2014 Turnbull Stakes Nominations Released

September 29, 2014

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2014 Turnbull Stakes Nominations Released

Nominations for Saturday’s Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington Racecourse were taken today, featuring a stunning list of 28 four-year-olds and up.

Happy Trails (outside) will need to compete against a stellar field for back-to-back Turnbull Stakes glory.

Happy Trails (outside) will need to compete against a stellar field for back-to-back Turnbull Stakes glory. Photo by Race Horse Photos Australia

Unlike a number of other weekend races that drew nominations today, the Turnbull Stakes Day feature race did not have to extend its nominations.

Some of racing’s top potentials have declared for the 2014 Turnbull Stakes, which has been a decent punters guide to the $6.2 million Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) in the past.

Defending champion Happy Trails heads the quality 2014 Turnbull Stakes nominations, with jockey Michael Rodd already booked to ride the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) runner-up to back-to-back glory.

Another top nomination is Gai Waterhouse’s The Offer, who is the $11 Melbourne Cup early favourite with Ladbrokes.com.au.

The six-year-old won the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) and Group 2 Chairman’s Stakes (2600m) back in April but hasn’t had a great start to his 2014 spring racing campaign after finishing middle of the pack in the Group 2 Feehan Stakes (1600m) on September 6 before coming second-last in the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) last weekend.

However money is still coming in for the gelding to take out the 2014 Melbourne Cup, given his past success at the two-mile distance.

Robert Hickmott’s Green Moon, who became just the fifth horse in history to take out the Turnbull-Melbourne Cup double in 2012, is back for another crack. Despite this success, the eight-year-old has had a rocky journey ever since.

Of his ten starts since the 2012 Melbourne Cup, Green Moon only placed in one – the Group 1 Darley Australian Cup (2000m) in March.

Chris Waller tops the 2014 Turnbull Stakes nominations with six entries, however the trainer will likely be represented by just one – Hawkspur.

Foreteller looks to be an unlikely Turnbull starter, set to run in the following week’s Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m) with Sacred Falls instead.

Royal Descent and Junoob are expected to stay in Sydney for the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) and Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m) respectively, which leaves just Hawkspur and Who Shot Thebarman.

Hawkspur has been hit and miss during the 2014 spring racing carnival. He finished in the bottom three in August’s Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m) before bouncing back to a win in the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) on September 6. The gelding then missed out on a placing in the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) by under a length a fortnight later.

The David Hayes & Tom Dabernig-trained Spillway was only nominated for the Turnbull as a safeguard against bad weather in Sydney, according to Hayes and will be lining up at The Metropolitan if the ground is good.

Take a look at the entire list of 2014 Turnbull Stakes nominations below, which will likely reduce greatly coming first acceptances on Wednesday.

With plenty of racing action at Flemington Racecourse this Saturday, open your online betting account at Ladbrokes.com.au and get started!

Make your first deposit to receive a bonus bet to the value of $500 – available for a limited time only. Simply quote bonus code: SPRINGBONUS to get yours.

2014 Turnbull Stakes Nominations

Flemington Racecourse race 7 – 04/10/2014

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ALBONETTI Sue Jaensch 85
2 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody 105
3 CRACKERJACK KING (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 103
4 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 104
5 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller 113
6 FOUNDRY (IRE) Robert Hickmott 99
7 GREEN MOON (IRE) Robert Hickmott 113
8 GRIS CARO (GB) Jake Stephens 101
9 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara 113
10 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller 110
11 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller 108
12 KINGDOMS (NZ) Brian Smith 99
13 LET’S MAKE ADEAL Nigel Blackiston 99
14 LIDARI (FR) Peter G Moody 103
15 LUCIA VALENTINA (NZ) Kris Lees 108
16 PUISSANCE DE LUNE (IRE) Darren Weir 111
17 ROYAL DESCENT Chris Waller 112
18 SACRED FALLS (NZ) Chris Waller 117
19 SEA MOON (GB) Robert Hickmott 110
20 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards & Bruce Elkington 105
21 SHOREHAM Saab Hasan 99
22 SILENT ACHIEVER (NZ) Roger James 116
23 SPILLWAY (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 105
24 STIPULATE (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 104
25 SUPER COOL Mark Kavanagh 107
26 THE OFFER (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 110
27 THOUGHT WORTHY (USA) Robert Hickmott 95
28 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller 105

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Super Cash Chases Robert Sangs...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Sing...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Singing Firming Favourite

Newcastle horseman Kris Lees saddles-up two stayers in Thursday’s feature race...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second-Up for Merchant Navy

Coolmore Stud Stakes winning colt Merchant Navy will take on the older...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes F...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes First-Up for Mighty Boss

Mick Price’s shock Caulfield Guineas winner Mighty Boss will chase the 2018...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Qu...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Bound Winx

The world’s best mare Winx will be “on the plane” to England for a Royal Ascot...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field