Moriarty Heads 2014 Brisbane Cup Field

June 4, 2014

Moriarty Heads 2014 Brisbane Cup Field

Chris Waller’s in-form stayer Moriarty is back to defend their title in Saturday’s Brisbane Cup 2014 on the back of an Eagle Farm Cup victory at the same track just last weekend.


Defending champ Moriarty defends their title in the 2014 Brisbane Cup on Saturday. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Twelve months ago the Clodovil gelding won the $300,000 Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m) after a fourth in the Eagle Farm Cup over 2200m seven days prior.

This year they are after the double having improved on their Group 1 Doomben Cup fifth to win the Eagle Farm edition, despite being blocked for a run.

They found a split one off the rail and drove through the gap to win pulling away from Mr O’Ceirin in an impressive effort with Nash Rawiller in the saddle.

An eight-time Group 1 winner for the season already with three more livewire chances to add to that on Stradbroke Handicap Day this weekend, Rawiller retains the ride in the Brisbane Cup on Morairty.

Moriarty is allocated the 59.5kg top-weight in the last race on the bumper nine event card and jumps from barrier eight in the 11-horse field.

Following on 59kg in the Brisbane Cup weights is then the Bart & James Cummings-trained Precedence drawn nicely in gate three with Hugh Bowman to ride.

The veteran Zabeel eight-year-old has been in top form this season despite their age.

This time in they ran third to subsequent Doomben Cup winner Streama in the Hollindale Stakes on the Gold Coast then finished runner-up to Zephyron in the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2200m) at Doomben on May 24 carrying a half kilo more than their weight on Saturday.

Premier’s Cup winner Zephryon also backs up in the Brisbane Cup with the Michael, Wayne and John Hawkes-trained Zabeel five-year-old shooting for their third on the trot.

They won the Listed Lord Mayor’s Cup (2000m) in Sydney before their Group 3 success in Brisbane last time out and will benefit from Glen Boss staying on as they go up from 54kg to 55.5kg.

Other in-form gallopers in the mix then include Ciaron Maher’s Eagle Farm Cup runner-up Mr O’Ceirin who is also on the short turnaround, the Peter Moody-trained Savabeel mare Floria who ran third in that race and Premier’s Cup third placegetter Pretty Pins in gate two.

Check out the full Brisbane Cup 2014 field, barriers, jockeys and weights below.

Then to access the hottest Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival betting odds and options, visit our preferred online betting agency who are rewarding new depositing players with a bonus match bet valued up to $250!

2014 Brisbane Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw

Eagle Farm Race 9 (4:20pm) – 07/06/2014

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 3×83465551 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 8 59.5kg 109
2 9x02116x32 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart & James Cummings Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 108
3 2×17510250 HISTORIAN (NZ) Gary Alton Tye Angland 1 57.5kg 105
4 12100×0272 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher Blake Shinn 6 57kg 104
5 4131×85011 ZEPHYRON (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Glen Boss 10 55.5kg 101
6 61357×2464 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta Mark Du Plessis 9 54kg 102
7 361×287263 FLORIA (NZ) Peter G Moody Kerrin McEvoy 11 53kg 99
8 19×7799513 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson Ryan Wiggins 2 53kg 97
9 9601220030 SKYSOBLUE (NZ) Graeme Sanders Jim Byrne 5 53kg 94
10 7015×43588 RAEBURN Brian Smith Anthony Allen (a) 4 53kg 86
11 7174 FALAMONTE (NZ) Robbie Laing Timothy Bell 7 53kg 64

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field