Chautauqua Leads 2014 Darley Classic First Declarations

October 21, 2014

Chautauqua Leads 2014 Darley Classic First Declarations

The Team Hawkes-trained Gilgai Stakes winner Chautauqua is the headline first acceptor for the Darley Classic 2014 with the opening round of declarations taken by Racing Victoria today.

Gilgai Stakes winner Chautauqua

Four length Gilgai Stakes winner Chautauqua is among the 25 Darley Classic first acceptances taken for next month’s sprint showdown. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Held on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington Racecourse on Emirates Stakes Day, Saturday November 8, this year’s $1 million Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) originally drew 60 nominations.

There are now only 25 sprinters in the mix with the best fancied in the updated Darley Classic odds at being the Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained Encosta De Lago four-year-old Chautauqua.

Paying $2.80 as the clear favourite in the futures markets on the sprint showdown, the grey gelding has won his past two starts on the trot at Flemington making him unbeaten at the track and distance.

Two back he defeated Group 1 winner Temple Of Boom in the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) and then on October 4 he won the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) by a commanding four lengths.

Gilgai Stakes runner-up Bounding is also among the Darley Classic first acceptances despite being beaten by such a margin last time out, the Lonhro mare having run second to Sidestep the start before in the Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes (1200m) in Sydney.

A Group 1 winner back in New Zealand having taken out the Railway Stakes over 1200m on New Year’s Day, the Kiwi expat is a $21 outsider in Darley Classic betting.

Following Chautauqua in the markets meanwhile are four other single figure hopes, the next best fancied of which is Terravista ($5.50).

Joe Pride’s Captain Rio gelding, last seen winning the Group 2 The Shorts (1100m) on September 20, boasts eight wins from 11 starts and while he is yet to race at Flemington the Sydney raider is undefeated in three wins over the Darley Classic distance.

Last year’s Darley Classic winner Buffering is also back to defend his title in the race this year, Rob Heathcote’s Queensland champion at a current quote of $9 to go back-to-back like the flawless Black Caviar did in 2010-11.

The now seven-year-old Mossman gelding has had just the one run this season when a first-up winner at Moonee Valley under the lights in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m) and he races again this Friday night in the $1 million Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m).

Also coming via the Moir Stakes and running in the Manikato ahead of the Darley Classic are the likes of runner-up Lankan Rupee, third placegetter Rebel Dane and fourth past the post Angelic Light who beat Lankan Rupee the start before in the Group 2 McEwen Stakes (1000m) in her third Moonee Valley win.

A host of other Darley Classic first acceptors in fact race in the the traditional lead-up of the Manikato Stakes this weekend including the Tony Gollan-trained Temple Of Boom last seen crossing fifth in the Gilgai Stakes and the Peter Moody-trained weight-for-age Caulfield Group 1 specialist from the autumn Moment Of Change.

Other noteworthy Darley Classic hopes still in the mix include Irish raider Slade Power last seen winning back-to-back Group 1s in the UK during their summer, the Peter & Paul Snowden-trained Cluster, Schillaci Stakes champ from October 11 Rubick, Chris Waller’s Roman Consul Stakes winning three-year-old Brazen Beau and Blue Diamond winning filly Earthquake back in the winner’s stall last time out.

Notable non omissions meanwhile include the Team Hawkes-trained Deep Field, and the dead-heat Caulfield Sprint winners from last weekend Miracles Of Life and Bel Sprinter.

See below for the full Darley Classic 2014 first declarations with the final field due for release on Wednesday November 5.

Then to back your early selections for the race, and check out the other spring futures, visit – home of the $3 million Spring Megapick promo!

2014 Darley Classic First Acceptances

Flemington Racecourse – 08/11/2014

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 A TIME FOR JULIA Peter G Moody 102
2 ANGELIC LIGHT Robbie Griffiths 103
3 BOUNDING Ken & Bev Kelso 105
4 BRAZEN BEAU Chris Waller 88
5 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote 118
6 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
7 CLUSTER Peter & Paul Snowden 101
8 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse 107
9 EARTHQUAKE John O’Shea 103
10 ELOPING Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 90
11 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith 108
12 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 91
13 GHIBELLINES John O’Shea 86
14 ICONIC Tony McEvoy 97
15 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price 118
16 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 111
17 NOT LISTENIN’TOME Gary Moore 103
18 PERON Peter G Moody 96
19 PLATELET Darren Weir 111
20 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli 110
21 RUBICK Gerald Ryan 78
22 SIDESTEP John O’Shea 102
23 SLADE POWER (IRE) Edward Lynam 114
24 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan 108
25 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride 108

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field