Hot Snitzel Tops 2014 BRC Sprint Nominations

May 12, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Hot Snitzel Tops 2014 BRC Sprint Nominations

Gerald Ryan’s BTC Cup graduate Hot Snitzel has been nominated for their original Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival target, the BRC Sprint 2014, meaning they could race again at Doomben this weekend.

Hot Snitzel

Hot Snitzel could back up from a BTC Cup sixth in Saturday's BRC Sprint 2014. Photo: Steve Hart.

One of the key support races on the Doomben Cup Day program in Brisbane on Saturday, this year’s $125,000 Group 3 Darley BRC Sprint (1350m) has attracted a bumper 27 nominations.

A standout among those early entries is Ryan’s Snitzel gelding Hot Snitzel who had this race on the agenda before their smart early form this autumn saw them earn a Group 1 start in last weekend’s BTC Cup (1200m).

Winner of the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes (1200m) at Randwick two back, Hot Snitzel could only manage to run sixth to upset winner Famous Seamus in the BTC Cup however when beaten nearly five lengths.

Connections then could look to atone and score a consolation prize dropping them back in class for the BRC Sprint.

Ryan has also nominated for another in-form son of Snitzel, four-year-old Dances On Stars.

After back-to-back fourths earlier in the autumn, Dances On Stars improved when taken to the Gold Coast on May 3 where they won the Listed Prime Minister’s Cup (1300m).

A number of other interstate raiders are out to steal the show from the locals in this year’s BRC Sprint.

Other notable visitors in the mix include Lionel Cohen’s Hall Mark third placed Aeronautical, Silk Stocking winning Dubawi filly Srikandi and a Chris Waller-trained quartet.

Waller, who enjoyed multiple Group 1 wins last winter in Brisbane, has nominated for Arinosa, Masthead, She’s Clean and Tougher Than Ever.

As for the local hopes there’s a strong contingent including the reigning BRC Sprint winner Belltone.

Kelso Wood’s Brahms gelding won this race second-up last year on the back of a fifth in the Prime Minister’s Cup before bumming out when 16th behind 40-1 roughie Linton in the Stradbroke Handicap next race.

This year the rising nine-year-old has very similar lead-up form having resumed in the PM’s Cup running a close fourth to Dances On Stars defeated under two lengths.

Wood has also nominated for and Benny’s Buttons, a six-year-old also in flying form.

They won at Doomben three back before their Eagle Farm second in the Listed Hinkler Handicap that led into a brave Prime Minister’s Cup third making them another genuine chance for their trainer to score successive BRC Sprints.

Also with good claims for the Queensland-trained sprinters are four from the stables of Rob Heathcote.

Heathcote has entered his PM Cup fifth placed mare Fillydelphia, their Group 1 performing stable mate Fire Up Fifi, Lonhro eight-year-old Veewap and Toorak Handicap winner Solzhenitsyn.

The full BRC Sprint 2014 nominations are detailed below and will be cut to the starting line-up on Wednesday when final acceptances close.

Don’t settle for second best Doomben Cup Day odds this Saturday.

Get the right price every time by betting online at where you will also be eligible for a bonus match bet up to $250 as a new depositing player!

2014 BRC Sprint Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 17/05/2014

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
2 ARINOSA Chris Waller
3 BELLTONE Kelso Wood 104
4 BENNY’S BUTTONS Kelso Wood 102
5 CHOICE BRO John Sargent 93
6 DANCES ON STARS (NZ) Gerald Ryan 103
7 DOLLY DOLLY (NZ) Brian Smith 91
8 EMBLEMS John O’Shea
9 FERMENT John P Thompson 88
10 FILLYDELPHIA Robert Heathcote 104
11 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote 105
12 GUNDY SON Tony Gollan 91
13 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan 108
14 LUCKY HUSSLER Kent Fleming 95
15 MASTHEAD Chris Waller
16 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall 106
17 SHE’S CLEAN Chris Waller
18 SOLZHENITSYN (NZ) Robert Heathcote 114
19 SOMEDAY Kelso Wood
20 SRIKANDI Ciaron Maher 92
21 STARTSMEUP Bruce W Hill 98
22 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff 99
23 THAT’S THE ONE Barry Baldwin 95
24 TOUGHER THAN EVER (NZ) Chris Waller
25 TRANSPORTER John P Thompson 98
26 TYPHOON RED Kevin Kemp 96
27 VEEWAP Robert Heathcote 88

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field