Famous Seamus is the Upset 2014 BTC Cup Winner

May 10, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Famous Seamus is the Upset 2014 BTC Cup Winner

The opening Group 1 of this year’s Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival has been run and won this afternoon at Doomben Racecourse with a massive upset from the Noel Mayfield-Smith-trained roughie Famous Seamus.

Famous Seamus

Ryan Wiggins scored his maiden Group 1 aboard Famous Seamus in the 2014 BTC Cup. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Proving the huge opinion his dedicated, and today very emotional, trainer has always had of him the Elusive City five-year-old beat home six better fancied rivals including the odds-on favourite Buffering in today’s $400,000 Group 1 BTC Cup (1200m).

“No one believed in this horse, they all thought I was off me tree,” Mayfield-Smith told Sky Racing after the victory, his second Group 1 along with the 2000 Stradbroke Handicap with Landsighting.

Coming via a fifth place finish behind a field of fellow BTC Cup hopes in the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) a fortnight ago at Eagle Farm, Famous Seamus ($21) silenced the doubters with their brave victory over the Tony Gollan-trained Spirit Of Boom ($5) today.

In third to finish off the surprise BTC Cup trifecta was then Rob Heathcote’s triple Group 1 champion and shortie in the markets, Buffering ($1.75), who just couldn’t hold on to the lead they snared late.

Buffering missed the kick by about a half-length allowing for Joe Pride’s The Galaxy winner Tiger Tees to drive up out of the gates the take the lead before eventually dropping right out to finish last.

The favourite soon moved up to take up second at the 900m mark while the Gerald Ryan-trained Hot Snitzel was racing a bit keenly in third.

The local hero started to come hard and fast as they came round the bend, Tiger Tees quickly losing his lead as the likes of Gollan’s Victory Stakes winner Temple Of Boom and co. wound up.

It looked like Buffering was going to get the job done for the punters and score his first Group 1 in front of a home crowd, but Famous Seamus pulled out a slashing run to steal the show.

“I’ve seen a lot of good horses, I’ve had a couple, and this bloke had everything to suit,” Mayfield-Smith said.

“He drew a good gate, the ground was reasonably well.

“And that’s what he is, he’s always been good.

“I travel with these horses myself and take time off to do it and it does, it means a lot.

“I means more that he’s won it… just that he’s proved the point that he’s good.”

Enjoying his third win of the day, and his maiden Group 1 winning ride, flying young jockey Ryan Wiggins got the run of the race again and guided Famous Seamus to a well-earned victory – the horse’s first since the Listed Lighting Handicap (110m) at Randwick in October last year.

“It was unreal,” Wiggins said.

“I couldn’t believe how good I was going.

“He just did it all for me.

“He’s just that couple of lengths off those top class horses, but when things go his way like today, well.”

The BTC Cup is the traditional lead-up to the upcoming $650,000 Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m), run this year back at the track on May 24, with six of the past Doomben 10,000 winners having come via the Cup.

Two have completed the double in that time with Apache Cat (2009) and Sea Siren (2012) and now Famous Seamus is sure to be a favourite to do it in 2014.

Wiggins, who didn’t rate his horse a chance today, was over the moon with the victory and also rates them a nice type for the $1.36 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm on June 7.

“I think he’s more of a Stradbroke Handicap horse,” Wiggins said.

“Jeez he was good today though.”

Did you place your BTC Cup bets online at Ladbrokes.com.au? If not you didn’t get the chance to be paid Best Tote or SP + 20% on your winnings!

So make sure next weekend you don’t have to settle for second best; open your Ladbrokes.com.au account today!

2014 BTC Cup Results & Finishing Order

Doomben Race 7 – 10/05/2014

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 6 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Ryan Wiggins 4 58.5kg $21
2 2 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan Michael Rodd 0.5L 6 58.5kg $5.50
3 1 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 1.3L 3 58.5kg $1.75F
4 3 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan Ms Tegan Harrison (a) 1.4L 1 58.5kg $15
5 8 PERON John P Thompson James McDonald 2.9L 5 56.5kg $19
6 5 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan Nash Rawiller 4.4L 7 58.5kg $7
7 4 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride Glen Colless 6.2L 2 58.5kg $12
7 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan Jim Byrne 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field