2014 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations Released

June 2, 2014

2014 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations Released

A talented list of 23 fillies and mares have been nominated for an appearance in this weekend’s Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m) at Brisbane’s Eagle Farm Racecourse, highlighted by several previous winners at the highest level of Australian racing.

Trainer Chris Waller has included Catkins in nominations for the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes

Trainer Chris Waller has included Catkins in nominations for the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes. Photo: Steve Hart

Notable performers over the entire 2013 racing calendar, trainer Chris Waller is poised for success in the Dane Ripper Stakes, having nominated classy stable mates Catkins and Red Tracer for a maiden 2014 Brisbane Racing Carnival tilt this weekend.

Unlucky not to break through for a maiden Group 1 victory throughout the Autumn Racing Carnival, Catkins has returned to the track in great form this season; winning both the Group 2 Breeders Classic (1200m) and Group 3 Wiggle Stakes (1400m) first-up before running a competitive third in the Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) on March 22nd.

Returning to the winner’s circle when strolling home in the Group 2 Emancipation Stakes (1500m) on April 5th, the Dubawi mare was once again unable to break the Group 1 drought when sixth in the Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) on day 2 of The Championships most recently.

While yet to appear on course north of the border this time in, Waller is confident two impressive barrier trials in recent weeks plus the step back in class of the Dane Ripper Stakes is precisely what is needed for Catkins to return to winning form.

A noted performer in races throughout winter in years gone by, Red Tracer was a standout performer throughout the 2013 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival; comfortably winning that particular edition of the Dane Ripper Stakes before breaking through for her maiden Group 1 victory in the Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m) on June 22nd.

Having returned to the track in typically strong form this season, Waller has also nominated Red Tracer for an appearance in this weekend’s featured Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), and has revealed he is more than likely to accept a position in that event for the Dane Shadow mare.

Also included in nominations for the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes is 2014 Robert Sangster Classic champion Driefontein.

Amidst a long and busy preparation that began with an impressive victory in the Group 3 Sheraco Stakes (1200m) in September last year, Driefontein has continued to build in class and form over ten proceeding starts; winning the Group 3 Irwin Stakes (1100m) before scoring a maiden Group 1 win in the Robert Sangster (1200m) on April 26th.

While unable to figure in either of the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) or Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m) since, trainer Gai Waterhouse is confident the Fastnet Rock mare will react favourably to the step up in distance, and is confident of success this weekend.

Arguably Perth’s current leading sprinter, Platinum Rocker has received an ideal lead-in to the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes and will be particularly difficult to beat if allocated a favourable gate at Wednesday’s barrier draw.

A notable performer over the spring of 2013, the Love A Dane mare won the Listed Birthday Stakes (1200m) first-up, and while unlucky to finish third in the Group 3 Northerly Stakes (1400m) when blocked for a run, returned to winning ways when easily claiming the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) prior to a strong run for second in the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m).

Finishing third in each of her two runs since crossing the country at the end of April, trainer Simon Miller is confident of carrying winning form into the season-ending Tattersall’s Tiara on June 21st.

A final field of 18 and emergencies plus the barrier draw for the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes is due to be released on Wednesday morning.

Leading online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au is offering all new punters the chance to claim a bonus bet of up to $250, just for signing up!

Open an account at Ladbrokes.com.au today to take advantage of the best odds available on the 2014 Dane Ripper Stakes!

2014 Dane Ripper Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
2 BELLE DE COEUR Luke Price 85
3 CALIENTE Bruce W Hill 74.5
4 CATKINS Chris Waller
5 CHINTZ (NZ) Joseph Pride 101
7 DOLLY DOLLY (NZ) Brian Smith 90
8 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse 109
9 ELUSIVE STORM (NZ) Brian Smith 87.5
10 ENDLESS SHADOW Peter Hulbert 84
11 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote 105
12 GIG Shawn Mathrick
13 KAZANLUK Anthony Freedman
14 LADY COLOURS Bruce W Hill 70
15 LUCKY LAGO Peter & Paul Snowden
16 MYAMIRA Rodney Northam
17 NICKED AND COURT Liam Birchley
18 PERON John P Thompson 98
19 PLATINUM ROCKER Simon A Miller 101
20 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody 98
21 RED TRACER Chris Waller
23 SEASIDE John O’Shea

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field