2014 Crown Oaks Nominations Features 70 Entries

September 23, 2014

2014 Crown Oaks Nominations Features 70 Entries

Nominations for a number of Melbourne Cup Carnival events closed today, including the fillies-only 2014 Crown Oaks running at Flemington Racecourse on November 6.

Winx is a notable entry for the Crown Oaks after winning the Furious Stakes.

Winx is a notable entry for the Crown Oaks after winning the Furious Stakes. Photo by Steve Hart.

Many notable horses have declared for the race. High profile entries include Chris Waller’s Winx and Gai Waterhouse’s Twirl.

The Crown Oaks Day feature race saw 70 entries declaring for the Group 1 today. This is a big increase from the 2013 Crown Oaks, which featured 51 fillies at the same stage last year. It would seem many fillies have their eye on the $1 million prize in this year’s Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m).

The Group winning Street Cry filly Winx is on a high after taking out the Group 2 Furious Stakes (1200m) by nearly 3 lengths earlier this month. The three-year-old moved up to the leader at 200m and hit the lead shortly after. She then extended her lead at 100m to take out a good win.

The three-year-old is the $5 second-favourite for next month’s $500,000 Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m) at Caulfield after her runner-up finish in last Saturday in the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m) at Randwick. Winx went forward to settle into second early. She looked outsprinted as she topped the rise but ran hard, fighting off Earthquake for second.

Bring Me To The Maid, $4.20 favourite for the 2014 Thousand Guineas with Ladbrokes.com.au, is another high profile Crown Oaks nominee.

She has yet to take out a top level race, after finishing third in April’s Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) and eighth in the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400) earlier this month. However, her strong finish in the Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes (1200) that saw her claim victory 1½ lengths ahead of Memorial has many punters backing her.

For another year, Thousand Guineas-bound runners have dominated the Crown Oaks nominations. Other Oak fancies that will first line-up at Caulfield include Go Indy Go, Little Hottie, Amicus, and Choix De Maia to name just a few.

2014 Crown Oaks first acceptances are due to close on October 21 making the picture a little clearer before the final field is announced in November.

Keep checking back at Races.com.au for all the Crown Oaks updates, and why not open your online account at Ladbrokes.com.au early – you’ll be in for a big bonus! Make your first deposit and you’ll receive a $500 bonus bet for a limited time only. Just use bonus code: SPRINGBONUS.

2014 Crown Oaks Nominations

Flemington Racecourse – 06/11/2014

# Horse Trainer
1 ABBEY ROAD Gai Waterhouse
3 AMANZI Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Darren Weir
4 AMICUS Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Chris Waller
5 AVANTI Anthony Freedman
6 AZKADELLIA (NZ) Ciaron Maher
7 BALLET SUITE Mark Kavanagh
8 BEAUTIFUL ASSASSIN Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Robbie Griffiths
10 CANDELARA Bjorn Baker
11 CATHY’S MARK Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Nigel Blackiston
12 CHOIX DE MAIA (NZ) Pat Carey
14 CRAFTY Robert Smerdon
15 DANE HUSSLER David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
16 DELPHIC John O’Shea
17 DHAHAB Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
18 DON’T BE SHY Super Vobis Bonus Scheme John Salanitri
19 ELVEDA VEGAS (NZ) Bjorn Baker
20 ENVISION Super Vobis Bonus Scheme John O’Shea
21 FAIRIES John O’Shea
22 FEELS LIKE HOME Danny O’Brien
23 FENWAY Lee & Shannon Hope
24 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson
25 FONTEIN RUBY Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Robert Smerdon
26 FORBIDDEN JEWEL Scott Singleton
27 GO INDY GO Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas
28 GO JENNIO Darren Weir
29 GOLCONDA Robbie Laing
30 GREY VELVET Norman Rogers
31 HIGH ABOVE Anthony Cummings
32 HIPSTER GIRL Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Jason Warren
33 IMPERIAL LASS (NZ) Peter G Moody
34 JINX Nikki Burke
35 JUNGLE MAK Wally Mitchell
36 KAIZAEN (NZ) Robert Smerdon
37 KALABEK Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Brent Stanley
38 KAYE CLUB Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Robert Smerdon
39 LADY MACAN David Payne
40 LADY SHARAPOVA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
41 LASHKAAL David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
42 LITTLE HOTTIE (NZ) Michael Kent
43 LUMOSTY Robert Smerdon
44 MAASTRICHT (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
45 MAY DAY Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Matt Laurie
46 MISS INTERIORS Anthony Cummings
48 NAKATAAN (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
49 NOT A HAPPY CAMPER Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra
50 PITTSBURGH FLYER Lee & Shannon Hope
51 SAGAPUSS Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Peter G Moody
52 SAILING PAST (NZ) John Sargent
53 SAVAGE COUP (NZ) Robert Smerdon
54 SHACARDE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
55 SINGULARITY Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Robbie Griffiths
56 SISTINE STAR Andrew Noblet
57 SOLAR BURST Brent Stanley
58 SOUND ADVICE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
59 TAQASEEM David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
60 TASTE OF MONEY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
61 TEARS OF JOY Mark Kavanagh
62 THE FRENCH HOUSE Super Vobis Bonus Scheme Darren Weir
63 THUNDER LADY (NZ) John Sargent
64 TINK Nikki Burke
65 TRY YOUR BEST (NZ) Phillip Stokes
66 TWIRL Gai Waterhouse
67 UNFURL (NZ) Darren Weir
68 VEUVELICIOUS Brent Stanley
69 WINX Chris Waller
70 ZOE’S GIFT David Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field