2014 Port Adelaide Cup Results – Ominous Dominant Winner

May 10, 2014

2014 Port Adelaide Cup Results – Ominous Dominant Winner

One of the key support races on The Goodwood Day program in Adelaide today, the Port Adelaide Cup 2014 has been won by Nigel Blackiston’s European import Ominous who made it two from two at Morphettville Racecourse.

Ominous produces a dominant performance to win the 2014 Port Adelaide Cup

Ominous produces a dominant performance to win the 2014 Port Adelaide Cup. Picture: Jenny Barnes

After sitting back off the pace in the $100,000 Listed Mittys Port Adelaide Cup (2500m) the Oasis Dream five-year-old ended up bolting it in over the final few hundred metres.

In a well-timed ride from jockey Dwayne Dunn Ominous ($10) won by just over three lengths from the Damien Oliver-ridden Zabeelionaire ($12) for Kyneton trainer Leon Corstens who held on for second after leading into the straight.

Finishing off the winning Port Adelaide Cup trifecta was then veteran local Vima ($41), the rising eight-year-old improving on two previous sevenths at the track this Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival to finish in the money as a real roughie.

A fortnight ago the Flemington-based Blackiston bought Ominous over to South Australia where they led all-the-way to win the Medallion Homes Handicap (2000m) by a quarter lengths.

They’d won over the mile and a half, and had been competitive up to 2600m, back in Great Britain two years ago – staying form they returned to here.

Relishing a step up to 2500m they ran out the distance without a worry setting themselves up as a possible spring cups contender back home later in the year.

Away well from the barriers and leading the Port Adelaide Cup field today was Mujadale from their inside barrier two draw in their favourite position as pace maker.

They led from Zabeelionaire, coming off a disappointing 13th in the Easter Cup at Caulfield last month, who had moved up to second at around the 2000m mark, race favourite Le Roi doing it tough out wide in fourth just behind Dylanson.

At the back of the straight Vima started to press third to get into third while Bredlign went up to hit the front with Mujadale, the duo eventually dropping out to run eighth and 10th respectively.

Going into the home straight Zabeelionaire went up quickly to take the lead, still at the front with 250m left to travel before Ominous and Dunn swooped late.

The eventual Port Adelaide Cup winner got into the mix and quickly put the result to bed racing away for an easy win.

There’s still time to get your Goodwood bets down online at Ladbrokes.com.au where punters are making the most of Adelaide’s biggest sprint thanks to their Best Tote or SP + 20% markets up to $100!

2014 Port Adelaide Cup Results & Finishing Order

Morphettville Race 4 – 10/05/2014

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 9 OMINOUS (GB) Nigel Blackiston Dwayne Dunn 5 54kg $10
2 3 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens Damien Oliver 3.2L 7 57.5kg $12
3 7 VIMA Bill Papazaharoudakis Justin Potter 3.5L 13 54kg $41
4 5 DISTILLATION Nick Smart Simon Price 4.7L 10 55kg $19
5 15 WAR IS OVER John Hyam Ms Jamie Kah (a) 5.7L 11 54kg $61
6 1 LE ROI (GER) Tony McEvoy Luke Nolen 5.9L 8 60kg $3.50F
7 2 ESCADO Matt Laurie Ben Melham 6.7L 2 58kg $4.20
8 12 BREDLIGN (NZ) Sue Murphy Jake Toeroek (a) 8.5L 9 54kg $41
9 8 DYLANSON Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 9.4L 4 54kg $5.50
10 6 MUJADALE Paul A Jones Ms Linda Meech 10.6L 1 54.5kg $5.50
11 11 LENNYBE Bill W Williams Jason Holder 18.4L 6 54kg $31
12 13 TOMMY TWO Jim Smith Joe Bowditch 29.7L 3 54kg $41
13 14 BERLIOZ (NZ) Bill W Williams Ronnie Stewart 35.3L 12 54kg $101
16 TERRIFIC FLAIR Richard Jolly Dean Yendall 0
4 SHINY BUTTONS Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 0
10 ELLDAMI Phillip Stokes Matthew Neilson 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?