (Buffering) and Tegan Harrison (Temple Of Boom), while Oliver fought aggresively for the race to be overturned, but after a lenghty deliberation both protests were dismissed.

“Tim Clark and Mr. Mayfield-Smith with the respect to your objection, the stewards are of the view that your horse Famous Seamus was starting to get tightened and we had some difficulty blaming Lankan Rupee for that interference and we believe your horse is already getting tightened,” Racing Victoria Chief Steward Terry Bailey said.

“It would be difficult for us to say that Lankan Rupee, at that point and time, has a bearing on the incident.

“That turns us to Damien Oliver’s objection; there is some evidence from Tegan Harrison that she was dictated by Craig Newitt, but on the other hand she also said that her horse may have got in away from Lankan Rupee as well.

“We are of the view that there is an element of that, that the horse does get away from Lankan Rupee, which puts doubt into our mind and for that reason both objections will be dismissed.”

While connections of Angelic Light and Famous Seamus both felt that they were cost victory by the actions of the Newitt in the early stages of the race, the likes of Buffering, Rebel Dane, Terravista and Iconic all had little luck in the run and it sets up an intruiging rematch in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Fleminton on November 9.

It appears unlikely that the Cox Plate will be able to top the Manikato Stakes for the amount of drama, but you can still find the best odds for the Australasian Weight-For-Age Championship with

Sign-up and deposit on Cox Plate Day to take advantage of the Moonee Valley Race 3 refund and give yourself the chance to win $3 million with the MegaPick.

2014 Manikato Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 2 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 9 58.5kg $3.90F
2 12 ANGELIC LIGHT Robbie Griffiths Damien Oliver 0.1L 6 56.5kg $13
3 6 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Tim Clark 0.2L 5 58.5kg $18
4 5 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Craig Williams 0.3L 3 58.5kg $8.50
5 7 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Nash Rawiller 0.4L 7 58.5kg $4.60
6 3 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan Tegan Harrison 0.5L 8 58.5kg $41
7 1 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 0.6L 4 58.5kg $5.50
8 4 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody Chad Schofield 0.8L 10 58.5kg $31
9 8 ICONIC Tony McEvoy Nicholas Hall 1.55L 2 58.5kg $61
10 9 NOT LISTENIN’TOME Gary Moore Tommy Berry 1.65L 1 58.5kg $31
11 10 PLATELET Darren Weir Ben Melham 1.85L 12 56.5kg $18
12 11 BOUNDING Ken & Bev Kelso M R du Plessis 2.6L 11 56.5kg $18

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field