2014 Cranbourne Cup Nominations Attracts 27-Strong Field

October 7, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2014 Cranbourne Cup Nominations Attracts 27-Strong Field

Nominations for the 2014 Cranbourne Cup were taken on Monday, with 27 potential stayers declaring for the race.

Sydney Cup third Sertorius headlines the nominations for the Cranbourne Cup.

Sydney Cup third Sertorius headlines the nominations for the Cranbourne Cup. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Listed Cranbourne Cup (2025m) is the featured race at Cranbourne Racecourse this Sunday, with runners vying to improve their standings in either of the big Group One spring racing carnival races: Caulfield Cup (2040m) or Melbourne Cup (3200m).

The 27 nominations will need to be culled for the field limit of 16 + 4 emergency runners, but with a number of the entries dually accepting for the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m) at Caulfield Racecourse the day before, this will not be a problem once the barrier draws are announced.

Headlining the Cranbourne Cup nominations is the Jamie Edwards & Bruce Elkington-trained Sertorius.

The seven-year-old gelding finished third in the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) back in April but was less-than impressive in his two spring starts, finishing midfield in the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) and Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m).

An increase in distance is likely to help the gelding, who just missed out on placings earlier in the year in two 2000+ races.

Another headline nominee is the David Hayes & Tom Dabernig-trained Stipulate from England. A win in August’s Listed Heatherlie Handicap (1700m) put the gelding on track for a successful spring, but he could only follow it up with midfield finishes in the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) and Turnbull Stakes (2000m).

The trainer duo have also entered Extra Zero for the Cup, who finished third in his last two starts including the Listed Tontonan Stakes (1400m).

Michael Kent’s Epingle and Ciaron Maher’s Mr O’Ceirin are two of the nominations dually entered in the Herbert Power, and their barrier draws in each race will likely determine which race they declare for.

Darren Weir’s Group 2 Adelaide Cup (3200m) runner-up Black Tycoon and Peter Gelagotis’s Mourinho are also nominated for the Cranbourne Cup 2014.

Mourinho has had a great run in his 2014 spring racing campaign, which began with a Moonee Valley Handicap win in August. The gelding followed it up with a runner-up finish in the Group 2 Feehan Stakes (1600m) and a third placing his last time out in the Group 3 JRA Cup (2040m).

See the full list of 2014 Cranbourne Cup nominations below, choose your favourite and wait for the Ladbrokes.com.au betting market to open shorty.

Make your first deposit with the online bookmaker to receive a bonus bet worth up to $500! Just use code: SPRINGBONUS to get your hands on this limited time offer.

2014 Cranbourne Cup Nominations

Cranbourne Race 10 – 12/10/2014

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ALI VITAL (NZ) Robbie Laing 87
2 AT FIRST SIGHT (IRE) Darren Weir 98
4 BIG MEMORY (FR) Tony McEvoy 95
5 BLACK TYCOON Darren Weir 102
6 COMMANDING TIME Brendan McCarthy 97
7 COUNT ENCOSTA Darren Weir 84
9 EPINGLE (NZ) Michael Kent 103
10 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 91
11 FIRST COURSE Ken Keys 80
12 LACEY’S REVENGE Tara Cochrane 58
13 LE ROI (GER) Tony McEvoy 99
14 MASSIYN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 95
15 MORANT Damien Williams 84
16 MORE THAN SACRED Robert Smerdon 95
17 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis 103
18 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 104
19 OMINOUS (GB) Nigel Blackiston 90
20 PRETTY BLONDE Kym Healy 80
21 PYRROLIC Michael Kent 84
22 QUAYSIDE Peter G Moody 94
23 ROWLAND Robbie Laing 76
24 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards & Bruce Elkington 105
25 STIPULATE (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 104
26 TRISTRAM’S SUN (NZ) Robbie Laing 82
27 YOU THINK SO (NZ) Michael Kent 93

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field